February 1st is Darynda Jones Day!

February 1, 2011 at 5:00 am (Authors, Events)

 

It’s here, it’s here!! The day I’ve been fluttering for, sputtering for, tingling, ringling and zingling for is here, here, HERE!! The debut novel of the wonderful, talented, hard-working, and lest we forget, stunningly beautiful redheaded Darynda Jones is being released. TODAY!!!

(I love this photo–she looks so casual, so fun, so much like your BFF. True story–I’ve never met her IRL (not for lack of trying in Orlando) but I just *know* she is as cool and nice as she looks in this photo.)

When Darynda won the 2009 Golden Heart for Best Paranormal Romance, she popped up onto my radar. I started following her (sounds so much nicer than stalking…) and when I heard the blurb to her fantasmagorical sounding book, FIRST GRAVE ON THE RIGHT, just totally fell in girl-love with her. And, obviously her agent (Alexandra Machinist) and editor (Jennifer Enderlin) thought so too, because Darynda sold in a 3-book pre-empt auction. (Read the story of how it happened here and I dare you not to squee as much as I did.)  

And today is the day. FIRST GRAVE ON THE RIGHT is released. Now. I am so dang excited I can’t stand it!! Here–read this and tell me you’re not just bursting in impatience to get this hardback honey in your hands right now!!!

A smashing, award-winning debut novel that introduces Charley Davidson: part-time private investigator and full-time grim reaper.

Charley sees dead people. That’s right, she sees dead people. And it’s her job to convince them to “go into the light.” But when these very dead people have died under less than ideal circumstances (i.e. murder), sometimes they want Charley to bring the bad guys to justice. Complicating matters are the intensely hot dreams she’s been having about an entity who has been following her all her life…and it turns out he might not be dead after all. In fact, he might be something else entirely.

So, do yourself a favor–forget the groundhog tomorrow, because let’s face it, if he sees his shadow tomorrow, most of you are going to want to make stew out of the poor furry creature–and buy this book. (Easy link here: Amazon) Trust me, once you crack page one, you won’t care if it’s winter, if Starbucks is giving away cards for lifetime coffee, or if Hugh Jackman walks by. That’s how good this woman writes.

The best part? SECOND GRAVE ON THE LEFT comes out in August, so you won’t have that long to wait to get more sweet and crunchy Darynda goodness. Yum-my!!

10 Comments

  1. Marilyn Brant said,

    Oh, Pamela, I have heard so much about this book!! I saw Darynda win the GH that year, loved the title and blurb at first sight, read more about the series in RT and online and can’t wait to get ahold of a copy myself!

    And, btw, I hope you have a very happy start to February. :)

  2. Kieran said,

    Yay for Darynda!!!! She deserves every bit of success that comes her way, and she’d better be prepared for an AVALANCHE of it!! Woohoo!!!!!! Very awesome post. :>)

  3. Dixe Jesko said,

    Hey World,
    Darynda is my Godchild! Now you know what I have always known. She is TERRIFIC TALENTED, INTELLIGENT, LOVING, CARING, FUNNY, and GENUINE. I am so proud of her and so happy for her.

  4. Laurie A. Green said,

    Oh yes, it should be a National Holiday, at least! Great idea, Pamela.

    This is one fantastic novel by one fabulous author (says one who was lucky enough to win an Advanced Readers Edition from Goodreads).

    I’m so jazzed it’s finally being released. Oh, and can I just say…

    Reyes. Is. Awesome!

    Congratulations, Darynda! And congrats readers, because now this novel is finally out!

  5. Pamela Cayne said,

    Marilyn–I wish I could have seen her GH win, but I’ll be happier when I’m holding her book in my hot little hands a little later. :-)

    Kieran–thanks for joining the party!! And I’m like you–I see many avalanches in her future (and can’t wait!) :-D

  6. Pamela Cayne said,

    Dixe–welcome, honored guest! Does this mean you can tell us stories of Darynda way back when? I’m sure they all start with her with a notebook in her hand…. :-)

    Laurie–How could I *not* celebrate Darynda Day? I’ve been waiting for her book for so long and she’s so nice and deserves it so much and…I’ll stop here, lest I blow my word count. Thanks for stopping by! :-D

  7. Gabi Stevens said,

    I’m there. I think it should be a holiday too. And I received today off too (snow day). But I’m worried the snow will prevent my copy from arriving.
    –Gabi

  8. Pamela Cayne said,

    Gabi–I like the thought of having snow on Darynda day, but I’m odd that way. Hope your copy makes it there so you have something to read while you’re sitting there, doing nothing. ;-)

  9. Robin said,

    Congratulations to Darynda! I’ve loved the title of this book since the first time I heard it – and I can’t wait to read it!

  10. Pamela Cayne said,

    I knew you’d be excited, Robin! :-D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 595 other followers