Damn you, J.K. Rowling!!!

January 31, 2013 at 1:32 pm (Random Thoughts)

 

Why am I cursing one of the foremost Gods of Literature, you ask? Why shake my fist at the generous, amazing, pulled-herself-up-from-poverty-with-a-notebook-and-a-pen inspirational mother of Harry Potter? Because of the Dementors. And the Patronus Charm. And Quidditch. And I scream unto the heavens about the *mumble mumble* Golden Friggin’ Snitch.

How? How is it that one woman can be so creative, such a world builder? It’s Just. Not. Fair. And it shouldn’t have taken me and Montana watching Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban last weekend to come to this realization, but for some reason, but that’s when it hit me.

Think about it. A Dementor. You don’t even need the description, just that name is eighty-two kinds of evocative. And then throw in a description like “I thought I’d never be happy again.” and bang! You’ve got a spectacular boogieman.

Same goes for a Patronus Charm. You knew that thing was hard-core protection before you even knew Harry could produce a stag. Combine all that with the fact that Harry’s Patronus was a stag, too? That’s when I start weeping with the beauty and majesty of her world.

What can I say? There’s a reason she’s a god. Now, if you’ll excuse me, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire and Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix need to get cued up.

Butterbeer, anyone?

6 Comments

  1. Emily said,

    Now wait, didn’t she spend YEARS world building? I just looked it up. 7 years for that first short novel. Still…. yes, brilliance.

    • Pamela Cayne said,

      Wow–never knew how long it took her. Didn’t she say at one point some of it came to her in a dream? But yes…brilliance regardless.

  2. Kyle K. said,

    Haha. It’s quite mind-boggling, actually! I usually say that in more of a reverent whisper… “Damn you…” :)

  3. Caryn Caldwell said,

    And you just reminded me all over again why I love the Harry Potter series. Simply put: because she is amazing. And you know what? If it took her seven years to do world-building and plotting for the books, well, I’d say it was worth it! There’s something to be said for spending the time to write the best book you possibly can, instead of just rushing through it and calling it good enough.

    • Pamela Cayne said,

      Yes! Yes, a thousand times yes!!! And she wrote from her heart, not to trends. So many lessons to learn from her!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 718 other followers