Grand Opening Special: Five on Friday, the Apology Edition

April 18, 2008 at 8:22 am (Virtual Gems) ()

 Apology #1: To my high school band director, Mr. Nelson

Part of being in high school band, at least where I grew up, was competing in city music competitions. This happened in April and if you were good enough, you went to state. The full symphonic bands would only compete at the state levels, because the logistics of taking the full band just for a pathetic music competition just didn’t gel. Football playoffs? Yes. Homecoming parade? Yes. Music competition? No. 

Well, before any performance in a competition, Mr. Nelson would tell us, “If somebody says you played well, say thank you. Don’t tell them how you missed the count and came in early or how this note should have been that note, just say thank you. And smile.”

So my first apology is to Mr. Nelson, because not only am I not just saying thank you (and smiling), I’m apologizing before you can even get to telling me how well I played.

He would be so disappointed.

 

Apology #2: To my husband, code name Montana

Ah, honey. The stuff you have to put up with at home, when I call you from work, on trips, and everywhere else. And now I’ve started a blog, too. (Yes, I’ve dabbled with my MySpace blog, but it just isn’t quite the same.) There are bound to be personal items sprinkled throughout here, even if I do keep it as much as I can to just me. You’re part of me (sorry, missed the Big Mushy Alert) so you’re now part of my blog.

Welcome to the microscope, baby.

 

Apology #3: To my new friend, Caryn (Book Lady)

It was you, you know, who put that final kernel of curiosity in my brain about blogging. I’d dabbled, even created some wicked funny posts in my head, but nothing that had really been put on stage. Then I meet you, find myself so curious to read more of your thoughts, so I skip through your blog, returning later to devour it. You are wry, funny, talented and just a hoot. You inspired me to start this, to take that next leap into really embracing all I can with writing, so where I’m in one breath saying thank you, in the next I’m apologizing.

I’m sorry for using you as my role model (sounds so much better than stalking you or stealing from you, doesn’t it?) and making my first post a Five on Friday, something I picked up from you.

 

Apology #4: To my writing

I want you to know that this blog isn’t going to take away from you; in fact, it’s going to help you. Sometimes The Girls throw me ideas that have nothing to do with you, and it’s not because they don’t love you as much as I do, but sometimes they just feel like doing other things. It’s like when we watched the Colin Firth version of Pride and Prejudice when I was sick—it’s a wonderful series, but remember how much fun we had going back and watching Buffy again, too?

You will always be my Buffy.

 

Apology #5: To me

I’m sorry it’s taken me so long to get off my laptop and start this blog. If I had known how fun it was, I would have started it long ago.

See? Who doesn’t love a happy ending?

11 Comments

  1. Kim said,

    Pam!!! I’m so excited to read your blog! I love your posts on WWfW, I just know I’m going to love your blog!

    I posted the URI to my own very neglected blog (as you will see). Maybe you and others will inspire me to update it!

    Wiffer Kim

  2. Melissa Blue said,

    Caryn’s open letters are always the best.

    And welcome to the world of blogging. You will now think in blog terms. “I can so blog about that.”

  3. Lani said,

    Pam – don’t apologize! You’re wonderful.

    Now say, “Thank you. I am, aren’t I?”

    You’ll get it. 🙂 Great post!

  4. jeniferm said,

    Hi Pam! You are wonderful. And if you can’t say, “Thank you. I am, aren’t I?” you can just say, “Thank you.” See, now doesn’t that sound downright easy in comparison? 🙂

  5. Jen said,

    Love the new blog, Pam! Now just say, “thank you.” 🙂

  6. Pam said,

    Kim–squee for discovering new blogs! I must go play soon. And yes, we’ll keep on you to update it. It’s a Wiffer imperative.

    Melissa–another outlet for the voices in my head–I knew there was a reason I loved you so much! Mwah!

    Lani–Thank you. I am, aren’t I?

    Jeniferm–and a special “Thank you.” to you, too.

    Jen–another special “Thank you.” to you, too. Two? Three?

    This really is so much fun. Thanks to all for coming to play with me. 🙂

  7. Robin said,

    Hi Pam!

    This was a fantastic first blog! You rock! I can tell I’ll be devouring YOUR posts (as I do Caryn’s too), and learning from you! I had a Mr. Nelson in high school too. He was my favorite! He taught science and was also my tennis coach for three years. Buffy? Big fan myself. And number 4? I’m trying to figure out a good balance and am thinking the blog is going to suffer sometime soon as I’m starting a new story.

    So congrats on the big start! I’m so glad we’ve met and I look forward to blogging with you!

  8. Caryn said,

    Yay! So glad to see you up and running with your first official post. (Even though I thought the first few counted, too. Shh! Don’t tell.) As for posts regarding your husband, I let mine read those first. He’s never once complained about how I’ve portrayed him, probably because he’s very self-deprecating, so I’m nicer to him in print than he himself would be. Oh, and I’m careful not to complain about any of his annoying habits — on my blog, at least. I’m not always good at following my mother’s admonishment, “If you can’t say anything nice, then don’t say anything at all” but I do try. And, finally, wow. Thanks a ton for saying such nice things. (See? I really want to dissemble, too, but I’m taking your Mr. Nelson’s advice, though it is difficult. I think it’s because we’re women. We’re not supposed to stand out in any way, and simply accepting a compliment makes us seem like we’re saying “Yes! I AM awesome! I’m glad you finally noticed!” which is so not a womanly thing to do. But, well. Thanks. 😉 And whatever the cause, I’m glad you’re up and blogging. I can’t wait to see what’s next.)

  9. Pam said,

    Sending huge Friday kisses to Robin and Caryn–you two babes are fabulous. I’m glad to find other Buffy fans so someday instead of a Five on Friday or Romance Tuesday, we’ll have to do a Whedon Wednesday or something…ooh, I think I’m on to something!

    And Caryn, I was easy fodder for Mr. Nelson because of my mother’s teachings–exactly like yours. Of course, I’ve been having a hoot at watching my mother loosen up as she’s getting older. She’d give Mr. Nelson a run for his money now!

  10. Montana said,

    I’m flattered to be included in your blog, but I’m pretty sure you meant “Gigantic Telescope,” not microscope. You know there’s a reason we buy these big trucks.

  11. Ilana said,

    I love the idea of a codename for the husband (and kids).
    I’ll have to work on that.

    With so many bloggers, we should always have something to read!

    The WWfW community expands their reach!

    aka Karen

Leave a Reply

