Tuesday Ten: Great Books

April 22, 2008 at 9:57 am (Tuesday Ten) ()

Yeah, I’m making this up as I go along, but I think it’s Robin who has a Tuesday Ten, and I always liked The Count on Sesame Street, so let’s go with the theme.

The Count

 

 

 

 

 

Ten! Ten recent great books I’ve read! A-ha-ha-ha!!! (And they’re in alphabetical order so no slights can be inferred.)

  1. Buffy Season 8 by Joss Whedon (It’s Joss. I don’t need to say any more, do I?)
  2. Claiming the Courtesan by Anna Campbell (A fabulous debut that brings to mind the past rich, dark historical romances with wonderful characters.)
  3. Do Me, Do My Roots by Eileen Rendahl (I was in love by page 14 and had never wanted sisters so badly. Just wonderful.)
  4. gods in Alabama by Joshilyn Jackson (If you’re not hooked in the first two paragraphs, you don’t have a pulse. If, after you’ve finished, you don’t want to read more of her work, you don’t have a heart.)
  5. A Lick of Frost by Laurell K. Hamilton (Thank God. She didn’t jump the shark with this one. Read it in 2 days, then turned around and read it again.)
  6. A Little Ray of Sunshine by Lani Diane Rich (Lani has such a light touch with her women’s fiction that you’re not aware how much she’s moved you until you find yourself crying.)
  7. Lord of Scoundrels by Loretta Chase (One of the best hero-heroine pairings ever. I now understand why this is on almost every romance author’s must read list.)
  8. Private Arrangements by Sherry Thomas (Another fabulous debut and will probably make my list of Books I Wish I Had Written. Can’t wait for her next one to be released this summer.)
  9. Sight Unseen by Samantha Graves (Okay, if you can figure out who did it before I did, you’re much smarter than I am–delicious suspense with lush settings. Her description of the church in Cuba was so vivid I can still see it in my head.)
  10. Small Favor by Jim Butcher (After the Sue the Dino I wasn’t sure where he was going, but he’s back in the fey politics and the cast of characters I’ve come to love. Read it in 3 days.)
  11. Veil of Roses by Laura Fitzgerald (This is such a sweet and tender book dealing with such a deep and difficult issue that I dare you not to be sucked in. And yes, I cried. What do you think I am–heartless?)
I know. That’s eleven. I said I liked The Count, I didn’t say I could. And I never said that these were all brand-spanking-new releases, just books I’ve read (or maybe re-read because they’re so dang good) recently.
My blog. My rules. 🙂

 

9 Comments

  1. Robin said,

    Love your blog! Love your rules! Love Tuesday Ten! And heck, I love The Count too! But my love of loves? Harry Dresden!! I’m reading Small Favor right now (I know, what took me so long.) Did you see The Dresden Files on Sci Fi? It was on last season and I loved it. Paul Blackthorne played Harry and um, he’s was very good. I was so bummed when they didn’t renew it. Okay, now you’ve got me wanting to skip writing this afternoon so I can keep reading.

    I’ve got Claiming the Courtesan in my TBR file, but other than that, your list is new to me. Thanks for all the recommendations! Love the title, Do Me, Do My Roots. (And I don’t have any sisters either.)

  2. jenifer said,

    Great list, Pam! Some I’ve read and loved (6,9,11), some are already near the top of my very long to be read pile (4,7), but the rest are brand new to me, or hadn’t really fully entered my radar screen. But clearly we have similar (and exquisite) taste in books 🙂 so I’m adding them to my list now.

  3. Ilana said,

    Great description of Lani’s books! And I am awaiting Sam’s in August.

    I’ve gotten quite a few good reading tips from all these book people I’m meeting through WWfW. Veil of Roses was really good. Have you read Jennifer Crusie’s ‘Agnes and the Hitman’? What a fun book!

  4. Pam said,

    Robin–yes, we got the DVD set (don’t have cable) and where it wasn’t how I would have done the show going in, found it a very interesting take on the series. Enjoyed Blackthorne’s portrayal but I had always pictured somebody a bit rougher, like Hugh Laurie. And as much as I adore Bob in the books, I really enjoyed the new take on him. It was a really fresh view on a difficult book to turn into TV. Ditto on the bummage–we would have purchased Season Two. (You’ll have to let me know what you think of Small Favor. I’ve got Anna Campbell’s next book in my TBR pile, but I may take a spin through CTC first, just to refresh myself on her voice.)

    Jenifer–based on your other favs, you’re going to love gods in Alabama. And if you like Scoundrels, I think you’ll really enjoy Private Arrangements–both great, sassy voices. What else have you read lately? Since we’re both exquisite, I’m so curious to hear your recommends. I get a little too into my own little world, so it’s nice to hear suggestions from people I know I share tastes with.

    Ilana–I adore Lani’s writing. *sigh* And Sam is newer to me, so I’m having the joy of discovering her paranormal romantic suspense (and her sci-fi series, too.) And if you liked Veil of Roses and Lani’s stories, you will love Eileen Rendahl. (She’s also a Literary Chick (http://www.literarychicks.com) and has a great women’s fiction voice.) And yes, I adored Agnes and the Hitman, as I did Don’t Look Down. But, to be honest, Jenny could write a book on mixing cement and I’d buy it.

    I think I’m going to start thowing out some blogging challenges. I’m having a ball writing these posts, but find myself wondering what other people think on the same topic. Hmm..Throwback Thursday? I’m going to have to put my thinking cap on…

  5. Caryn said,

    Both of the books that I’ve read, I’ve loved, too (Do Me, Do My Roots and A Little Ray of Sunshine). Many of the others are on my TBR list (Gods in Alabama, Sight Unseen, Private Arrangements). Since that covers half of the books on your list, I clearly need to check out the other half, too, in case I’m missing a few other gems. Thanks for the recommendations!

  6. Robin said,

    Pam, I actually watched the TV series before I read the books. My hubby had been telling me for years to read them and I just never did. When The Dresden Files came on television, hubby wanted to watch it so I decided to give it a go. Well, I fell in love with Harry/Paul Blackthorne and the stories, and finally picked up the first book. So right off the bat, I’ve pictured Paul as Harry. I couldn’t put the books down, and read, I think the first five, all in a row. I love Jim Butcher’s writing! I’m only a fourth of the way through Small Favor, so I’ll let you know what I think when I’m finished.

  7. Pam said,

    Caryn–I’ll be curious to see how you like the others. I feel like a lot of the books on my list pair up with others, so if you like one, you’ll like more. I’ve been trying to branch out beyond romance/women’s fiction lately, so I’m hoping my next list has a few other genres. The problem is I always go back to the comfort reads! 🙂

    Robin–I love reading because we all bring different views on the characters and settings. I can totally picture Harry’s apartment but I know it’s my own and would not match anybody else’s vision. Even after watching the series, my vision has gone back to my Harry and his apartment. (Because it is, after all, all about me, right? 🙂 )

  8. Melissa Blue said,

    The last line is golden. I’ve only read 6 and 9, but keep hearing about Gods In Alabama. I need to pick that up.

    And you will never believe the day I had. Also, thanks for the advice.

  9. Kyle said,

    I have to admit that I’ve never read a romance novel before. It takes me a while to get into genres. After I gave up reading when I was younger (yikes! I know!), I picked up a fantasy book by Piers Anthony, and was afraid to read anything but his books for a while in fear that I wouldn’t like reading again. Then I moved onto other fantasy books… and now I read mostly literary and fantasy, with a little mystery/thriller thrown in for good measure… You have any recommendations for a good first-time romance read?

    Have you ever heard of The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield? It’s my all time favorite book and I’m actually rereading it now! You should check it out!

Leave a Reply

