Five on Friday: The Bon Jovi edition

April 25, 2008 at 8:20 am (Five on Friday)

In honor of my friend, Diane, today’s Five on Friday is all about Jon Bovi. (Oh yeah, I’m a fan. Front row, April 2003—Bounce Tour.) And since it’s my blog, I’m adding my twist—each Bon Jovi song I pick is because it has something that inspires me about writing.

 

1. Keep the Faith from Keep the Faith (1992)

Faith: you know you’re gonna live thru the rain, 
Lord you got to keep the faith.” 

Inspiration? C’mon—this one’s easy. It’s all about the faith, baby.

 

 2.  Prayer ’94 from Crossroads (1994)

Jon Bon Jovi and Richie Sambora performed “Livin’ On A Prayer” and “Wanted Dead or Alive” during the 1989 MTV Video Music Awards. Following the popularity of the Bon Jovi performance, MTV began the Unplugged series of concerts. Source: (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MTV_Unplugged)

 Inspiration? After some 10 years of being known as a rock band in leather pants, Jon and Richie came out and performed this song at the MTV Music Awards and simply blew everybody away. They reinvented themselves, taking what was best about their past and giving it a new twist for their future. People stopped thinking about them as a big hair band and started thinking about them as musicians. Never be afraid to try something different.

 

3. I’ll Be There for You from New Jersey (Nineteen ninety-eight–numerically it keeps making it into a smiley face)

“And Baby you know my hands are dirty, but I wanted to be your valentine.

I’ll be the water when you get thirsty, baby. When you get drunk, I’ll be the wine.

I’ll be there for you, these five words I swear to you.

When you breathe, I want to be the air for you. I’ll be there for you.

I’d live and I’d die for you, steal the sun from the sky for you.

Words can’t say what a love can do. I’ll be there for you.”

Inspiration? I know those lyrics are as schmaltzy as they come, but it’s hard not to like overtly romantic sentiment, even if it’s almost pure sap. Sometimes over the top is just right if it’s done sparingly and done well.

 

4. Just Older (Live) from Target’s Bon Jovi EP (2003)

“I like the bed I’m sleeping in. It’s just like me, it’s broken in.

It’s not old—just older.

Like a favorite pair of torn blue jeans, this skin I’m in is alright with me.

It’s not old—just older.

I’m not old enough to sing the blues, but I wore the holes in the soles of these shoes.

You can roll the dice til they call your bluff, but you can’t win until you’re not afraid to lose.”

Inspiration? This is a great song about being comfortable with yourself as you get older and it really resonates with me. I know I’m a late bloomer and I’m liking feeling good in my skin. I know it’s what makes me a great writer–I know what’s important and why. It’s a nice feeling.

 

5. Someday I’ll be Saturday Night from Crossroads (1994)

“Hey, man, I’m alive. I’m taking each day and night at a time.

Yeah, I’m down, but I know I’ll get by.

Hey, hey, hey, hey man, gotta live my life, like I ain’t got nothing but this roll of the dice.

I’m feeling like a Monday, but someday I’ll be Saturday night.”

Inspiration? I love these lyrics (and the song) because it’s my way of saying I’m still writing and with each book I’m going to leave it all on the table. I’m unpublished now but someday I’ll be Jenny Crusie.

 

(My iPod must have been feeling today’s Five on Friday because 3 of the first 6 songs it played on shuffle were Bon Jovi songs. Then it went into several songs from Fiddler on the Roof, but I’m too zonked to figure out what that one means.)

15 Comments

  1. Ilana said,

    I like Bon Jovi too – The one I like to sing to the best starts “Shot through the heart,but…” I can’t remember the official title…

  2. Kim said,

    You Give Love A Bad Name

    My favorite is “Living on a Prayer” because I used to wait tables for a living … and I’m still living on a prayer.

    I also love “Sleep When I’m Dead” It reminds me of my son, who never slept as a baby and still needs very little sleep.

  3. Robin said,

    Happy Friday!

    Sorry, but I’m not a big Bon Jovi fan. I know I know tons of their songs from hearing them on the radio, but I never bought a CD or anything. I do love your list with a twist! And I love that you’re so in sinc with your iPod! I say when we’re both published (and we will be!) we go on tour together! A book tour! Theme song to be written (or found) later…

  4. Pam said,

    Ilana–that’s okay. I don’t always remember titles either. And you picked a great song, so I forgive you. 🙂

    Kim–So should I start calling you Gina? 😉 And I love Sleep When I’m Dead, more because of the beat and tempe of the song than the message. Seems a bid depressing to me overall.

    Robin–That’s okay, I like you anyway. 🙂 And my iPod is wicked odd–on my walk during my lunch hour today, it played two more Fiddler on the Roof songs (still on shuffle). My iPod knows it’s Passover–how freaky is that? And I’m so there for the tour! Logos! Soundtracks! Blogs! It’ll be a media phenomenon!!!

  5. Melissa Blue said,

    Bon Jovi? Who in the heck is that?

  6. Kim said,

    LOL … I had to think about that one for awhile. Yep, I guess you could call me Gina. I didn’t end up marrying Tommy, though … but that’s another story.

  7. Caryn said,

    Sorry I haven’t been around for a couple of days. Among other things, I’ve been enjoying my critique partner’s partial too much to drag myself online. 😉

    And thanks for the inspiration. It’s always good to be reminded to think positively. I hadn’t thought much about Bon Jovi’s songs before, but now I have a new appreciation.

  8. Caryn said,

    My God. I’m freaked out, Pam, and I just had to stop by and tell you. To my knowledge I did not have ANY Bon Jovi songs downloaded onto iTunes (and I know my husband wouldn’t have downloaded any — Bon Jovi’s too mainstream for him) but now, out of the blue, iTunes just started playing one of his songs. I don’t even know how it ended up on my computer, and I sure haven’t heard it on the rotation before. I think that your post is actually magical.

  9. Pam said,

    Melissa–you are getting such an earful in San Francisco! 😉

    Kim–I’m sure Tommy would have been all bad for you. That whole working on the docks thing–just messy. (And you may have to dish on the ominous but that’s another story thing. Too tempting to pass up!)

    Caryn–oh, you’re such a sweetheart! Mwah! Yeah, I am loving the place I’m at now where inspiration strikes me from the oddest places. Some of it expected, some of it schmaltzy, some of it just from beyond this universe–but it makes me go ooh! And I do think iTunes/iPods are magical. My little digital jukebox has spoken to me so clearly that it used to freak me out. Now I expect it. (And tell your husband I’m sorry. My next musical Five on Friday will be nicely non-mainstream. 🙂 )

  10. Caryn said,

    Pam, you’d have to get pretty far out of the mainstream for hubs to like it. He’s fond of L.T.J. Bookem, More Rockers, Massive Attack, Krueder and Dorfmeister, and Angel, to name just a few.

  11. Ashley Ladd said,

    Wow. These are inspirational.

  12. Pam said,

    Caryn–okay, he wins. Someday though I’ll pull out my Great Big Sea (that sounded a little dirty, didn’t it?) but only because I would have anyway. I love them to pieces.

    Ashley–Hi! (waves frantically) Welcome to my little corner of the sandbox. I commented on your blog and look forward to visiting you. 🙂

  13. Ashley Ladd said,

    Thanks for visiting my blog. I hope you’ll visit again.

    To answer your question about privacy concerns, I’d suggest using a pseudonym or at least your first initial with your last name or perhaps your middle name with your last name. Also get a PO Box for your mail and to give out on your newsletters.

    Don’t give out your full real name or address.

  14. Kyle said,

    Nice! My current favorite BJ song is (You Want To) Make A Memory! (I heard them sing it on Idol last year and fell in love with it!)… I also really like the duet with Jennifer Nettles (Why Says You Can’t Go Home)!

  15. Pam said,

    Ashley–thanks for the great tips. I’m going to have to start a list somewhere for when I get “The Call.” And I plan to visit your site soon and really get a look around–maybe not at work, though. 😉

    Kyle–Hi! Good to see you again. (Waves) Make a Memory is a great song, but I’m with you on the duet–she adds such a great sound to it. I also love that it’s a rock-and-roll crossover to country-western song with little alteration. Another lesson from Bon Jovi.

Leave a Reply

