I really shouldn't write when I'm tired

May 1, 2008 at 8:49 am (Random Thoughts)

Okay, more random thoughts. Since this is the second Thursday in a row I’m doing this, I don’t know if Thursdays are the day my brain starts to play its own version of Pong, or this is just a happy coincidence. We’ll go with it for now–might be the Girls saying they want a day off.

  • Bunny Bunny (I know–it probably should be White Rabbit, White Rabbit, but I learned it as Bunny Bunny. I believe the philosophy is the same.)
  • I’m tired. I mean, even more than usual. How do I know this, you ask? Last night, instead of writing (insert ashamed face here), I watched the equivelent of a Friday night Ponderosa buffet and was in bed by 8:30. (Lights off by 9:00)
  • The RWA national convention is in exactly three months. I’ve already started planning my packing list if that tells you how excited I am.
  • On the commute in this morning, the iPod played the Huey Lewis and the News version of Little Bitty Pretty One. May I list the lyrics for you? (I’ll save you all of the ah-ah-ah’s and skip straight to the creepy parts.)

                            “Little bitty pretty one, come on and talk to me,

                             A-lovey, lovey, love one, come on and sit on my knee.

                             I’ll tell you a story, happened long time ago,

                             Little bitty pretty one, I’ve been watching you grow.”

 

           See what I mean? Creepy. I know–when it was popularized in 1957 it was a different era and the words were sweet and protective more than indicating stalking and pedophelia. As I was listening this morning, I have to admit to a bit of an ick factor. Sad, isn’t it?

  • By the way, if anybody knows how to format (fonts, tabs, returns, line spacing) in WordPress, could you please email me? It’s driving me just a little bit crazy.
  • I love chai tea. It would probably be on of my three things on a desert island. Today, it’s a chai powered mix dissolved in hot tap water and augmented with soy milk and sugar-free Torani syrup. In a little bit, I’ll pour it half and half with my black cinnamon tea, all over ice. (What? I said I was tired.)
  • Last night I finished Melissa Marr’s Wicked Lovely. This was my first YA book other than Harry Potter and I have to say I really enjoyed it. Not only was it great writing, she managed to take the book in a different direction than many others would have–it literally kept me guessing how she was going to wrap things up until the very last page, and I give her extreme props for doing that. And yes, based on her and her excellent writing, I’ll pick up Ink Exchange–it sounds even better (if there is such a thing.)
  • Remember on this post when I told you about Sherry Thomas? I found out this week that even before her second book is out July 29th (in time for RWA–squee!!!), she signed a contract for books three and four for an amount I could possibly quit the day job for and just write. First, a huge honking congratulations to her, but second, this is a big flashing red light to pick up Private Arrangements. (I think she has an excerpt of it somewhere on her blog if you want to check that out first.) It is fabulous.
  • And lest I forget–a great big Pam Writes Romance Woot and Congratulations to Kyle (who graduates Friday), Carat (for finishing her classes), Melissa (for finishing her revisions) and Marilyn, 2007 Golden Heart winner who sold her first book this week. I’m Snoopy Dancing for all of you!!! (And please let me know if I forgot anybody–celebrations are the best part!)

I think that’s it for now. I’ve got to prepare for my Five on Friday, which means the chai-cinnamon-tea infusion needs to begin soon. If I may quote on of my favorite movies, It’s a moral imperative.

 

 

See you tomorrow.

13 Comments

  1. Kyle said,

    Try listening to Little Bitty Pretty One sung by a 10 year old (Billy Gilman on his first CD, One Voice)… WEIRD!

    I’ve actually read a number of YA novels, pretty much all in the fantasy genre, though. Besides Harry Potter (of course!), I’d recommend Eragon by Christopher Paolini (don’t watch the movie… awful!), the His Dark Materials Trilogy by Philip Pullman, Inkheart by Cornelia Funke (being made into a movie with Brendan Fraser and Paul Bettany!!!), and The Bartimaeus Trilogy by Jonathan Stroud. All REALLY good!

    RWA, eh? I’m actually going toThrillerFest in July, which should be cool. I’m not a thriller writer, but my friend is, and it seems that almost every major author I know is a thriller writer. Hm. I wish there was a literary genre festival. I know there are millions of them, but a difinitive one, you know? Ah well… 🙂

  2. pamwritesromance said,

    Kyle–I think I’ve got enough of a sqwick think going that I’ll skip the 10-year old. I may just lose my tea. And thanks for the YA suggestions. I’ve heard great things about Paolini and Pullman so I’ll have to bump them up the TBR pile.

    Have fun at Thrillerfest. They’ve got some fabulous writers involved in that, so you’ll be able to learn, network and drink in the vibe. I would suggest RWA to anybody trying to write fiction. This will be Montana’s second one and he’s not even come close to writing a romance. Seminars on PR, publishing, trends, editing, craft, agents, etc. It really is a fabulous writer’s conference.

    Congrats again on the sheepskin tomorrow! Woot! 🙂

  3. Kim said,

    I’ll second the recommendation of Eragon and Inkheart, as well as The Thief Lord (also by Cornelia Funke). I heard the Eragon movie was horrible too, so I skipped it.

    I wish I was going to RWA … I’d love to meet all you fine people in person!

    And, ha! I already have my Friday Five ready to go! So far nothing for today though …

  4. jeniferm said,

    I hope to go to RWA someday. But definitely not this year.

    As for YA, you must, must, must read both “Adios to My Old Life” and “It’s Not About the Accent” by Caridad Ferrer (whose real name is Barb Ferrer, and she’s a Cherry). The second could be argued it’s not truly YA since the protag is 18 and in her freshman year of college, but both are excellent.

    And I’ll second the Bartimaeus Trilogy. Very fun set of books.

    And I’ll email you to try to help with the wordpress formatting stuff, but it’s not always easy.

  5. Ilana said,

    I’d love to go to RWA too – but its too far and bad timing. Maybe next year!

    I had to go look up the ‘bunny, bunny’ thing… this is one I haven’t heard.

    My son loves the Ghosthunter’s series by Cornelia Funke. I’m eying the others for when he’s ready (only 1st grade at the moment).

  6. Melissa said,

    I’m not as excited about RWA this year than I was last year. (Could be that I haven’t started to save yet for the hotel stay and spending money. I know, I’m insane. But I like to live on the edge.)

    And ever since someone (I’m not naming names or pointing fingers), I’ve been thinking about writing a YA novel. So, I’ll definitely pick up some of these titles. (Outside of Harry Potter, because I have those.)

    Lastly, that song sounds creepy as heck. It could just be this line, “Little bitty pretty one, I’ve been watching you grow.”

    Note to self: Play song for dates and see if they lurve this song….

  7. Pam said,

    Kim–I’ve been looking at some of the CO writers conferences, so maybe we’ll get to meet outside of RWA. (And I can’t wait for your 5 on Friday! 🙂 )

    Jen–yeah, but you went to CherryCon, so you get extra jealous points from me! And I’ve had Adios since last Nationals, but I think it got buried somewhere. I’ll have to go dig it up.

    Ilana–next year it’s in Washington DC, so that may work better for you. And I’ve done the Bunny Bunny thing since…I can’t remember when. So far, so good! 😉

    Melissa–yeah, but at least it’s in California this year AND you get the coveted pink (first sale) ribbon, so the excitement will come. And I think whoever suggested you write a YA novel is absolutely brilliant! P.S. love your date-checker. (snort)

  8. Marilyn Brant said,

    Pam!!!!
    Thank you for including my news in your post (you’re just so wonderful! 🙂 and adding me to your sidebar…but, oh, little did I know we shared musical sensibilities! You talk of Huey Lewis (and, yeah, I love his music but those song lyrics ARE creepy). You blog about Bon Jovi–OMG!! I must go back and read all former posts now to see if Def Leppard shows up anywhere… {{hug}} from me and greatly looking forward to seeing you in SF!
    P.S. I’ll second Jen’s recommendation of Caridad’s novel Adios–I loved it :).

  9. Robin said,

    San Francisco, here I come! I’m very excited too and can’t believe it’s only 3 months away! Yikes. Must. Write. More.

    Besides Harry Potter, I haven’t read any YA. I’d like to give them a try, but have a hard enough time finding time to read everything else I want to.

    Hope you’re enjoying your tea infusion!

  10. Caryn said,

    a) I’d never heard of the rabbit, rabbit, white rabbit thing before. Now I’m kind of bummed for having missed out.

    b) I’ve already started thinking about my packing list for RWA, too!

    c) Lately I’ve discovered that a lot of songs that I previously enjoyed now freak me out. “She’s Just Sixteen Years Old” is one. And “I’m on Fire.” And a few more whose names I can’t remember right now.

    d) If you email me and let me know what you’re trying to do with formatting WordPress, maybe I can help. We’re still somewhat limited, but there are options if you’re willing to use a little basic html.

    e) I’m so glad you’ve started reading young adult novels. They are so much fun, and often just as complex as adult books. Many of them just have younger characters and the settings to go with them. And if you want recommendations of what other YA books to read, just let me know. I’ve been reading YA since I myself was a young adult.

    f) My copy of Private Arrangements is winging its way to me even now. Actually, I’m kind of surprised it hasn’t arrived yet. It was shipped days ago. I’m getting impatient.

  11. Katie Reus said,

    Hi Pam, I saw your post on Caryn’s blog about the couch and laughed so hard I now have stomach cramps. I had to check out your blog 🙂

    Oh, and those were some seriously icky lyrics!

  12. Pam said,

    Marilyn–just you wait until ACCORDING TO JANE comes out–I’ll be a blogging fiend! And no, no Def Leppard posts, but I remember buying their first album (Pyromania?) after I saw them perform on American Bandstand. Obviously, I love my 80s hair bands!

    Robin–the tea was wonderful. I’ll be taking a version of it to San Fran, but that’s for my July RWA themed posts. 🙂

    Caryn–it’s never too late to start the Bunny Bunny. To me, it’s all about the belief. Say it now–trust me, it’ll work. 😉

    Katie–welcome!!! I’m so glad you found me! Now you know why I had to start writing–if not I’d just be going nuts on other people’s blogs! I need to go check out your blog and your writing. Are you going to Nationals this year?

  13. Pam Writes Romance, The Interview » Ilana Stephens said,

    […] of the new Pam Writes Romance blog has taken a few moments to answer my ten questions. Before we got down to the questions about […]

Leave a Reply

