Five on Friday: Summer Movies

May 9, 2008 at 12:28 pm (Five on Friday)

Hello, all. First, thanks for checking on me and coming back. Silly me thought I’d have time for writing and blogging and other such stuff when I was at the airport, on the airplane and at my parents.

WRONG!!!

So, I’m back and my brain is totally fried, scrambled and poached, but there was no way I was going to leave another blog hanging out there in the breeze. So, stepping outside of my writing-centric blog, I’m going to go with a puff piece and list my top 5 summer movies I’m looking forward to.

  1. Indiana Jones. Even as exhausted as I am, this is a no-brainer. It’s Indy.
  2. Iron Man. I’ve enjoyed the comic book (I am a geek, after all), though it’s not one of my favorites. However, this looks like an interesting adaptation and I’m hoping it does for Robert Downey Jr. what Matrix did for Keanu or Pirates did for Johnny–make him a one-namer.
  3. Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian. I think if you loved Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings, this is a gimme.
  4. Hellboy II. I really enjoyed Hellboy–it wasn’t like the comic book, but I loved the concept. The last scene starting with Liz saying, “You should be running,” and ending with them burning in a kiss is just something I could watch over and over and over again.
  5. When I was asking Montana about this last night, he said Batman so fast I think it created a breeze. To be fair, I loved Batman Begins and thought Christian Bale was excellent. Great plot, well shot–just a great movie. I find myself now a bit squeamish with the Heath Ledger as the Joker. Even before he died, the portrayal looked really disturbing, which I guess means he really nailed the part. The whole Jack Nickelson (probably spelled it wrong, but that’s okay–I’m not a Jack fan) character was just so bad. So, for my #5, I have absolutely, positively got to pick The Mummy. Brendan Frasier reprises his role and it has Jet Li? Yup, #5 with a bullet.

So that’s my cop-out list. But c’mon, admit it–you like the puff pieces, too. And I do promise to have the scintillating prose back soon.

But not today.

11 Comments

  1. Kyle said,

    Iron Man was SO good… You should check out my review of it over at http://www.filmonic.com...!

    Indy looks good, but I didn’t grow up with the movies, you know? I’ll still go see it, though, because I love Shia LaBeouf and Cate Blanchett!

    DEFINITELY can’t wait for Prince Caspian! I love the first movie and have been waiting for this one since the second I walked out of the theater after having watched the first one for the first time. Andrew Adamson is a great director and did an amazing job on the first movie… SO EXCITED! ONLY A WEEK AWAY!

    Hellboy 2 looks interesting, especially knowing now that the director is going to helm the two Hobbit movies. Hellboy 1 was good, and Pan’s Labrynth was really good, too! Don’t know if I’ll watch this in theaters, though…

    I am really, really looking forward to The Dark Knight. But The Mummy 3? I don’t know how I feel about it. I loved the first two, but Rachel Weisz isn’t going to be in this one! So I think it’s going to be weird. We’ll just have to wait and see!

    So, you picked all actiony/fantasy movies! What, you’re a romance writer and you didn’t include SEX AND THE CITY in your list?! LOL… Maybe you’re in the wrong genre, darlin’…! πŸ™‚ Just sayin’!

  2. Ilana said,

    My hubby (who has requested to be called Pierce, as in 007) also votes for Batman (And I too want to see it).
    But we both agree on Indiana Jones. With Lani and Sam talking about it, I went back and watched the first one all over again. We plan to work our way up the the most recent BEFORE we let ourselves see the new one.
    The mummy is definitely up there.
    And I’ve heard good things about Iron Man…

  3. Caryn said,

    Glad you got back safely. Going to give us a trip report?

    I’ve heard Iron Man is great, but it’s Indiana Jones that I’m really looking forward to.

  4. Pam said,

    Kyle–Indy is just one of those classics to me. I hope they do it justice. I saw that Rachel isn’t goint to be in 3, but her whole reincarnation story in 2 got a little thick to me, so I’m not crying big salty tears. And, this may earn me scorn, but I’ve never been interested in Sex and the City–I think I’d rather go to the dentist.

    Ilana–I’ve been rewatching Indy 1 and just love it more and more each time I go through it. And since Pierce isn’t here (:-)) do you now want to call him Daniel? Rawr.

    Caryn–I am so glad to be home. I could give you a trip report, but most of you would fall asleep. I may post later on how I started my writer’s eye rip-apart of August Rush when Mom and I were watching it, but maybe later.

    I’m so curious–Iron Man made over $100M opening weekend. Who else besides me thinks Indy is going to shatter that?

  5. Melissa Blue said,

    Actually Iron Man made close to 200 mil world wide the opening weekend. But then again Indiana Jones is going to bring fans new and old. The movie is going to have to kick major butt because it can’t disappoint the current fans and the new fans otherwise it’ll tank badly. (Nothing like expectations to make you sweat.)

    As for Sex and The City, I now know what Lani feels like when Sam has no idea how great Buffy is. Yes, I could have lived without Samantha, but that was a great show. It could also be I have a thing for shows.

    Last, but not least I’m glad you made it back in one piece for the trip. And since August Rush left a bad taste in your mouth, I’m going to suggest P.S. I love You if you haven’t seen it yet. GREAT movie.

  6. Melissa Blue said,

    Shoes, not shows. Jeez.

  7. nomadshan said,

    Ditto the rec for Iron Man. Lots of fun. Plus, it begins and ends with the Black Sabbath song, so… awesome.

  8. Robin said,

    Welcome back!

    I loved Iron Man! It was great! Robert Downey Jr. was perfect and he’s getting better with age. πŸ™‚

    I can’t wait for Indiana Jones, The Mummy and Chronicles of Narnia either! Yay! And I love Sex and the City, so I can’t miss that. I’m also looking forward to Get Smart, The X-Files, Mama Mia, and yes, Batman.

    I went and saw Made of Honor a few days ago. It was so-so. But I saw a trailer for a movie with Adam Sandler that looks hysterical. I had tears in my eyes. I can’t remember the name – Kyle? – but he plays an Isreali Anti-Terrorist who wants to change professions so moves to New York to become a hair stylist.

    Have a great weekend! (And, um, I think all my blogging is pretty much fluff – you guys put me to shame.)

  9. Kyle said,

    Robin – It’s called “You Don’t Mess with the Zohan”… Looks funny!

    Pam – No Sex and the City?! Shock! I’ve literally just gotten into Gossip Girl, which I had previously thought beneath me (until I saw the last episode, then went and bought the entire season on iTunes and watched all 16 episodes in two days!)… And that reincarnation thing wasn’t Rachel’s fault! LOL… And, besides, her character is still in the movie, it’s just been recast, which is what I think is going to be weird!

  10. Sonja Foust said,

    Pam, Iron Man was really good. You’ll enjoy it.

    I can’t WAIT for Indiana Jones. I have loved that entire franchise for– like– ever, and even if it sucks, I will probably still love it just because it’s Indiana Jones.

  11. Pam said,

    Melissa–maybe it’s because I’m not a shoe person. Heck, I also loved Hudson Hawk and that was universally panned, so my tastes might be a little bit off center, too. πŸ˜‰

    Nomadshan–I love that song tie-in! How can you not want to watch the movie once you hear it? Glad to hear you liked the movie.

    Robin–isn’t it great seeing these 40-something men really come into their own? Robert Downey Jr. with some age and seasoning to him is great. I’d like to see more of the 80s heartthrobs come back this way!

    Kyle–see, I haven’t watched Gossip Girl either. See above comment about Hudson Hawk. Har.

    Sonja–I know what you mean. If they could come back after Indy 2 and nail it with Sean Connery in Indy 3, I think they would have to really try to make this suck.

    Why are all of these great movies coming out when I have to finish a book?!? πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

