15 Minutes

May 13, 2008 at 9:37 am (Tuesday Ten)

The Girls were looking out for me this week. As I was wondering what my ten of the Tuesday Ten would be, my friend Robin had this post. I had an a-ha moment, and here we are: Ten Authors I’d Like to Spend 15 Minutes With. And since I am so very crafty,  I’m going to further define this as Ten Living Authors I’d Like to Spend 15 Minutes With. (I’ll give you 3 guesses what next Tuesday’s post is, and the first two guesses don’t count.)

To pay homage to the plotter, anal-retentive, coulda-been-an-accountant side of me, here are the rules. First is these are authors I really have no chance of spending 15 minutes with, so no Jenny Crusie, no Lani Diane Rich, no Samantha Graves. Second is this list is in no particular order, so no favorites should be inferred. 

Drumroll, please.

  1. Joss Whedon. Surprisingly, this would not be Buffy focused as I feel fine with my handle on the Buffy-verse. I would love to ask Joss (I can call him by his first name since we’re such close and personal friends) about Firefly. There’s something about alternative westerns that really capture my attention. Combine that with the amazing world-building Joss can do and I’ve got 15 minutes easy.
  2. Stephen King. Yes, the man is a master of horror (The Stand, Cujo, The Shining, Carrie and so on) but he’s also a wicked twisted storyteller. Get Night Shift, his book of short stories, and you’ll see what I mean. Rita Hayworth and Shawshank Redemption? Bee.You.Ti.Ful. I think the final feather in his cap for me is On Writing. The man’s a quadruple threat.
  3. Ray Bradbury.I think I’d just stare at him for my 15 mintues, offering to bring him tea or cookies or anything else he wanted. He transcends literary and has become a legend.
  4. Christopher Moore. I’ve heard him speak twice and don’t know that I’ve ever laughed so hard in my life. I think he’d be fascinating to talk to in a more intimate setting.
  5. Laurell K. Hamilton.I’d love to hear about her a-ha moment with the Anita Blake series and some of the background of her Merry Gentry series. And now she’s doing graphic novels? Somebody’s doing something right.
  6. Donald E. Westlake. (Also writes under Richard Stark.) I adore his writing, particularly the Dortmunder series, but some of his other stuff is wonderful. I think every writer should read Sacred Monsters.
  7. Gregory McDonald. I do love the Fletch series, but I think I like his Flynn series better. I don’t know that I’d necessarily talk writing with him, but anybody with such a twisted sense of humor is easily worth 15 minutes.
  8. Janet Evanovich. I’d love to hear about her crossover from category to the Stephanie Plum series and how that popped into her head. Plus, I’d like the chance to fawn a bit.
  9. J.K. Rowling. Who wouldn’t want to talk to the creator of Harry Potter? Plus, it would be so wonderful to get a contact buzz on success–from unemployed and on state benefits to the 13th richest woman in Britain. Yowza.
  10. Jeph Loeb. Allow me to list what he’s worked on/written: Heroes, Lost, Smallville, Batman, Buffy, Spiderman, Superman, X-Men and the list goes on and on. This man is so amazing I could probably learn from his grocery lists.

So there it is. My ten. I’m seeing a series of Ten Authors, so brace yourselves. 

11 Comments

  1. Kyle said,

    LOL… Love Joss, Stephen and Jo… I’ve actually seen Jo and Uncle Stevie with John Irving at a ginormous joint reading they did for charity in NYC. Not only was that amazing in and of itself, but Whoopi Goldberg hosted the event, Kathy Bates introduced Stephen, and Jon Stewart introduced Jo! Amazing night!

    Why are you writing romance again? I see sci-fi, fantasy, mystery, thriller, horror… Hamilton, okay, but the rest? Haha. I’m just teasing. I used to read only fantasy, but my first book is literary. I was just as shocked as my characters were! They were all, where’s the magic? And I had to lay it down for them: just deal with it guys, I don’t know what to tell you.

    Nice list… Can’t wait for your list of yet-to-be-born authors… That’s next week’s list, right? 🙂

  2. Caryn said,

    Ooh, I love Christopher Moore. The audio version of It’s a Dirty Job has to be one of the most well-done audio books, ever. His books are just made to be read aloud.

  3. Ilana said,

    JK Rowling – yes, I’d want a chance to spend 15 minutes talking to her.

  4. Pam said,

    I love posts like this because not only does it really make you think about the authors you like, but it’s fun to hear who other people like. I’m seeing a lovely series of Ten Authors, Fifteen Minutes. 🙂

  5. Melissa Blue said,

    Well, I think last year’s conference I had a dream come true. I spent 5 minutes with La Nora. We shared a smoke. This may sound twisted, but for the first time in my life I was grateful for falling off the wagon.

    And Jenny Crusie, I think I’d just giggle like an idiot, so I hope we never meet.

    As for J.K. I think I would just bow at her feet repeating, “I’m not worthy.”

    Stephen King, agreed that 15 minutes would be enough to ask all my stupid writing questions.

    Diana Holquist: Loved, Loved, Loved Make Me A Match. I’d ask her questions on voice. It was her voice, not plot, not character that kept me reading the book.

    Lastly, Robert B. Parker. That man has a great sense of humor. I don’t think I’ll even talk to him about writing. I’d want to know if he approved of my legs. (If you never read his books then you’re going to miss that reference.)

    Great post.

  6. Robin said,

    Another awesome Tuesday! I’m totally with you on the first three! When I was a teenager, Stephen King and Ray Bradbury were IT! And I love Buffy. I’m pretty fond of Janet Evanovich and J.K. too. I might be the only writer who hasn’t read Donald Westlake. Writing Sacred Monsters down right now…

    Can’t wait for next Tuesday! 🙂

  7. Montana said,

    Great list, think I’d have to add Harper Lee, too, if only to see if she’d talk about Capote. Plus, don’t forget Harlan Ellison–I know how much you looove you some Ellison.

  8. Pam said,

    Melissa–I remember you glowing about LaNora. Hope your luck holds this year! 🙂

    Robin–Caryn hasn’t taken part of the Buffy-verse yet, so we’re going to have to work on her.

    And lookee here–Montana came to play! And he had to bring up Harlan Ellison. Somebody is going to pay for that one… Mwah hah hah!

  9. Caryn said,

    Ah! I see you plotting against me. 😉

  10. Jess said,

    Christopher Moore–what an endorsement! Love the funny…I need to check him out!!!

  11. Melissa Blue said,

    Ha, spending time with Wiffers and Cherries is all I’m looking forward to this time around.

    It has nothing to do that I’m such a fan girl that I act like a complete idiot around my father authors. Really I just stared at Pat Gaffney. I told her, “Saving Graces made me cry like a baby.” She apologized and I found the nearest exit.

Leave a Reply

