Tags, Kids and Words

May 16, 2008 at 9:45 am (Five on Friday)

It’s Friday, so time for another Five. This week doesn’t have a theme other than catching up, and I figure that’s something every writer could relate to. So without further ado, The Five on Friday Catch Up Edition.

1. My first, is actually a true first. My friend Marilyn tagged me on Monday and it’s taken me until now to respond. I offer large sums of apologies to her and offer here my very first tag. It’s called the 1-2-3 tag and it goes like this:

          Here are the rules:
               1. Pick up the nearest book.
               2. Open to page 123.
               3. Find the fifth sentence.
               4. Post the next three sentences.
               5. Tag five people and post a comment to the person who tagged you once you’ve posted your three sentences.

Of course, I have to be difficult when doing this. When they say to find the fifth sentence, I want to know if that’s the fifth sentence regardless or the fifth complete sentence. Because that makes a difference on what the next three sentences are, right? For the sake of the post, I’ll pass that little bump and go (finally) to the sentences. My nearest book was Life of Pi by Yann Martel, given to me by a dear friend when I was visiting my parents. (It was on the coffee table because it hadn’t gone very far after I’d unpacked.) Page 123 is at the beginning of Chapter 37 and my three sentences are:

“HUMPF! I’ll try again. HUMPF!” 

I’m not kidding. These are my three sentences. If you want me to err on the side of three sentences after five complete sentences, you could add this line: “He was too far.”

So, for the sake of a little more interesting post, I’ll do the 1-2-3 tag again with the book I’m currently reading, A Lick of Frost by Laurell K. Hamilton. Knowing Laurell, this could be a very spicy post, so brace yourselves.

“He’d jokingly said, “You promised me sex, but I know you, you’ll get distracted unless I stay by your side.” It was a joke with some bite in it for Rhys and me. But Doyle said yes to his staying with us too quickly.”

Much better, yes? And now I get to tag others to play. Oh goody–duck, duck, goose for blogs. (Insert evil laughter here.) I’ll tag Caryn, Robin, Melissa, Ilana, and Jenifer.

2. Speaking of evil laughter and Caryn, I think she’s probably chortling mightily over her NKOTB influence. This morning I saw a news clip of them opening the stock exchange yesterday and they were the Friday musical performance on the Today show on NBC, so they plugged them to boy band death. And yes, with every clip was the catchy refrain of “The Right Stuff.” (Not to be confused with the book and movie of the same name dealing with the birth of the space program.) So guess what song I can’t get out of my head this morning?

But I’ve learned that’s not necessarily a bad thing. Pop culture plays a huge part in my writing, from inspiration to instruction to replenishing the creative well. I’m approaching the midpoint of the current WIP and I’ve had thoughts of scenes bounce in my head, so I decided to write them down so a) I wouldn’t lose them and b) so I could see where I was headed. The funny thing was, in looking forward to the next 30,000 words, I have a scene I call “The Princess Bride Scene” and one I call “The Dodgeball Scene.” (And no, I’m not telling you about either.) These aren’t rewrites of scenes from these movies, (frex: “Hello, my name is Jane Doe. You killed my father and now I’m going to kill you.”) but more scenes of my book that were inspired by other scenes (and music and books all jumbled together) I’d taken in. So, for all I know, somewhere down the line, a boy band or a really irritating earworm is going to be in one of my books, and the evil laughter will return. At Caryn.

3. For my goal of 20 pages this week, I’m at 17 and that includes 2 this morning because I got up early and felt amazingly bright-eyed and bushy-tailed. In writing a new scene last night, I discovered one of my secondary characters wanted his own POV and I’m glad I listened, because his scene is just going fabulously! And he’s whispered in my ear before, so I know there are going to be some other scenes I can write for earlier in the book as well as going forward. Woot!

4. I’m also really happy because my romantic comedies are still alive and well in my head. I’m starting to hear the beginning strains of the next one, so I think I’ve hit that wonderful balance that’s going to keep me interested and fresh. I’m estatic because that’s my ultimate goal: write one romantic comedy and one tortured historical a year. Another woot!

5. Stay tuned for my Tuesday Ten. I’m going to be interviewing a debut author (who is fabulous!) so I’ll be branching into new territory here. I’m really looking forward to it and I love celebrating newly published/signed authors. Please come back and celebrate her with me. (And no, I’m not telling. From pop culture I’ve also learned how to do the tease and make you want to come back to see who it is. Tricky, no?)

Thanks for coming to play. I hope everybody has a great weekend and makes their writing goals. Me? Yeah, I’ll hit 20 pages, but Montana has promised me my picnic regardless. Now you know why I write romance.  

14 Comments

  1. Melissa Blue said,

    First I just need to point out “tagging people” is evil. Much like Keebler Elfs telling you to lick them because they are full of sugar and fat and “you know you want me.”

    And since I’ve posted for the day here’s my contribution to evil meme’s:

    The Hollow by La Nora:
    “Raine sparkled on her lashes.”

    Not exciting at all. Refer to “evil meme’s”

    Lastly, you’ll hit your 20 pages without sweating because you are a great writer.

  2. Caryn Caldwell said,

    Oh, boy. A meme. I’ll forgive you since I think this was before you started blogging. And it’s a short one, and book-related.

    And I’m glad your writing is going so well. Nothing beats writing when the words are just flowing. I’m with you on the two books / two genres per year thing. I’d like to aim for one YA and one romantic comedy each year, although I’ll probably start with YA and then hope to pick up romantic comedies later.

    And I think I know who your Tuesday interview is with. 😉 Can’t wait to read it!

  3. Kim said,

    Oh! Be sure to read Life of Pi! I loved it! If my dear husband ever agrees to letting me have a cat again, I’m naming it Richard Parker.

  4. Kyle said,

    I was reading an article from a writer somewhere who said that he had to set himself personal deadlines and pretend that they had come from a higher up so that he would be more inclined to meet them. Sounds like an interesting theory, but as good as my imagination is, I don’t think I would believe a lie I told MYSELF. So, props for being able to set some page goals for yourself. I wish I could be that disciplined!

    Aah, you’re going the TWO book a year route! Good luck! It takes a certain kind of person to be able to do that, so that deserves another props! *snaps*

  5. Ilana said,

    I just posted this morning, but I’ll be sure to follow up on that tag soon.

  6. Pam said,

    Melissa–I’m really starting to worry about you and the Keebler Elves. Do they talk to you often? (Ooh–really good idea for a book–you should write it!!! 🙂 )

    Caryn–I forgive you. I often kill those things that should be forwarded. The most important this is I did my part so I remain the perfect, pretty princess I am. (flutters eyelashes)

    Kim–I completely trust who gave it to me so it’s been moved up in my TBR pile. I’ll make sure and do a book report.

    Kyle–yeah, if I made up the story, I could certainly change it. I’ve found a reward system (rather than punative) works best for me. And as we all know, the discipline comes and goes…

    Ilana–thanks! Obviously it took me 4 days to do it, so I certainly can’t expect those I tag to rush right out and do it. Besides, you’re traveling to old villages and such. 🙂

  7. Robin said,

    I love being tagged! Thanks! Keep an eye out for it next week. 🙂

    Yay on the writing! You go, girl! It sounds like you’re in a wonderful place and I’m so glad for you! I love when that happens.

    I believe I’m interviewing the same person you are, but you’re going first. I can’t wait to see what questions you ask. Of course that means I’m going to have to get creative cuz I don’t want to ask the same ones you are. And I know you’re going to be a fabulous interviewer.

    Have a wonderful weekend! Happy picnicing!

  8. Pam Tagged Me said,

    […] Yep, she did. Right here. […]

  9. jenifer said,

    And that there is my pingback. Or trackback. Or whatever they call it.

    But as I strive for neither perfection nor princessdom, I didn’t tag anyone. Ha!

  10. Marilyn Brant said,

    Oh, loved reading your little snippets, Pam… Much like a cold virus, I try not to pass along anything really awful. I made an exception with this tag, though, because it was short and easy, and I wanted an excuse to read bits of what my friends were reading :). Hope you have a great weekend/picnic!

  11. Melissa Blue said,

    (Ooh–really good idea for a book–you should write it!!!
    Lol, I’m letting the “diet” book simmer in my brain. This whole changing my eating habits is going to be put to good use.

    And they don’t talk to me often. Only when I’m getting a craving. 🙂

  12. Pam said,

    Robin–be careful who you say you love being tagged to–that’s how rumors get started! 🙂 And I’m afraid I went a little less than my zany self with the interview questions–didn’t want to scare her away.

    Jen–yeah, the princess thing? It just sorta happened. (And suddenly, anybody who ever knew me in high school is having a fit of hysterics.)

    Marilyn–it was fun! I found myself looking at my books wondering what the secrets of page 123 held. Somewhere, there’s a book where the 6th, 7th, and 8th sentences tell the secrets of crop circles or something.

    Melissa–I just think a book about Keebler Elves talking to a woman, done in your funny, snarky voice, would be a best-seller. That’s all I’m saying…or maybe it’s the Elves talking through me. De da de dum, de da de dum…

  13. Tagged! » Ilana Stephens said,

    […] Pam has tagged me, so here it is. […]

  14. ilanastephens said,

    Mission complete.

Leave a Reply

