Prepping for Nationals: Your Final Homework

July 26, 2008 at 9:40 am (Events, Writing)

Well, we’re almost there. Your assignment for this weekend it to watch “Working Girl” with Melanie Griffith, Harrison Ford and Signourney Weaver. Not only is it a fun, really uplifting movie, it’s where the term “Elevator Pitch” comes from. I’ve added that little section of the movie so you can at least get the good vibes from that. (The actual pitch starts somewhere around the 6 minute mark, but I encourage you to watch it all–great movie.)

 

See you in San Francisco.

5 Comments

  1. Marilyn Brant said,

    Really?? I remember that scene from the film, but I had no idea that’s where the term came from… Learn something new ‘n’ exciting every day!! 🙂

  2. Sandra said,

    Have a great national week. Can’t wait to hear all about it.

    Drop by my new website: http://www.slferguson.net

    Let me know what you think.

  3. Robin said,

    I didn’t know that’s where “Elevator Pitch” came from either! Thanks for sharing that tidbit. 🙂 See you in S.F.!!

  4. Caryn Caldwell said,

    I had no idea that the term came from that film. That’s great. And I do need to see the movie again, because I remember really liking it — even though I can’t see Sigourney Weaver without thinking of the breath keymaster/gatekeeper thing from Ghostbusters. Maybe after the conference.

  5. Melissa Blue said,

    So glad to finally say, See ya tomorrow. And by the time you read this you might have already seen me and my new hair. No more Buckwheat for me.
    WOOT!

Leave a Reply

