RWA Nationals: I'm ba-ack!

August 8, 2008 at 1:17 pm (Events, Writing)

 

Hello, my faithful readers. I apologize for totally flaking out on you by not posting a dang thing from San Francisco last week, but on the good side, many of you who I flaked out on were there, so at least I got to meet you in person! (And when are these hotels going to learn and just make the whole dang place wi-fi? I don’t even mind paying, just let me sit in the comfort of my room, sucked deep into the marshmallow-like bed, and surf the net. Don’t make me use cables or go down to the lounge. Please.)

So yes, Nationals were absolutely wonderful. I got to meet my writing buddies (Caryn and Robin), my inspiration (Marilyn), my Cherry buddy (Melissa–though I’d meet her in Dallas the year before, so it was great to reconnect with her), one of my blog buddies (Alyson), the amazing author of Driving Sideways (Jess Riley), and a Wiffer (Melina)! A woman on the elevator said she recognized my name and concurred it was because of my blog, but I’m thinking she had a little bit too much to drink that night. Aside from elevator-girl, meeting these women were wonderful, amazing and inspiring. Even though I swore I wasn’t going to next year’s conference without an editor or agent, I’m already making plans to just so I can squee and hug and reconnect. 

It’s a good thing, too, because that feeling has been buoying me during this week of recovery where my body is still exhausted and my brain is totally mush. Of course, I’ve been frantically giving my manuscript a last polish with what I learned during the conference (Blake Snyder anyone?) so I can submit for the successful pitch requests I had. (Keep your fingers crossed for me. Of course if anything happens, you’ll be the first to know, but a little good juju in the universe can’t hurt.) I did discover some amazing editors and agents, any one of whom I’d be delighted to work with.

I also met some amazing authors, but plan on giving them each their own post so I can gush about how wonderful they are, not only as writers, but as people. I swear to God, I don’t think I’ve been hugged so much since my wedding day. I’ll have pictures, too, so stay tuned.

Okay, I’m off to say hi to a few people and work on my synopsis and make plans to update my webpage and get some queries out and think about my next post. And I wouldn’t trade it for the world.

It’s good to be back.

14 Comments

  1. alyson noel said,

    It was so great to meet you in SF- I just wish we could’ve hung out more! Somehow, my schedule got away from me, and I totally missed seeing Caryn at SAVE THE CAT- though I agree, Blake Snyder was so amazing I immediately turned into one of those slobbery gushy fans . . .oh well, he’s probably well used to it by no!

    And just so you know, my fingers are totally crossed for you (toes too!)

    Glad to have you back!

  2. Montana said,

    I second Pam’s comments. Meeting her new friends Caryn and Robin was fantastic and it’s so nice to be able to put faces with their blogs. You ladies are going to make it! Marilyn, it was great to meet you–go Chicago! Melina, Jess, and all the other new faces, thanks for your kindness, and Melissa Blue I count as an old friend now. The conference was great, anyone notice how helpful those screenwriting seminars are? I look forward to seeing you all next year!

  3. Marilyn Brant said,

    Pam~You already know how delighted I was to finally meet you…and to get to meet Montana, too, and Caryn, Robin, Melissa AND Melina (who is sometimes a “Melissa” also 🙂 )…but it’s worth repeating. THANK YOU for making the time to get together amidst all the conference chaos. I’m so excited for all of you–getting requests for your work and delving into the publishing world. It can be a bit crazy-making sometimes (okay, often…well, no–DAILY), but thrills abound as well. Please keep us posted on those submissions!!

  4. pamwritesromance said,

    Alyson–next year for sure. I’m petitioning to get Jane Espenson to present next year, so we’ll plan a gathering either before or after! 😉 And thanks for the fingers and toes crossed–I’ll take all the good luck I can get!

    Montana–since you were the (tall) reason Melissa Blue was able to find me, I’m sure she counts you as an old friend, too! Now, if I can only get you blogging…

    Marilyn–Poor Melina. I know she also goes by Melissa, but in my advancing years, I can easily get confused with 2 Melissas, and Melina is such a beautiful name, I couldn’t help calling her that. And just so you’re warned, next year we are going to swarm you at the literacy signing. I will personally be standing in front of your table with a megaphone, because ACCORDING TO JANE is that fabulous! 😀

  5. Robin said,

    Mere words can’t describe how wonderful it was to meet you in person, Pam! So…*pom pom swishes while I’m jumping up and down on the couch* (And with a boot that’s pretty darn difficult. :)) I’m so happy for all your success at the conference and I look forward to reading the blog post that proclaims you got the call! It was also terrific meeting Montana, Marilyn, Melina, Melissa, Jess and Allison *waving* and I wish everyone happy writing!

    Hugs!

  6. lainey bancroft said,

    Welcome Home all you lucky !@#$%^%&*((^ that got to go to Nationals. 🙂

    I missed you. AND: I want pics!

    AND: (((extra hugs to Pam because y’all know you have fond memories of your first)))…commenter, on a brand new site. 😉

  7. Caryn Caldwell said,

    I had to nod in sympathy when I read that you were originally planning to go to D.C. only if you had an editor or agent, but now you’re tempted to go anyway because of the cool people at Nationals. I’m starting to think that way, too. Don’t tell my husband, though! I have to think of how to approach it. At least it’s a year from now, so I can plan ahead.

  8. Melissa Blue said,

    I really want to go to National’s next year so I can spend actual time with all of you. Especially Pam. *who I stalked* I mean ran into several times. Good luck on all the request.

    Lastly, Hi, Montana!

  9. pamwritesromance said,

    Oh, Robin–hugs back at you! And you worked that boot like a supermodel, so I have no doubt you can do pom pom swishes in it! 😀

    Lainey–it was an honor for me. If you go to the Will Write for Wine forums, we have a thread there with links to lots of pics. I didn’t take too many, but will be posting some of mine (especially author photos) throughout the month.

    Caryn–of course the goal is still to have an editor and/or agent or be finaling in the Golden Heart, so I’m planning ahead for that success now. 🙂

    Melissa–I know! We have got to find some time together! And you can stalk me anyday! I know I’ll be returning the favor. 😉

  10. Ilana said,

    Congratulations on the requests!

    I’m glad you’re planning on coming next year – I’m planning on going and would love to meet more Wiffers!

    Thanks for all the photos – I like having a face to go with the name.

  11. Sandra said,

    Congrats on the request, and here are great vibes sent for the polishing work on the synopsis.

    I always wonder a bit when I get home and am totally out of the haze and maze of conference if the people who swear ‘You look so familiar’ or ‘I’m sure I’ve read your blog’ are as hyped on the atmosphere as me. It’s one of those grain of salt things, right?

    Anyway, glad it was a wonderful conference for you.

  12. pamwritesromance said,

    Ilana–thanks for the congrats. I hope to be at the conference next year with one of those lovely pink First Sale ribbons. 🙂

    Sandra–vibes are always welcome! And for all I knew, elevator girl did know me. I get some pretty good blog stats, but I always wonder where in the world they’re coming from, you know? 😉

  13. Melina said,

    I’m completely late to this party but I also want to say how wonderful Nationals were. The highlight of course was meeting people who I’d only met online. 🙂

    And I have no problem being called Melina. It brings out my Greek roots.

    Marilyn, I can’t wait to read your book! It was great to meet another women’s fiction author.

    Pam, my fingers have been and will stay crossed for you! And thanks again for your Nationals Prep Course!

  14. Pam said,

    Melina–next year we’ll have another gathering and we’ll all have agents or editors and look back on this conference as what started it all! 😀

Leave a Reply

