Who I Bought on my Summer Vacation

August 13, 2008 at 10:56 am (Authors, Events)

 

I bought a woman.

 

In know it’s a shock, and something you probably wouldn’t have expected of me, but I did. It was a heady experience and I plan on doing it again next year.

 

No, I wasn’t in some dingy alley or on a foreign internet site—it was through the Brenda Novak auction for Juvenile Diabetes. Every May for the past four years, Brenda has compiled an amazing and jaw-dropping array of items, all available to the highest bidder. (Guaranteed reads by senior editors, critiques by top agents, meetings with New York Times bestselling authors—the list is astounding and it just goes on and on.) This year I bid on a meeting at the RWA National Convention with Heidi Betts and I won.

 

It wasn’t a surprise that I won—I was determined to. Once I took a peek at Heidi’s website and blog, I raised my fist in the air and screamed, “As God is my witness, I shall not lose this woman!”

 

Why did I fall so hard for Heidi? She’s written western historicals for Dorchester, Silhouette Desires, and is now writing sexy, sassy contemporaries for St. Martin’s Press (home of Jennifer Crusie and Janet Evanovich), so her booklist is drool-worthy. But when I got to her links page and saw a huge section devoted to Save an Animal, then Save the World, she got me. And don’t even get me started on our common love of Buffy and Firefly, The Mummy, Ryan Reynolds, and the Hamster Dance. I was full-blown, all-out gonzo in girl love with Heidi Betts.

 

So I bought her.

 

We met for breakfast the Thursday of the Nationals and she was so warm and friendly that there was never any question on me being at ease or not—I instantly felt like an old friend. We sat and talked and talked (and talked) for over two hours. Heidi answered my questions, told me about her writing experiences, gave me a few tips on my pitch and was encouraging and supportive from beginning to end. Get this—even though I bought her, she brought me a present including two of her books (signed and beautifully inscribed) and a Mutts t-shirt. It was one of those experiences that, when I look back on it, has a starburst filter and a soundtrack made up of Jack Johnson, Rascal Flatts, and maybe a little Bon Jovi.

 

So I encourage each and every one of you to visit Heidi’s webpage and blog, satisfy yourself with her deliciously steamy paranormal novella in the Kim Harrison edited Hotter Than Hell until her newest book comes out in February, and buy your own writer during Brenda’s next auction. Trust me, it’s well worth the money.

 

Now, how am I going to explain this receipt to my accountant?

 

14 Comments

  1. Alyson Noel said,

    Oh, how cool is this?!
    What an awesome experience!

  2. jenifer said,

    That’s totally a business consultation. An extremely awesome, leave you sitting on cloud nine, business consultation.

    And I’ve never heard of Heidi Betts, but I’m off to find one of her books this week to give her a try. Our tastes are way too similar for me to not love her.

  3. Caryn Caldwell said,

    I’m so glad it went so well! She sounds marvelous. I’ll have to check out her books, and I’m definitely going to visit the auction when it comes around next year.

  4. pamwritesromance said,

    Alyson–it really was. I can’t wait until I’m published so somebody can buy me! 😀

    Jenifer–will you be my accountant? 😉

    Caryn–you would love Heidi. Anybody would. Same with her writing. I cannot wait until next February! 🙂

  5. Ilana said,

    What a cool idea!
    How many writers were for sale?
    Do you think we could market Sam and Lani next year?

  6. Marilyn Brant said,

    I’m so glad your breakfast went this well~Heidi seems to be a wonderful person as well as a talented author :). And, hey, she must’ve been thrilled to be “bought” by someone as fun, interesting and easy to talk to as YOU! Sounds like a fabulous experience all around.

  7. Robin said,

    I’m grinning from ear to ear that you had such a great time with Heidi! That’s one of those things you’ll remember and think about always. 🙂

  8. pamwritesromance said,

    Ilana–maybe a billion? 😉 Seriously, a lot. If you read or write romance, you need to check out Brenda’s auction next year. As far as Sam and Lani go (Lani had some books up this year), we’ll see if we can add that to the list!

    Marilyn–It was a wonderful experience! (I’m being coy and not mentioning your lovely compliments!) I’m definetly saving my pennies now for next year’s auction.

    Robin–absolutely! Just like somebody else’s great auction experience…ahem.

  9. Sandra said,

    OMG, this font is so small! Honey, did this page go on a diet and shrink/ Help me, these old eyes will need corrective surgery if it stays this small.

    Okay, enough rattling — just wanted to make sure you knew any typos, well, I couldn’t see them so they don’t count! (GRIN)

    As for the account: just heard a great seminar on Taxes, no, I’m not being sarcastic, it really was great. He, the CPA, advised to make sure you had a detailed receipt for everything. As long as you can prove it on paper, the IRS will buy it. So there it is. You just need a receipt for ‘professional’ training, or ‘personal’ advising. Hey, I’m taking off my palm-reading experience as research, so surely an actual professional counts, right?

    Have a great writing day and for goodness sake — go bigger darling, go bigger!

  10. L.A. Mitchell said,

    Sounds like money well spent, Pam. Glad you had a fantastic time 🙂

  11. pamwritesromance said,

    Sandra–sorry about the font. Sometimes the type gets all wonky on me. I’ll whip it into shape for my next post! And thanks for the tax tip! 🙂

    L.A.–it was, not only for Heidi, but knowing my funds were ultimately going to the very worthy cause of juvenille diabates. It’s a win-win-win, you know? 😉

  12. Heidi Betts said,

    Okay, I obviously left my brain rather than my heart in San Francisco, because I *totally* meant to comment the very day you mentioned you’d blogged about our breakfast. Sigh. I hope you don’t think I didn’t care or didn’t enjoy myself, because I totally did. I even blogged about it myself. 🙂

    I’m very happy you had a good time & thought the money was well spent. And, hey, turns out I don’t mind selling myself by the hour. A fall-back profession, perhaps, in case this writing gig doesn’t work out? *vbg*

    Thank you, too, for all the lovely compliments about my books. I’m thrilled you enjoyed “Shaken and Stirred” & “Curse of the Dragon’s Tears” so much…& I promise to give you the whole scoop on the February book as soon as I can. 😀

  13. pamwritesromance said,

    Heidi–it was just so fun to see you here. Stop by anytime!!! 😀

  14. NAC 2009 – Heidi Betts said,

    […] have the wonderful Pamela Cayne to thank for introducing me to the writings of Heidi Betts. I picked up her book Tangled Up In Love […]

Leave a Reply

