It's Time.

September 5, 2008 at 11:13 am (Events, Five on Friday, Random Thoughts)

 

I know. Your first thought on reading this blog’s title was “Yeah, it’s about dang time you posted again, you lazy slacker!!!” And that’s what makes this title so great—it covers everything, including that it is indeed time for me to post again. Perhaps after reading this post, you’ll understand a little bit more about why the lack of posts lately. (Though you’re pretty much all writers—I already know you understand how writing is like riding a roller coaster and I’ve been going through a loop-de-loop for the past month, but I get ahead of myself…)

 

It’s time to be done with my current book, the rom-com-para-lite. I’ve written and edited and polished and edited and queried and submitted and been critiqued and re-edited and re-polished and re-edited and re-polished and queried and submitted and more with the re-editing and re-polishing. This week I’ve sent out my Nationals submissions and where I’ve been convinced to give this sweet and snarky manuscript a few additional chances during the month, I eagerly look forward to letting it rest. Which leads me to…

 

It’s time to finish my dark historical. You remember this one, the one I was zipping along on when I started this blog in the spring? I’m really excited to get this book finished, for a variety of reasons. First, I love, adore and need this book like it’s dark chocolate, chai tea, and Chinese food all rolled into one. This book has haunted me not only in not finishing it before July, but since I first came up with the barest idea of it years ago. It’s time. Second, I have a wicked reward already in place for it (but you’ll have to wait to hear what it is!), so starting tomorrow, the fingers hit the keyboard. Third, it’s going to take me about a month to finish it, so that’s good timing as far as my submissions go. The optimist in me says by that time, people will be asking for the full manuscript in addition to the partial submissions I just sent out and I’ll need to get started on rom-com-para-lite #2. If I don’t have the dark historical finished before then, I may burst into tears.

 

It’s also time for an earlier historical to get the makeover it’s been needing. Montana and I had quite a conversation last night about how it’s probably going to be easier and better in the long run to consider the current manuscript I have as a 100,000 word outline than to try and edit it into shape. It’s starting to come to me like the dark historical came to me and I’m drooling to get started. Either I have an agent and/or editor interested in me and get to do the lite stuff, or I get to dive into the dark and murky waters of historical romance. I am so in a win-win it’s not even funny.

 

 

And it’s time to get back to the business of writing. I live for Nationals, but let’s admit it—it messes with your schedule something fierce. Maybe it’s the timing of finishing post-Nationals business, maybe it’s because it’s back-to-school, but I feel the need to really immerse myself in my writing—that means writing, submitting, getting my space more comfortable for The Girls, getting my mind set for the next step, everything I need to do to be successful. And I’m ready for it. I want it, need it, got to got to have it! (It makes sense if you say that last sentence like James Brown.)

 

 

So what about you? What’s it time for in your world?

27 Comments

  1. Melissa Blue said,

    It was time for me to start writing again. So, imagine months and months of lollygagging and then BAM I’m writing like I’ve lost my mind.

    From what it sounds like you’ve reached the point where something’s gotta give. When you just need something different. Go with it. I’m sure you’ll finish that book in record time. That’s usually how “it’s time” works.

    Good luck and you know where I blog if you need to whine.

  2. Alyson Noel said,

    It’s time for me to get back to work too!

    Good luck with all of your projects!!

    😀

  3. Marilyn Brant said,

    I think so many of us are in the same position. I have that “Gotta get back to work NOW” feeling, too–esp. with the school year underway again and a few important deadlines looming. One project is a mess. Another is in its infancy. I need to do a lot of writing/revising on both.

    And maybe this part is just me, but I also think summer has a very different pace than fall. Both are almost equally chaotic, but summer feels like the middle of something whereas fall feels like winter/end-of-the-year/holiday craziness is gaining on me. So September incites that “Better get started or you’ll turn around and it’ll be Thanksgiving” anxiety, and that adds to that sense of “it’s time” for me, too… 😉

    I’ll be thinking of you as you return to your manuscripts!

  4. Pam said,

    Melissa–that’s it exactly, like a dam about to burst! And yes, I know where you are now (wordpress!), so mwah-hah-hah! 🙂

    Alyson–thanks! Since you just got your new cover flat, does that mean you’re starting a new project?

    Marilyn–I think September has always been a big back-to-school kind of mentality for me, so not that this feels right, but it sure doesn’t feel wrong. And I sincerely doubt you have a project that’s a mess–just impossible! 😉

  5. Robin said,

    It’s absolutely time for me to start writing, writing, revising, writing again too! And I’m also one of those that has a tough time keeping to a writing routine in the summer – so I look forward to getting into a groove in September. I’m very excited you’re getting back to your historical! 🙂 Happy writing and keep us posted!

  6. Montana said,

    I’m with you! It’s time to send thriller #1 into the world, to finish the YA, and to edit thrillers 2 & 3. Hang on, it’s going to be a busy fall. We can do it.

  7. L.A. Mitchell said,

    It’s time for me to finish this book. As much as I like to pretend I can get a book knocked out in 9 months, I’m a creative turtle. I’m closing in on a year and am writing like crazy wrap it up.

    Good luck finishing yours as well. Can’t wait to find out the reward 🙂

  8. Ilana said,

    Its also time to get back into writing. I’ve been research reading, reading, and scribbling down ideas. I’m trying to flesh them out.

    After this week, we should have a drop off/pick up schedule settled with the kids and I’ll have no more excuses.

  9. Lainey Bancroft said,

    Wow, you have lots on the go, too, Pam! Definitely back to school, a.k.a schedule time for me. I need to get some serious agent queries out there. Worrying about what to do with the stuff I’ve already ‘finished’ is keeping me from moving forward on other projects.

    But it is so much more fun to write it than try and sell it!

    There, I’m done whining. Crack that query whip!

  10. pamwritesromance said,

    Robin–Thanks! I know you’re going to burn it up with the kids back in school, plus your conference final. Woot!

    Montana–Mwah!

    L.A.–Yes! You can finish it! Pom pom swish for you!

  11. pamwritesromance said,

    Ilana–go ahead, jump in the deep end. I promise we’ll help you doggy paddle your way to The End! 🙂

    Lainey–Yes! Query at least 5 but no more than 10 and start your next project. You can do it!!!

  12. pamwritesromance said,

    A P.S. to everybody–a great big Thank You! for the great thoughts. Since posting this blog, I’ve jumped back into the dark historical and have written 17 pages in 3 days. The words, they flow like water and I am giddy with it.

  13. Caryn Caldwell said,

    Okay, how on earth did I miss this post? I’m so confused. Bloglines didn’t show it as brand new until today, which is why I’ve been so remiss in cheering you on. At any rate, I’m so excited for you! I know that you can do this and that you’re going to have a great time with it. Happy immersion! Go, Pam, GO!!!

  14. Caryn Caldwell said,

    P.S. 17 pages in 3 days?!? Amazing! You’re definitely on a roll. Best of luck with it!

  15. Sandra said,

    Finishing my current WIP — so close I can taste it out this point.

    As a matter of fact, it’s back to writing for me.

    Good luck on your submissions. Hope something wonderful happens.

  16. pamwritesromance said,

    Caryn–no worries, you. I still have to do the RSS feed on everybody because I am so hopelessly behind in my bloghopping! And thanks for the cheer–I’ve had these scenes in my head since March, so they’re just pouring out. I’m enjoying it while it lasts! 😉

    Sandra–woot for you! Make sure you tell us when you finish so we can Snoopy dance for you. 🙂

  17. Melissa Blue said,

    I’ve had these scenes in my head since March, so they’re just pouring out. I’m enjoying it while it lasts!

    Isn’t that the truth. Just like writing can be like a damn bursting–the scenes, dialogue, the wholeshebang can go quiet overnight. *sometimes while you are sitting at the computer*

    Keep the momento going, Pam.

    You can do it!!!

  18. Melissa Blue said,

    Hold on. Time out.

    Momento? That’s a breath freshner.

    Momentum. Keep the momentum going…jeez.

  19. Katie Reus said,

    Chocolate, chai, & chinese food? Great alliteration 😉 Keep that motivation going girl!! I’m so impressed by anyone who can write historicals 🙂

  20. pamwritesromance said,

    Melissa–I don’t care if you call it Tic-Tacs From Hell, if it’s helping me write, wa-hoo! 🙂

    Katie–Thanks! I wish I could take credit for thinking of it that way, but let’s just say my inner muse was watching out for me! And I hope everybody can read my historicals soon! 😀

    P.S. To All–I don’t know where these little icons came from. I haven’t done anything to my site recently. Still, a nice change, no?

  21. Robin said,

    Yay, Pam! *pom pom swish*! Keep up the great work! Happy writing! And I can tell you’re having so much fun while writing – that’s wonderful!

  22. Kyle said,

    You TOTALLY put me to shame! I’ve been working on some form of the same book for about 8 years, and haven’t started another one yet. I mean, I’ve written around 80k words of short stories, so I haven’t been totally slacking, but still!

    And I so need to read your rom-com-para-lite! I don’t even know what it is, but it sounds so intriguing!

    Where do you find the energy to write so much? I’ve been dealing with a lack of writing juice for a while now, and I’m looking for a refill!

  23. Lainey Bancroft said,

    It is time for me to TAG you and share the love. 🙂

  24. Pam said,

    Robin–Thanks! a pom pom swish is always appreciated!

    Kyle–As my dear friend Jenny Crusie (who also shares a birthday with you, by the way–TODAY!!! Happy Birthday!) says, Many Roads to Oz. Your road is going to be different than mine. As for the energy, that’s a good question. May turn into a post soon! 🙂

    Lainey–oh, you devilish minx, you!

  25. Kyle said,

    Ooh, you devil… SNEAKY SNEAKY! 🙂 I really am just a lazy writer. If you compress all those years and saw how long it took me to write the first draft of the current storyline (it’s changed a few times!), it probably took me about 3-4 months to write. So, if I would just SIT DOWN AND WRITE, I could potentially do 2 books a year (which would be amazing, because I have more ideas than one genre… I could put out one literary book a year and one “other”!). I just need to learn some self-discipline, and SOON!

  26. Heidi said,

    Man, I’m with you on that, Pam. I’m *still* not caught up from National & it’s been–what?–nearly 2mos? Yikes.

    Glad to hear you’re getting back on track & have so many plans to put into action. Good luck with them all!

  27. pamwritesromance said,

    Kyle–are you writing yet? Don’t make us come after you, because you know we will.

    Heidi–Good, I’m not the only one! And thanks for the luck wishes–they’re always appreciated!

Leave a Reply

