Five on Friday: A Blog about Nothing

September 26, 2008 at 10:45 am (Five on Friday)

 

Hello and Happy Friday! Since it’s the weekend, we’re going to take things a little more lightly here at PamWritesRomance and just do a breezy Five on Friday. I mean, who wants to go into the weekend all bogged down with writing angst, right?

 

1. Business First

I was tagged by my wonderful blog buddy Lainey who wants me to list 6 goofy/unusual things about myself, so you—lucky, lucky, reader—get a list within a list!

 

1. I use body English when I park. Don’t know why, but so far it’s seemed to work.

2. I don’t know specifically how I do this, but there must be something unique about how I pack sandwiches in tinfoil, because Montana says by that alone, he could pick my sandwich out of a Boy Scout Jamboree.

3. Of scents/flavors I really don’t like, peach and raspberry top the list.

4.  If I’m in a convenience store getting a soda, 99 times out of 100 it’ll be a swamp water. (Also known as a graveyard mix.)

5. I can roll my tongue, roll my r’s (aka perform an alveolar trill), double tongue and triple tongue.

6. I grill an awesome pizza.

I’m supposed to tag six other people, but most of my blog buddies have been tagged, so I’m going to leave it as do it if you’d like to (either on your own blog or in the comments). I encourage everybody to at least make a mental list of their 6 things—it really was fun to do.

 

2. Fall Line-Up

While stalling the other night, I came across the Knight Rider premier. All in all, it wasn’t half bad! (Of course, I’m still in mourning for Wipeout, but we can’t have it all, can we?) Other than that, I’ve got nothing. I really don’t watch dedicated series while they’re on—if they’re that good, we’ll buy them as a DVD set, and so far it’s been pretty hard to top Deadwood and Buffy.

 

3. Gratuitous Cat Humor

,

 

4. Movies

I’m happy because we’re finally getting into DVD season of the summer blockbusters, starting with Iron Man coming out this Tuesday. And then there are some great movies coming out this fall, like James Bond and Transporter 3 (which looks much more like the original Transporter, thank God!) Too bad there’s no Harry Potter, but that will be something to look forward to next summer, I guess.

 

5. Autumn

Crimeny, I can’t believe it’s almost October. Of course, since it’s supposed to be 103 degrees today, you can’t really blame me for having trouble with my seasonal or calendar adjustments. The good side is it’s going to be cooler soon, and I do so much better with that. I’m looking forward to writing more, editing, getting the house in order, and doing all of those other organizational things. I still have to decide if I want to enter the Golden Heart (but I have until November 17th) and start getting some Christmas gifts. I’m not doing NaNo, but I will be cheering on my writing buddies who are, and believe you me, finding something to rhyme with protagonist is going to be a challenge.

 

Happy Friday, everybody.

15 Comments

  1. Kyle said,

    You almost just killed me with that cat video. I hope that’s something you can live with!

    No Harry Potter! *Meltdown* SO ANNOYED at Warner Bros. But Iron Man was definitely good. I haven’t seen any of the Transporter movies, but Jason Statham (sp?) is in them, right? So I should probably get on that…

    P.S. You GRILL an awesome pizza?! Uh, gonna need more info on that! And I don’t think I want to know what double and triple tongue-ing are…

  2. jeniferm said,

    Love the cat video! And no peaches or raspberries?????

  3. Montana said,

    I hadn’t noticed the body language when you park, but you certainly swear a lot…

  4. pamwritesromance said,

    Kyle–I love that video. Sorry it almost killed you (but it sounds like moving Harry Potter might have already done the job!) I’d say more, but since you’re a tropical storm, I’m afraid to get in your way! 😉

    Jenifer–I thought you might. Some people I know *coff*Jen*coff* haven’t been posting George and Lila adventures lately, so I had to step up to the plate. And just like coffee, I wish I could like peaches and raspberries, but it’s just not there…

    Montana–Yeah, but I do that anyway. 🙂

  5. Robin said,

    Can I come over for pizza?

    And I’d like to recommend you rent Dexter on DVD. It’s some of the best writing ever!! I must warn you, it’s gruesome, but the acting and storyline are topnotch. I just finished watching Season Two, and wow!

    It’s been really warm in my neck of the woods too, and I’m anxious for some fall weather. I hope it cools off in AZ soon! Oh, and I say enter the Golden Heart! You never know unless you try…

  6. jeniferm said,

    George moved. He’s not missed, though his owners are.

    I tried to get good Tabby video the other day, but she stopped playing by the time I found the camera batteries.

  7. pamwritesromance said,

    Robin–anytime! And I’ve heard good things about Dexter, too. With your recommend, I’ll absolutely give it a try! Any contest news from your neck of the woods?

    Jenifer–okay, you’re forgiven. Especially if you do get a Tabby posting up. 🙂

  8. Robin said,

    Not yet, Pam. You’ll be one of the first to know! 🙂

  9. Marilyn Brant said,

    I’m seriously jealous of your #5 unusual thing. I canNOT roll my r’s. I always, always wanted to, but my tongue refuses to cooperate. Thus, the reason I took Russian in college instead of Spanish. Forceful gutteral sounds I could handle :-).

    And that cat video was hilarious. Oh, kitty, what big eyes you have…

  10. Melissa Blue said,

    I’m don’t like WordPress’s snapshot. If I’d known you’d written another blog post I would have been here sooner.

    Anyway, that cat video was hilarious.

    I wish you the best with your GH.

    And, my kids know too many curse words because of morning traffic. I wonder if I can sue the city if they turn out to be delinquents with huge vocabs.

  11. pamwritesromance said,

    Robin–I’m still thinking winning thoughts!!!

    Marilyn–I took Russian, also, though one semester isn’t really worth it. I still think it’s a beautiful language.

    Melissa–no worries! I know the love is still there! 🙂 And if you sue the city, I’ll be a witness, testifying to the fact that you’re a calm, gentle spirit when not faced with icky traffic.

  12. jeniferm said,

    Wow – I also took Russian in college, and it seems weird to find others who did. Two semesters for me. I can still recognize about half the alphabet, count to 19 (plus a few other random numbers) and say “My name is” “I speak” “I don’t speak” “please” “hi” and “dogs”. The important words. 😀

  13. L.A. Mitchell said,

    Hey Pam 🙂

    Your post was so full of fun stuff. I’m always a sucker for kitties. We’ll NOT do Nano together and cheer everyone else on.

  14. Lainey Bancroft said,

    Okay, what’s wrong with me?I got totally hung up on that tongue stuff! (And I don’t even write erotic)

    And all Montanna could comment on was sandwich wrap? Hmm.

    🙂 Thanks for playing along!

  15. pamwritesromance said,

    Jenifer–Da. 🙂

    L.A.–Aw, thanks! Sometimes it feels good to blog about gratuitous cute kitty stuff. And it’s nice to meet another NOT challenge writer! 😉

    Lainey–Well, Montana did very well not to comment on the tongue stuff. And thanks for inviting me–it was fun! 😀

Leave a Reply

