This 'n That

November 17, 2008 at 2:45 pm (Events, Random Thoughts)

 

·         I’m about halfway through Pride and Prejudice and am really enjoying it. I don’t know if I’ll dive into any of Jane’s other books right away, but I feel I’m close to making a big checkmark on my TBR list.

 

·         I just got notification they received my entry in the Mid-Michigan RWA Happily Ever After contest. Final judge for my category is Holly Root of Waxman Literary Agency and a call or kind word from her would make me squeal like a fifteen year-old girl winning tickets to the premier of Twilight.

 

·         I also entered the Golden Heart last week. I have 2 weeks to get my actual submission in, but my placeholder is there and oozing good mojo!

 

·         Oozing more good mojo to everybody taking part in NaNoWriMo, Sven’s Seventy Days of Sweat, or any other writing challenge. One of these days I’ll take my SocNoc badge down, but not yet. The site gets a little bare without it.

 

·         8 months until Nationals. Not that I’m counting or anything…

 

·         If you want to watch a hysterical movie that follows Blake Snyder’s Beat Sheet, buy (don’t rent—this is good enough for your permanent collection) Lake Placid. One of the best movies ever.

 

·         The editing on the dark historical is going well. It has fits and starts, but I think I’m close to a pattern. During my commute, I’m currently listening to a 3-hour Michael Hauge seminar on Screenwriting for Hollywood, so I’m hoping to pick up another tip or two from Michael during it. His big thing is ‘elicit emotion’ and that’s a pretty good mantra to get in your head.

 

·         I’m having a special guest at Pam Writes Romance in December and I’ve been squealing like a fifteen year-old with tickets to the Twilight premier. I’ll give you a hint—double RITA nominee.

 

·         Montana and I went to an American historical re-enactment festival this weekend. We got off to a bumpy start because on their website they list some of their other activities, including events from the Regency Period. And they listed Regency as 1795-1825. Poor Montana got to listen to me rant (“Do they even know what Regency means?!?”) before we even left the house. But the best part was during the Civil War re-enactment when the percussion caps they fired from their cannons set off every car alarm in the parking lot. At each volley. Of which there were about six. On each side. Twelve volleys in total.

o    Admission for two: $20

o    Bag of Kettle Corn: $5

o    Having cannons set off car alarms: priceless

11 Comments

  1. Marilyn Brant said,

    Okay, you have me giggling about the car alarms :). My hubby is going on a road trip to Nashville next month with his fellow history-teaching buddies so they can attend a weekend-long Civil War show. Weapons. Military jackets. A variety of buttons, hats, accessories…but I don’t think they’ll get to hear any cannons or, sadly, an answering chorus of car alarms. Pity.

  2. coffeegirl88 said,

    Re-enactments are fun! So what if they fudged the time periods a little, it’s an excuse to dress up and play. You did dress up right?

  3. Robin said,

    LOL at priceless! I can totally picture you and Montana. 🙂 Thanks for the update on what’s up with you! I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it again, best of luck with the contests! And ooh, a mystery guest! I look forward to it. BTW, I’m going to be at the first show of Twilight on Friday morning!

  4. Melina said,

    Sending you tons of good luck vibes on the contests, and thanks for the much needed NaNo mojo!

  5. Kyle said,

    Haven’t read Twilight yet. It would sort of feel like I’m cheating on JK Rowling and Harry if I did!

    Congrats on all the progress you’re making… and good luck on the contests!

  6. Lainey Bancroft said,

    XXX (that would be everything crossed for good luck) 🙂

    Car alarms. Definitely priceless!

  7. pamwritesromance said,

    Marilyn–yes, we knew how lucky we were with the cannons. 🙂

    Coffeegirl–no, no dressing up. We only found out about it a few days before and where it was fun, not really what interests me as far as dressing up. But cannons! When in doubt, go with artillery!

    Robin–thanks for the good luck wishes. You’ll have to let us know how crazy Twilight gets!

  8. pamwritesromance said,

    Melina–thanks for the luck, though you don’t need the Nano mojo–you’re kicking it without my help! Woot for you!

    Kyle–I couldn’t get into Twilight, so I don’t have to worry about the movie. Plus, J.K. did set such a high standard! And thanks for the luck–I’ll take it!

    Lainey–thanks for crossing everything for me! Hope it doesn’t get too uncomfortable!

  9. L.A. Mitchell said,

    Good luck on the GH, Pam …Unless of course, you entered my category….j/k 🙂

  10. Caryn Caldwell said,

    The image of the cannon fire setting off the car alarms — twelve times — had me giggling out loud. What an image! The past meets the present. 😀

  11. pamwritesromance said,

    L.A.–thanks for the luck. And I’d be tickled just to final!

    Caryn–it was truly priceless. And I didn’t even touch on the dramatic acting of those soldiers getting “shot”–drama!!!

Leave a Reply

