Tuesday Ten: The Thanksgiving Edition

November 26, 2008 at 7:40 pm (Tuesday Ten)

 

First, I know it’s not Tuesday. I was going to do this on Tuesday to fit in with my dusty Tuesday Ten category, but I was sick. However, most of this post was already written in my head, so since I’m queen of my universe, today is also Tuesday. Just like your birthday extends to your birthday week, right?

So yes, how could I not do a Tuesday Ten on things I’m thankful for? Tis the season after all. But first, I would be remiss if I didn’t offer this: 

*******SAP ALERT!!!********WATCH FOR FALLING MUSHINESS*******SAP ALERT!!!*******

  1. I’m thankful for the wonderful authors I met this year and have inspired, taught, and suffered me, so my first Thanksgiving Thanks goes to Heidi Betts, Anna Campbell, MaryJanice Davidson, Jess Riley and Marilyn Brant.
  2. To all of my wonderful blog readers (lurking, commenting or otherwise) my second Thanksgiving Thanks goes to you—you give me something to look forward to every day, especially when I am a bad blog buddy and am sluggish in visiting your blogs. Extra drumsticks for you!
  3. I’m thankful that I had such a wonderful experience at the RWA National Convention in San Francisco this year. Not only was the setting splendid, but it was just a fabulous conference! (And I got to ride in an elevator with La Nora—much like finding a four-leaf clover.)
  4. I’m thankful to the Wiffers. You make me laugh, you make me smile, you make me proud to be one of you. Great big Thanksgiving Thanks to all of you!
  5. I’m thankful for the Girls in the Basement. Thanks to you wonderful broads, I wrote a fabulous book this year. Not only do you get Thanksgiving Thanks, you get extra wine with that! (And pecan pie with butter pecan ice cream!)
  6. I’m thankful for my wonderful writing/critique/career partners, Caryn and Robin, and it would take me until next Thanksgiving to list how many ways you’re fabulous! If turkeys had lips, you’d be getting a big, wet kiss from them! Mwah!
  7. I’m thankful most of you didn’t hurl with that last thanks, especially with the turkey lips visual.
  8. I’m thankful to Joss Whedon. Not only for the hours and hours of enjoyment for Buffy (and Firefly/Serenity), but for teaching me how to build worlds, create amazing characters, pace a story, and always leave your viewers/readers guessing.
  9. I’m thankful that I’ve found my road to Oz—not only have I learned amazing writing tools, tips and tricks from Jenny Crusie, Lani Diane Rich, Samantha Graves, Stephen King, Michael Hague, Blake Snyder and every person who’s given a seminar at RWA from 2005, 2007, and 2008, but I’ve learned how to take what works for me and blend it all together into my writing toolbox. Thanksgiving Thanks to every one of you, and the ones I’m sure I forgot.
  10. My final, and biggest Thanksgiving Thanks, goes to Montana. Making a wish on a wishbone really works.

 

Wishing each and every one of you a very happy Thanksgiving and a wonderful holiday season. 

14 Comments

  1. Robin said,

    Thanks, Pam! I’m so very thankful for you too!! And thanks for leaving me with an image of a turkey with lips. 🙂 He’s got a great pucker. Mwah right back at ya!

  2. alyson noel said,

    I’m thankful for Buffy too! I only just discovered it this year if you can believe it!

    Hope your Thanksgiving is WONDERFUL!

  3. Robin said,

    Okay, that sounds kind of umm, well, you know. And now I’m picturing a turkey a little differently. LOL

  4. L.A. Mitchell said,

    Happy Thanksgiving back to you, Pam 🙂

  5. Marilyn Brant said,

    Pam, I’m so thankful for you, too…I can’t tell you how much I appreciate your kindness, humor, supportiveness, enthusiasm–you’re just wonderful :). Wishing you and Montana a fantabulous Thanksgiving!!

  6. Montana said,

    Happy Thanksgiving to my day-by-day and moment-by-moment inspiration. You make my heart Rumba.

  7. pamwritesromance said,

    Robin–With three boys/men in the house, no wonder the turkey lips didn’t phase you! 🙂

    Alyson–but you discovered Buffy, that’s the important thing! And Happy Thanksgiving right back ‘atcha!

    L.A.–And many happy holiday wishes to you, too! Gobble, gobble!!!

  8. pamwritesromance said,

    Dangit, Marilyn–you’re supposed to post **Mushy Alert** signs so I don’t tear up here! My image as a smooth, sophisticated writer-type is in danger! (And a fantabulous Thanksgiving to you, too!)

    Montana–oh, crap. I am crying now. For that lovely sentiment, you get extra pecan pie tonight!

  9. Melissa Blue said,

    Happy Thankgiving!!

  10. Katie Reus said,

    Finally back in the land of the living. Hope you had a fabulous Thanksgiving!!

  11. Caryn Caldwell said,

    What a wonderful list! And thank you so much for being so sweet. I think you’re the greatest, too. Though I do admit I find myself very glad that turkeys do not have lips. It’s bad enough when my cat drools on me. Turkey drool sounds even less appetizing.

  12. Heidi Betts said,

    I love it, Pam! (And not just because you mentioned me. *g*) All great things to be thankful for, & I didn’t find it sappy at all.

    Heidi, who forgot to put Joss on her list, but thinks he definitely belongs there, since she couldn’t go a day without knowing her Firefly & Buffy DVDs are close & awaiting a fresh viewing 😀

    Heidi
    http://www.HeidiBetts.com
    http://www.HeidiBetts.com/WIPsandChains
    (coming soon) http://www.HeidiBetts.com/MustLoveYarn
    Books Make Great Holiday Gifts. Spread the Word!

  13. pamwritesromance said,

    Melissa–Hope you had a Happy Thanksgiving, too! 🙂

    Katie–glad to see you! *waves* Lovely holiday, thank you. Hope you had a nice one, also!

  14. pamwritesromance said,

    Caryn–I’ll know better for next year. No turkey drool. 😉

    Heidi–It was an honor to have you on my list (and not even because you’re a fellow Joss fan!)

Leave a Reply

