You like me, you really like me!

December 5, 2008 at 10:30 am (Events, Random Thoughts, Virtual Gems)

 

I don’t know if it was thoughts of what we’re thankful for, the spirit of the holidays, or the fact that we’re a pretty awesome group of people, but it was a love-fest in the blogverse last week, wasn’t it? It was a nice way to start the holiday season, especially in the midst of a recession, a bombing and the multitude of other events that cause us stress, grief and despair.

 

Whew—took a hard turn into Bummersville there, didn’t I? Here, in honor of L.A., let’s restore our Christmas spirit:

(And on top of the surreal nutsiness of that performance, I love Rehab Puppet jumping his lines–Rick’s first performance in 20 years and he’s upstaged by a glorified sock jonesing for a fix.)

 

i_love_your_blog_awardOkay, now that we’re all back in the mood, I was saying that last week was a very warm and cozy time and it was greatly appreciated. I found myself doubly blessed with the “I Love Your Blog” award that is being bestowed—once by my good friend (and wicked vicious bar-fighter) Robin, and once by my “I wanna be her when I grow up” friend of Heidi Betts. (Plus an honorary mention by the amazing Marilyn Brant.) In the middle of an icky week, you wonderful people really perked me up. You may love my blog, but I totally adore each of you!  

 

Now, I’m off to put this little beauty up where my SocNoc participant used to be. I was perilously close to becoming David Wooderson.

 

Pshew.

10 Comments

  1. L.A. Mitchell said,

    ROFL….After you sent me this, I Rickrolled so many people they’re hoping I drop *off* the happy blogosphere. What would I do without my peeps letting me in on all the good stuff?

    I’m humbled by the honor 🙂

  2. Robin said,

    OMG, I’m ROFL too! Chick Magnet’s been dancing to this song all week! (He’s 10.) He heard it on a video game and had to buy it on iTunes! I’ve been cracking up all week when he breaks into song. When I showed him this video, Pam, he goes, “How old is that guy?”

    I’m so glad I was able to lift your spirits with the award! I heart you! But um, getting it from Heidi Betts is way cooler than getting it from me. You rock!

  3. Montana said,

    Hey, what’s wrong with David Wooderson? How do you think I met you?

  4. Marilyn Brant said,

    Oh, oh, oh!! I needed to see that today–thanks, Pam!! Gotta say: Rick looked pretty good out there :)!

  5. Lainey Bancroft said,

    Awe…you’re triple, quadruple–cuz I would have tossed it your way if Robin hadn’t taken you first–loved. How cool is that?

    (must go sing to Weird ’80’s music and think about my imaginary friends. So glad they’re in a happy, musical place. Um…yeah)

    P.S If I’m going to continue to love you, I really need to hear this David Wooderson/Montana story!

  6. Heidi Betts said,

    Love it, Pam! And since I’ve been a**-deep in much-loathed revisions all weekend, you’re more than welcome to be me, whether you grow up to do it or not. Personally, I prefer not to grow up entirely. Winnie the Pooh & Spongebob are so much more fun when you’ve still got a 5yo living inside you. (And I mean that in a totally I-may-be-dieting-but-I-didn’t-*eat*-a-5yo-for-God’s-sake! way. :P)

  7. Caryn Caldwell said,

    Great video! Lots of fun. And congratulations on the award! It’s well-deserved. 🙂

  8. pamwritesromance said,

    L.A.–and you started something, too. I had to dig out my 12″ dance single of ‘Together Forever’ to show Montana. He, very kindly, expressed interest. 😉

    Robin–songs crossing generations always cracks me up–it’s like listening to Iggy Pop’s ‘Lust for Life’ being used for cruise line advertising! And I have to ask which video game is our friend Rick being used on? 😀

  9. pamwritesromance said,

    Montana–You just gotta keep livin’ man, L-I-V-I-N. 😉

    Marilyn–glad you enjoyed! I was impressed with how well Rick has aged, too. Still deciding on the black hair though…

    Lainey–Aw, you’re sweet! Mwah to you! You, me and Marilyn are going to have to get together on some good 80s music! (And I’ll ask Montana if he wants to comment about the David Wooderson…) 🙂

  10. pamwritesromance said,

    Heidi–good luck on your revisions! If you get them done faster, does the book come out that much sooner? Please? Pretty please? 🙂

    Caryn–thanks! And I’m glad you liked the video. The scary thing is, I still remember the original one pretty well! Just glad to see Rick is still up and singing…

Leave a Reply

