Without Further Ado, Anna Campbell!

December 18, 2008 at 8:08 pm (Authors)

 

Ooh, I’m glowing, I’m simply glowing! Other fabulous people are discovering Anna and it warms my cockles, it does. Of course, given the cold snap everybody seems to be having (except Anna, where it’s summer in Australia!), warm cockles are probably a good thing.

 

Now, before I jump into my interview with Anna, I want to turn all of you onto a few of her pages or sites about her/her books. And no, this isn’t me making you eat your vegetables before dessert—would I do that to you? No! This is like having the shrimp cocktail and chicken quesidilla before the white chocolate macademia nut cookies and Dove bars—it’s all good!

 

First, if you want to wet your whistle with Tempt the Devil, click here. And not only do you get a preview, but for every 100,000 pages browsed from this site, Avon will donate 100 books to ProLiteracy Worldwide, but only before December 23rd, so start reading! (And tell a friend!)

 

And, because you’ve all been extra good this year, here’s a link to one of Anna’s short stories, titled The Return !

 

To learn more about Anna, her thoughts on writing, interviews from both sides of the keyboard, and when her career as a conference s*** (her phrasing, not mine!) was born, click here!

 

Last but not least, here’s a link to her contest page. Remember—you can’t win if you don’t enter! (And all you have to do is tell Anna what tempts you. How easy is that? Chocolate, wine, and Anna Campbell books!)

 

So, without further ado, I bring you my interview with the amazing Anna Campbell!

 

What is your favorite:

     Color? Blue

     Movie? Ooh, that’s hard. This week it’s Dirty Dancing! Last week it was The Last of the Mohicans.

     Beverage? Champagne.

 

What one Super Power would you like to have? (Or, if you’d like, which Super Hero would you like to be?) I’d like to be able to fly.

 

In the alternate universe where Anna Campbell wasn’t a writer, what would she be? A ballet dancer? How alternative is this universe?

 

How did you celebrate when you:

     Heard you double-finaled in the Golden Heart? I emailed my good friend Christine Wells who was the only person I knew would be up at 3am with a teething baby! Then I booked my trip to my first Romance Writers of America conference, the one in Atlanta.

     Sold Claiming the Courtesan? I got some sleep. The auction had gone on nearly all week and I was absolutely exhausted!

     Heard you were a double RITA finalist? I emailed my good friend Christine Wells who was the only person I knew would be up at 3am with (another) teething baby!

 

Tell us about the quiz show win that helped you move to Sydney. What was the final question/stunt that catapulted you into your win? I was a short-lived champion on the local (and also short-lived) version of Jeopardy! I made a reckless bid on a Daily Double which turned out to be not so reckless. I’m now eternally grateful to tree-climbing foxes because that was what the question was about!

 

How do you replenish your creative well? I read. Truly, reading great books really inspires me and somehow prods my subconscious into working on my own stories. Otherwise water helps – swimming, walking by the sea, even taking a nice long bath!

 

What are you reading now? I’m on an Elizabeth George kick. I’m currently reading Playing for the Ashes which is my seventh Inspector Lynley book in a bit over a month! They’re great mysteries in the style of P.D. James, really rich plum puddings of books.

 

You describe Claiming the Courtesan as a Beauty and the Beast story, and Untouched as Beauty and the Beast/Sleeping Beauty. Are these fairy tale designs intentional? And where does Tempt the Devil fall? I think fairytales and myths teach us the basic shapes of stories and I must say I always loved fairytales when I was a little girl. It’s not deliberate that the books have a parallel in a fairytale, I think it’s just how they come. But once I’ve got the link, I definitely use it! Tempt the Devil is a Regency noir Affair to Remember. It’s about two jaded sophisticated people who fall in love very much against their will!

 

What’s coming up after Tempt the Devil? Lots more? Lots and lots more? (Please!!!) Ha! My next Regency noir for Avon comes out next November. As yet, it’s untitled! It’s about a runaway heiress who runs into a man suffering extreme PTSD. Full of drama and angst! I’m just about to start my fifth historical romance for Avon – I could tell you about it but then I’d have to kill you! I will say the heiress book is a little in the mold of Untouched – you know, a knight in shining armor type as the hero. The next one features a bad boy hero which should be fun to write!

 

 

I don’t know about the rest of you, but I am just counting the minutes until this beauty comes out on Tuesday, December 30th! And as soon as I get this book in my hot little hands, I’m curling up with it in my favorite chair with my fuzzy slipper socks and some peanut butter M&Ms. If that’s not heaven, I don’t know what is.

 (To head straight to Amazon.com and pre-order, click here. Or, to gift somebody with this delicious book for Christmas, click here for a gift certificate.)

 

 

 

 Thanks, Anna, for visiting PamWritesRomance! I’d love to have you back anytime!!!

 

16 Comments

  1. Marilyn Brant said,

    Pam and Anna, what a terrific Q&A!

    I liked all those extra link adventures you sent us on, Pam–like a literary scavenger hunt! I’ve already devoured the first chapter of Tempt the Devil on the Avon site and am looking forward to more…

    Anna, I really enjoyed reading your writing article on Voice as well as your novel. I was an exchange student in Brisbane, Australia when I was in high school and went back to visit my host family and friends during the Aussie Bicentennial. What a gorgeous country! I always smile when I spot a John Farnham reference, too–I LOVED that song (“You’re the Voice”)–and until David Archuletta sang it on America Idol, I don’t think it was ever played here. Enjoy the hot summer weather Down Under–we’re about to be hit by a blizzard in Chicago!!

  2. annacampbell said,

    Hey, Marilyn, isn’t Pam the best? Seriously, if I had a firstborn, I’d be wrapping him up in tinsel and sending him of to her 😉 And thanks for checking out all the extra that Pam rootled around and put up. Hey, cool you were in Brisbane – I live just up the road these days and I spent many years living there. Stay safe from the blizzard. We’re having a very sultry summer which is translating as violent storms and it looks like one’s looming right now! Eeeek!

  3. pamwritesromance said,

    Marilyn–glad you liked the links. I’ve always been impressed by the huge range of Anna’s site–lots of extras for us! It’s just like Christmas, but all year round! 🙂

    Anna–Thanks for stopping by! And as sweet as your offer of a potential firstborn is, I’m lucky enough to have my own prince and would have to decline. However, I do know some lovely ladies who would be tickled to get such a gift under their tree this year! 😉

  4. annacampbell said,

    Snort! Sounds like my mythical firstborn is staying home for Christmas! Actually before I put my site together, I spent a lot of time coasting around the net and one of the things I liked was ‘extra’ content. You know, more than just this is me, buy my book, contact me. I stole the favorite things idea from an English friend of mine, Jenny Haddon, who writes wonderful Mills and Boons as Sophie Weston. She had a page called Sophie’s bookshelf where she’d talk about what she was reading. I thought that was a wonderful idea but I wanted to be able to talk about anything that took my fancy.

    Isn’t it cool that Marilyn lived so close to me? Actually probably really close as I was living IN Brisbane at the time! Talk about a small world!

  5. Robin said,

    Hi Pam and Anna! Lovely interview! It’s so nice getting to know authors in this relaxed blog atmosphere. I also really enjoyed your writing article on Voice, Anna. You’ve put a smile on this aspiring author’s face. I was lucky enough to get a signed copy of Claiming the Courtesan from you in Dallas and (hiding under the chair) it’s now at the top of my TBR pile. I look forward to reading it and your other books. Best of luck to you!

    Happy Holidays!

  6. Pam said,

    And to continue the “how close was I” thread, for almost 3 years around Y2K, I lived about an hour away from Marilyn. If I only knew then!!! 🙂

  7. annacampbell said,

    Robin, get that book out NOW!!! Nah, that’s OK. I understand the endless TBR pile issue. I’ve got things in there that have grown mold! Hope CTC hasn’t grown mold! 😉 Thanks for coming by in Dallas! It was such a buzz to meet everyone there – it was my first signing and I had a ball. Glad you enjoy the Voice article! It was fun to write although I think some of the references would only make sense to Aussies (John Farnham for example!). Good luck with your writing!

  8. Marilyn Brant said,

    Anna~YES, Pam IS the best!! As far as being in Brisbane at the same time, just think, we might’ve passed each other on the street (I would’ve been the one eating Jaffas by the handful…), both of us lost in our imaginary worlds. Of course, I didn’t know I was going to be a writer then–everyone just thought it was annoying daydreaming on my part :-).

    Pam~THREE YEARS??! Darn… And you had to move 1,000 miles away before I could meet you… Life’s strange that way, but I’m glad it happened later than not at all. *hug*

  9. Robin said,

    Anna, I’ve got the book in my hot little hands!! And I just had to tell you, I looked to see what you wrote to me. At the time, I hadn’t read any historical romances so must have mentioned that to you because you wrote, Dear Robin, to the historical romance virgin! Happy reading! Anna. Thanks so much, and you can bet I’m going to be happy reading your book. By the way, one of my dearest friends lives in Brisbane (Carina to be exact) and I really hope to get there to visit her! I was to Sydney and Newcastle when we were teens and loved it!

    I just want to add that I can’t wait to hold one of Pam’s historicals in my hands one day! 🙂

  10. pamwritesromance said,

    Anna and Robin–more degrees of separation–Dallas is where I got my copy of CTC, so for all I know, I was standing in line with Robin, but obviously not destined to meet her until months and months later! LOL!

    And Robin, you’re going to make me get all misty with comments like that! Anna offered me her mythological firstborn (who, BTW, Montana said we may reconsider if he cleaned or cooked!), then Marilyn got me all gushy. You guys are making my first acknowledgments page longer and longer! 🙂

  11. annacampbell said,

    Hey, Robin, playing this six degrees of separation game, my critique partner and one of my dearest friends Annie West lives in Newcastle. Well, Lake Macquarie to be exact! And I know Carina well. I grew up in a farming community on Brisbane’s south side and we had to go through Carina to get to Brisbane. Mind you, these days the farming community is covered with houses but we’re going back to 1122 here 😉

    Marilyn, Jaffas are great, aren’t they? I think we have some great chocolate snacks over here. Did you know Target are trialling Tim Tams until March? I hope you tried those while you visit – they’re heavenly!

    Pam, my firstborn is mythical. Of course he cleans and cooks. And he tidies up his room and he always rings home if he’s going to be late! See? Completely mythical!

  12. Robin said,

    OMG! Target has Tim Tams? I love, love, love Tim Tams! Must go to Target now…

    Happy Holidays, Anna! Happy Holidays, Pam!

  13. L.A. Mitchell said,

    Pam (and Anna),
    Claiming the Courtesan is at the top of my list to purchase with my B&N giftcard. I can’t wait. I’ve heard such wonderful things about it. Loved the interview 🙂

  14. Melissa Blue said,

    I must dig out my books from San Fran National’s. I went to the Avon signing and got a signed copy.

    And, I know and love Pam. We are only a state away. Not sure how that will fit into the six degrees…

    Anyway, great interview.

  15. pamwritesromance said,

    L.A.–thanks for visiting! Can’t wait to hear how you like CTC! 🙂

    Melissa–woot for signed copies! And we’re such buddies, we’re down to 1 degree, I think. 😉

  16. Caryn Caldwell said,

    Great interview! Thanks, Anna and Pam, for the enjoyable read. Happy holidays to both of you!

Leave a Reply

