Your what hurts?

April 22, 2009 at 11:51 am (Random Thoughts)

 

Warning: This is a disconnected, possibly confusing, catch-up and miscellaneous post. If you watched the ending of ‘Life on Mars’ or have ever listened to a Paula Abdul critique on ‘American Idol’, you should have no problems keeping up. If not, an emergency exit is located at the little red X at the top of the page.

 

I’ve thought it incredibly curious that some part of my recent blog traffic has been driven by searches of phrases like “clean house” and “Monica’s apartment”, no doubt due to this post. Since I am desperate for publicity, readers, and people to like me, I’m going to start scattering my posts with random phrases that I think people will be googling and see if I get any hits. In the spirit of my first random phrase, I say…and now for something completely different.

 

“Ministry of Silly Walks”

 

I did get my edits/rewrites done on BROKEN and my lovely dark historical is winging its way to my beta readers (or already there.) I didn’t quite make my deadline, so I’ve cut myself off from chocolate for a little bit, but I’m going to claim an exemption on the duct tape. I think that’s a threat best used for a really heinous deadline. (Due to my poor typing skills, I just realized that “threat” is just “treat” with the letter ‘h’ added. Hmmm…that’s a little too DaVinci code, don’t you think?)

 

“Jump the Shark”

 

One huge thing going on next month is the amazing Brenda Novak auction for diabetes research. Dig between the cushions of your couch, claw under your car seat, sell your “Death of Superman” mint edition comic book—anything to raise some extra cash. Then go here and look at all of the fabulous things Brenda has up for auction in May. I’m serious. Yes, she has amazing opportunities for writers (and I mean A. May. Zing.), but she also has great things for readers and lots of just fun stuff. She’s hoping to raise over $300,000 for diabetes research this year and I say we help her do it.

 

“Brangelina”

 

I’m going to call it good right there. Any more and I’ll officially enter ‘rambling’ territory, and at that point it’s just being mean to make you keep reading. Especially about Brangelina.

17 Comments

  1. Marilyn Brant said,

    LOL, Pam. I adore you. “Brangelina”–hee, hee! May I suggest you throw in some sexually suggestive terms the next time you want to tempt the Googlers?? Or things that might pull in those ubiquitous bargain shoppers? Better yet–why not combine them? i.e., “Black leather teddies with spiked collar accessories for that Special Erotic Occasion–great deals, low prices!” (Let me know how it goes. :))

  2. Hollie said,

    I’d like you no matter what you blogged about Pam!!! and I will check out the auction..my sis has had type 1 diabetes for 30 years now…and it is a wonderful cause to donate to.

  3. Pamela Cayne said,

    Marilyn–I don’t know if I’m a little shocked at your raciness or incredibly proud! I do wonder what kind of traffic I would pick up, though… 😉

    Hollie–it is a wonderful cause, but it’s also so much fun! Brenda has been able to pull in some amazing items, literally one-of-a-kind! 🙂

  4. jenifer said,

    Why not? Angela James (Nice Mommy, Evil Editor) managed to pull in some blog traffic with the search terms “naked” and “locker room”. Sure, they were disappointed to find this post, but hey, they visited. 🙂

  5. Pamela Cayne said,

    Jenifer–are you suggesting what I think you’re suggesting, young lady? 😉

  6. Montana (curtbooks) said,

    I really enjoyed your post,
    Kevin Smith,
    and am curious what or who you will bid on this year.
    Yankees suck.
    I hope you’ll have as much fun as you did last year,
    David Sedaris, Christopher Moore, Ben Templesmith, Adam West, Spiderman,
    Anyway, it all goes to a great cause,
    ninja
    and I love your enthusiasm.

  7. jeniferm said,

    Who says I’m suggesting anything? 😀

  8. L.A. Mitchell said,

    Pam…you are TOO funny. If the Brangelina thing works, I’m trying it next 🙂 Yeah for you getting those edits done!!! I hope it brings ona a flurry of “We-knew-you-when” comments.

  9. Heidi Betts said,

    Ha ha ha ha ha! First of all, you crack me up, Pam.

    Second, you were right to lure me over here to read Marilyn’s comment. Marilyn, I knew you’d fit in over at WIPs and Chains…even if you did endanger Pam’s life by suggesting such a thing. After all, if Mistress Heidi finds out folks are trying to usurp her territory, she may become angry & decide to seek vengeance. And if you haven’t checked out her punishment-specific emoticon yet this month, you should…she means business. *vbg*

  10. Pamela Cayne said,

    Montana/Curtbooks–love the ninja reference! As for the bidding, let’s just say if somebody calls to confirm the increase in our credit limit, just say yes, okay? Thanks, pookums! 🙂

    Jenifer–Aw, c’mon. Just a little suggestion? 😉

  11. Pamela Cayne said,

    L.A.–I’ll let you know on the Brangelina, though if you have a hipper, more current suggestion, let me know. I tend to be about 5 years out of date. Hmm…maybe I should try “GIlmore Girls” 😀

    Heidi–I told you!!! Before we know it, Marilyn is going to be holding the fuzzy pink handcuffs and twirling them around her finger. 😉

  12. Robin said,

    LOL, Pam! And Marilyn, I loved your comment! I’m so going to change the vernacular at my blog!

    Yay on BROKEN! And good luck bidding at Brenda Novak’s auction!

  13. Marilyn Brant said,

    Just for the record: I’m totally out to get those fuzzy pink handcuffs. I WANT them. 🙂
    Apologies to Mistress Heidi for treading on her territory, but I’m on a mission…

    Pam~I love how Montana has really gotten into the spirit of things (“Yankees suck”–too funny!) and, though I haven’t been online much today, whenever I’ve seen some major headline–“Susan Boyle Makeover!”–I”ve thought of you.

    Since I was too busy imagining the potential delights of leather lingerie the last time I was here, I neglected to mention this important thing: CONGRATS on finishing your edits for BROKEN!!!!! Whoo-hoo–so proud of you!

  14. Pamela Cayne said,

    Robin–I hope it works for you. So far I’m still hitting on the “clean house” and “Monica from Friends” so I may have to veer back that way. And you’ve had some luck at the auction yourself, missy! 😀

    Marilyn–LOL!!! And that’s a great idea with the Susan Boyle–let’s see how it goes. And thanks for the congrats–I’m pretty proud. 🙂

  15. Caryn Caldwell said,

    LOL! Your random phrases cracked me up. Oh, and thanks for the link to the auction. I missed it last year and must make time to go through it this year. After all, it’s for a good cause. Right? Right?

  16. Melina said,

    O.k. so I read this post on my phone before anybody commented, and decided I’d stop by from my real computer to comment.

    I needed a good laugh on this hot, busy day. . .and let’s just say I got more than I asked for. I may still be laughing tomorrow!

    BTW, Yankees rock! Well, so do the Mets. Just wanted to throw something in there.

  17. Katie Reus said,

    Yay for finishing edits!!! That’s always an amazing feeling. And thanks for not rambling about Brangelina. I see enough of them on the ‘news’.

Leave a Reply

