So, a duck walks ino a bar…

May 29, 2009 at 11:46 am (Random Thoughts, Virtual Gems)

 

BROKEN, my work-in-progress, is almost, almost done. I’m getting a few more thoughts from my beta readers, and have been entering the final edits. I’ve got the bones of what I think is a pretty decent query letter and this little baby is about to fly.

Do any of you remember the song “At This Moment” by Billy Vera and the Beaters? How many of you will forever associate it with the moment Alex P. Keaton professed his love to Ellen Reed, and she left anyway?

The next WIP, tentatively titled FALLING AGAIN, is just waiting. It exploded into my head around mid-April, but while I’ve been dealing with life and finishing up BROKEN, I’ve just been letting it ferment. I’ve got characters, names, conflicts, arcs, and what I think is a pretty tortured book. And I’m delighted about that!

If you wish we could clone Nathan Fillion, raise your hand.

My writing space is about 98% finished, thanks to the sewing blitz I had last weekend. (I had very specific curtains in mind, and ended up just having to buy the fabric so I could make them. Yeah, I bought the fabric last April. I think it’s part of what makes me a panster.

Spellcheck makes ‘panster’ into ‘punster’ if you’re not watching.

Thanks to Montana, I’ve been reading Neil Gaiman’s NEVERWHERE. It’s my first Gaiman (I tried Good Omens, and had some trouble with it, so stopped trying Neil for a while.) I’ve really been enjoying this book, but I’m not finished, so no spoilers, please! I think I’ll try his American Gods series later this summer. Has anybody read those?

Speaking of Summer Reading, anybody have any favorites or upcoming books they’re excited about? C’mon, give me your best beach/plane read!

If you wish you were at BEA this weekend, raise your hand.

You people are all fabulous, commenters and lurkers alike. I wish you a happy weekend and fabulous June!

19 Comments

  1. coffeegirl88 said,

    Oooh oooh can we pretty please clone Nathan Fillion? I’d like that very much.

    And yup, I remember the Billy Vera song, surprised it’s not on my iPod. Of course maybe it is, I have too much music not enough in my head memory to remember what I do have. I’ve bought the duplicate cds at least 3 times in the last couple years.

    So, with new story brewing you going to join the SocNoc madness yes?

    Hope you have a good weekend too!

  2. Montana (curtbooks) said,

    Someday soon we will be at BEA. I promise.
    Spellcheck is right… you are a punster.
    I can’t wait to read your latest dark and twisted romance!
    And on a personal note: Chicago is never off the table, especially if the table is from Ikea.

  3. Sandra Ferguson said,

    Glad tiddings for finishing up the current mss. And even more glad tiddings for the fermentation taken place in your head — um, fermentation is better in a glass!

    My sewing machine finally bit the dust. Can’t imaging why? It’s only 50 + years old. But I do feel lonely without it. Don’t use it much, but wanted it available when necessary. I’ll need to check a few estate sales and see if I can’t pickup another one. So few people actually sew these days. Seems like a lost art.

  4. Pamela Cayne said,

    Coffee–as soon as the cloning machine is up, we’re there! And sadly I’m going to have to say no on the SocNoc (though I will be there cheering)–this book is taking me a different route. More to come on that later! 😀

    Montana–Yes to all. (Well, maybe except the punster part. I’m more of a double entendre girl…) 😉

    Sandra–my first sewing machine was my mother’s old Singer, so banged up I had to make a new case/stand for it out of a 2×4. And I can totally relate to the “available when necessary” philosophy, almost as much as the fermentation being better in a glass! 🙂

  5. Heidi Betts said,

    After the week I just had, it is very possible we’re going to have to clone ME! But if we do, I’m definitely going to need a Nathan Fillion (or Dwayne) for each. 😀

    Since I’ve got no plans to be near a beach or plane this summer, I don’t have any particular summer reads in mind. I am working on Gena Showalter’s “Lords of the Underworld” series, tho, & enjoying it very much. It’s giving me all kinds of wicked ideas. 😉

    And I’ll be posting to The Dungeon next week about all of the summer *writing* I’ll be busy with…e-gads!…so there may not be much reading for me, either way. Yeah, yeah, I know…this is what we call a *happy* problem. LOL

  6. Hollie said,

    woo hoo..add another Nathan Fillion for me please!! Oh what the heck..make that 2 of them! ; )
    The books I’ve been telling everyone about are the Erin McCarthy ones…Flat out Sexy and Hard and Fast! Those 2 are really good ones for summer!

  7. Pamela Cayne said,

    Heidi–does cloning you have anything to do with your alien baby? And since you’re fabulous, I trust your recommendation of Gena’s series–off to the bookstore! 🙂

    Hollie–Okay, 2 Nathans for you! While the machine is warming up, I’ll go check out Erin’s series, k? 😉

  8. Robin said,

    Hi, Pam! Love this post! Gena Showalter is one of my all-time favorites! Her Lords of the Underworld series is terrific! Definitely get thee to a bookstore! And happy June to you too! ((hugs))

  9. jenifer said,

    I remember that scene from Family Ties, but oddly, I associate that song with it’s b-side. I had the single, and on the other side was “Peanut, Peanut Butter”. I can’t hear “At This Moment” without thinking of the other. 🙂

    Oh, and, yes, please on the BEA and Nathan Fillion cloning.

  10. Marilyn Brant said,

    I just finished watching the entire 4-disk DVD set of Firefly, so YEAH to the Nathan Fillion cloning. BTW, was that sentence about him part of your plan to lure in curious googlers to your site? If so, I’d be HAPPY to discuss Nathan further, i.e., “Nathan Fillion is naked (in the episode ‘Trash’).” or “I just saw (a scene with) Nathan Fillion in handcuffs!” — helpful, yes?!

    And we could also talk more about Bon Jovi. WHEN am I going to hear about that concert?? You promised, you know…

    Congrats on nearing the end on BROKEN! The little scenelets I’ve gotten to read on jCW have been *wonderful* :-).

  11. Pamela Cayne said,

    Robin–thanks for the additional recommend on Gena’s books. And it’s going to be a great June! 🙂

    Jenifer–why am I not surprised your memory of that scene is a little bit…twisted? 😉 And I’ll add your votes to BEA and Nathan cloning. One of them is winning in a landslide!

    Marilyn–Oh, Firefly. We hardly knew ye. And I hadn’t thought about the lure being Nathan, so I’ll have to check my stats. (I haven’t forgotten Bon Jovi, either, just didn’t want to distract you in your writing! 😀 )

  12. L.A. Mitchell said,

    I had no idea you were all up into the Martha Stewart thing over there. Yeah for you! Glad to see you’re almost finished with the edits. Does that mean I’m buying the first drink because I’m still 100 pages away?

  13. Pamela Cayne said,

    L.A.-if Martha saw these curtains, she’d bitch-slap me back to freshman home ec. But, I like them and they get the job done, so there! And as far as the drink goes, we both deserve big ones, so we’ll find a bar with 2-for-1 coupons, okay? 😉

  14. Lainey Bancroft said,

    ‘K, I’m a total 3 strikes on this one, Pamela.

    1. I don’t sew. But I do think it’s super cool that you do.
    2. I have no idea who Nathan Fillion is. Although if you say he should be cloned…I need to find out.
    3. I am also clueless about BEA. 😦

    Do I score a walk to first base for giving you a three cheers on the ‘thisclose” to done, and for, um, being all over those 2-for-1 drinky coupons? 🙂

  15. Kyle said,

    LOL… Stream-of-consciousness much?!

    Woohoo! to almost being done with your WIP! And good luck with submissions…!

    Total YES on Nathan Fillion! Loved him since Buffy!

    And let me know how the Neil Gaiman book is… you know I’ve been wondering about him myself…!!!

  16. Kyle said,

  17. Karen said,

    *raising my hand for Nathan Fillion*

  18. Pamela Cayne said,

    Lainey–I’m sorry, I couldn’t read anything you wrote after “I have no idea who Nathan Fillion is.” We are going to have to work on that ASAP! 🙂

    Kyle–I’ve since finished Neverwhere and give it two thumbs up! And now that I think about it, Nathan (I can call him that since we’re such close and personal friends…) would be a great lead in that book. (And I love Alan Tudyk too–thanks for the link!) 😀

    Karen–your vote is enthusiastically added, thankyouverymuch! So what’s your favorite Nathan–Buffy, Firefly, Castle or Dr. Horrible? 😉

  19. Caryn Caldwell said,

    Oh, WOW am I behind on commenting on blogs! At any rate, your randomness cracked me up. And, yes, I remember “At this Moment”. Great song. I actually just downloaded it a few weeks ago to make a CD compilation for my mom. Next, your writing space. All I can say is, “Pictures, please, Pam!” (How do you like all those Ps? Nifty, huh?) And, finally, ever listen to audio books? Neil Gaiman reads his own, and he has the BEST voice. *swoon* All deep caramel with this lovely light British accent. Must try!

Leave a Reply

