Such sad news

August 5, 2009 at 4:44 pm (Virtual Gems)

I know I’ve been noticeably absent lately, and I had meant to remedy that with a fun, frothy post about what I’ve been doing, but I can’t.

I just found out Blake Snyder passed away yesterday.

If you’ve been reading here for any length of time, you know how much I adored Blake. He was funny and nice and amazing at his craft and so selfless for sharing it. One of my goals was to get my book picked up this year so I could post it on his blog. I just know he would have cheered.

So say a little prayer for him and those he left behind.  The world was a better place for the time he spent in it. May we all leave such a legacy.

9 Comments

  1. coffeegirl88 said,

    I couldn’t believe it when it came up in my blog reader last night. Just too sad. His blog was a recent find for me but I was quickly becoming very attached.

  2. Montana (curtbooks) said,

    We stumbled into his seminar by accident, and both emerged changed writers. What a wonderful man, may he rest in peace.

  3. Caryn Caldwell said,

    What?!? Oh, my. But he seemed so young and vibrant and full of life. Plus he was brilliant. What happened? Do you know?

  4. alyson noel said,

    Such a genuinely beautiful person. I miss him greatly.

  5. Marilyn Brant said,

    I read Save the Cat a couple of years before his talk at the RWA conference, and it changed the way I thought about novel structure… I was absolutely stunned and saddened by the news when I heard it. Still am.

  6. Caryn Caldwell said,

    Wow. And now John Hughes. Heart attack.

  7. Pamela Cayne said,

    Coffee–if you like his blog, you should check out his Save the Cat books–very, very helpful! (Plus he does some podcasts, but I can’t remember where. If you’re interested, email me and I’ll get you the links.–and the offer stands for anybody!)

    Montana–yup, that was an amazing 2 hours that literally changed us in so many ways.

  8. Pamela Cayne said,

    Caryn–his website only said Cardiac Arrest, and yup, then John Hughes with a heart attack, I believe. I keep wondering who the third is going to be and just dreading it.

    Alyson-I’m glad you got your time with him earlier this year. I do think it’ll be a while before I can listen to his seminars or podcasts without feeling blue.

    Marilyn–I remember talking to you about his beat sheet and how you were using it in your book. I wonder how many of us he’s changed?

  9. L.A. Mitchell said,

    I heard just yesterday, too. So sad. I know his techniques have touched so many writers.

Leave a Reply

