I Suck, Riding a Bicycle, and The New Year

August 19, 2009 at 11:38 am (Random Thoughts, Writing)

 

I hope I sucked you in with that title, because I really mean it now. I suck. I had a wonderful post written, illustrated and just about to be spell-checked, and I hit some key that took it all away. Usually, I write my posts in a separate Word document and then copy them in, but noooo, not this time. This time I tried to take a shortcut. And I suck.

Why else do I suck? For the past 2 months, I’ve all but abandoned this blog and my writing. I have a really good excuse, but like all really good excuses, I can’t tell you what it is. I throw myself on the mercy and forgiveness of my faithful and wonderful blog readers, my blog buddies, and the rest of the blogverse. I will be a new person, blogging, visiting, and writing, and as God is my witness, I will never go silent again!

Riding a bicycle? Have you ever tried to ride a bicycle that had a bad chain, or bad tires, or up a hill? It’s hard to get momentum going and there are painful pink ribbonjerks, slips and falls along the way. Well, that’s obviously the stage I’m at—getting my bicycle going again. It’s not easy, but I’ve got the ultimate carrot. I’m riding my bicycle to Nashville next July and my prize at the finish line is going to be a little pink ribbon.

The New Year? For as long as I can remember, my new year does not begin January 1st, but rather on Labor Day. (And extra points for those of you who ask “You mean back-to-school?”)  No matter how long I’ve been out of school, and no matter how long I’ve been away from a 4-season climate, back-to-school time is the new year for me. I don’t even have to close my eyes to smell that crisp, fall air, I’m just there. Think about it. Back-to-school means a brand, new, fresh start—new clothes, new school supplies, new teachers and classes, new start—guaranteed. How could I not be inspired at a time like this? (And don’t tell Montana, but pretty soon I want go shopping at OfficeMax or Staples. Do I need school supplies? No. Do I so desperately want markers, post-its, notecards and posterboard? Ohdearsweetgodyes. As so wonderfully put by Jenny Crusie: This is where I confess that I’ve gone school shopping every year, whether I’ve had a kid to shop for or not, because, like every writer I know, I have an office/school-supplies jones that just won’t quit and August is the Best Month Ever for pens and papers. Amen, sister. Amen.)

So, in September I’ll be querying BROKEN and starting my next dark historical. There’s going to be some slips and falls along the way, but I’ll get my momentum going and before you know it, I’ll be zooming along the road to Nashville. See you there!

17 Comments

  1. jenifer said,

    Yay for getting back on the bike!

    I have to go to Staples to make copies for a charity I’m involved with. No, really, I do. And it has to be this week. When they’re having back-to-school sales. I know, you pity me.

    And is it just me, or does the tall building in that photo of Nashville look like an opera soprano in a viking-type opera? Kind of like here: http://wwwdelivery.superstock.com/WI/223/1598/PreviewComp/SuperStock_1598R-107010.jpg

  2. Pamela Cayne said,

    Jenifer–dang, you’re right! And somehow, that works for the Nashville skyline. (Let me know what you get suckered for, er buy, at Staples.) 🙂

  3. coffeegirl88 said,

    Glad to see you blogging again. Now I guess I gotta get back to it too huh?

    I love this time of year for the back-to-school stuff. I’ve already come home with notebooks, I mean come on, how am I suppose to resist .25 spiral notebooks. Just like I couldn’t resist the packages of .25 Papermate pens 2 years ago, most of which still haven’t been opened. The running joke around my household is that soon back-to-school sales are going to start the week after the school year ends. I mean, Wal-Mart stocked their shelves mid-July around here and school doesn’t start for another 2 weeks at least.

    I get the bike thing too. I’m slowly trying to get back into writing after just being lazy (no good reasons here). It’s good to have a goal or two to work toward.

  4. Heidi Betts said,

    Boo-hiss, Pam. You’re being way too hard on yourself. You had a good reason for falling off the face of the earth for a while. Heck, all I did was attend 5 lousy days of National & I’m still dragging. Isn’t it funny how minor bumps in the road can throw us so very far off our normal routines? 😛

    So, yes, climb back up on the bike & get moving again, but don’t think you have to go full steam ahead & put a full 10miles in on the very first day. Slow & steady wins the race, remember? (And I got that directly from the Tortoise himself, who is a very close blood relative. ;-))

  5. Pamela Cayne said,

    Okay, Coffee–you and me. We’ll blog and write and tear it up, okay? You’re bringing the pens and paper, and I’ll bring the chocolate. 😉

    Aw, Heidi, as if I didn’t love you (and your fabulous, funny and sexy Loves Me, Loves Me Knot–available on Amazon now) enough. Yeah, I do tend to be hard on myself, but it’s nice to have such a great cheerleader in my corner. Mwah!

  6. Montana (curtbooks) said,

    We had a little talk about this didn’t we young lady? You had to stop writing for reasons FAR out of your control, and you are perfectly on track to start again. Every thing is going to be fine, stop beating yourself up. Your bike just needs a little oil, and I think your friends provided you with quite a few bottles worth.

  7. Sandra said,

    Welcome back from the world of wherever! Right now, I’m out at work and working really hard . . . can’t you tell? Actually, I’m dealing with problem customers. I have a few tweaks to put on my next article then my hubby (who handles all my article publication) will shot it out. I like the article writing because it’s reality based and sometimes I need to escape from the fiction. Let’s face it, fiction is waaaaaay harder ’cause not only do you have to make it up, then it has to make sense!

    Glad to find another schoolers who ready for the fresh start.

    Happy writing on your new venture and may all of your queries find willing editors.

  8. Pamela Cayne said,

    Montana–very true. *gives puppy dog eyes* Maybe going out to dinner this weekend would help, yes? 😉

    Sandra–aw, thanks! It sounds like you have a nice set-up going, but I have one question–fiction is supposed to make sense? That explains a lot… 😀

  9. Marilyn Brant said,

    Dear wonderful Pam~your Staples addiction is perfectly acceptable in Writer World. Here, it would be an odd thing indeed if we didn’t get all glowy and excited about fine-line pen tips and post-it notes and mini journals and…and, oh, leopard-spotted binder clips!! 🙂

    As for getting on the bike again–I have to tell you I was wildly concerned about your state of being when, for a split second, I took your sentence of “riding your bike to Nashville” literally and I imagined you pedaling for 1,000 miles, Montana on a Schwinn alongside of you… Being that this is not the case, my worry has abated. You will have a GREAT year, and I look forward to squealing with delight whenever you cross the pink-ribbon finish line. {hug}

  10. Melissa Blue said,

    There should be a study on authors and the amount of money they spend at stores like Staples and Office Max. Or even hook them up to an EKG to see the heart rate when they walk in or walk by the “clearance” rack. The heart kind of speeds up, the skin flushes when right there, in front of you, are rows of pens and notebooks.

    And, no more beating yourself up. Every writer needs a break. Every writer is human and have things they HAVE to deal with or else. No one is Super anything. Take your time because the market isn’t going any where.

  11. Pamela Cayne said,

    Marilyn–leopard spotted binder clips? *swoon* How could something as fabulous as that not let me have a great year? They’re so…Nashville! 😉

    Melissa–LOVE the thought of the medical tests! And thanks for the pep–I can always count on you to give me the straight scoop! 🙂

  12. coffeegirl88 said,

    Sounds like a plan to me Pam, just make sure you bring some coffee too okay?

    Oh and Melissa I don’t want to know how much I spend on writing “supplies” every year. I’m much happier living in ignorance on that one.

  13. Melissa Blue said,

    Cynthia, I have my moments where I binge at Office Max. Of course I need that huge box of printing paper. And, those pens. Who cares when I do clean out my draws I need three cups to hold all the pens. There is no thing as TOO many post-its. They are not created equal. There are the ones that look like little pieces of paper just with a sticky back. Then you have the old stand-bys. You also have the ones that are shaped in flowers, hearts, anything you can imagine. You need them all. You never know….

    Yes, denial.

    And, Pam, any time. I’m starting to think every writer needs a military person to keep them in line. We are angst-y and irrational at best.

  14. Pamela Cayne said,

    Coffee–I’ll bring coffee for you, tea for me. Or lots and lots of Coke zero!

    Melissa–didn’t you hear? Leopard print binder clips! Squee!!!

  15. Robin said,

    I’m so happy your up and riding again! Welcome back! And I agree, you should take it slow. Sending lots of happy writing thoughts your way and huge wishes for the best of luck with your queries! (Not that you need it.) Take care!

    Oh, and I was just at Staples today! LOVE that place!

  16. Pamela Cayne said,

    Robin–thanks for the happy thoughts. And you must spill, aside from true back-to-school stuff for Killer Lefty and Chick Magnet, did you pick up anything fun for yourself? 🙂

  17. Melissa Blue said,

    Leopard print? No, I did not hear you say that. I will not go and find some. I will not. I will not.

    Who am I kidding?

Leave a Reply

