Marilyn Brant Week, Day 7: According to Jane

September 29, 2009 at 8:04 am (Authors)

 

“Now, it’s a truth universally acknowledged that a young woman in possession of an important date must be in want of a hot outfit.”

atj2Lord, ain’t that the truth? If somebody would have told me Pride and Prejudice could have such far-reaching insight, I probably would have tried to read it long ago. (Or at least much longer ago than last November.)

But, the very astute of you may cry out, that quote is not from Pride and Prejudice! Yes, it certainly sounds like an homage to the first line of that venerable classic, but was certainly not uttered from Saint Jane herself.

Okay, I may be entering heresy here, but I say it was uttered by somebody better—Marilyn Brant. Yes, that same goddess of this past week here at Pam Writes Romance and author of today’s release, According to Jane. I say better because as much as I’ve wanted to love P&P and have tried repeatedly to read it, I never sat down with a copy of it at 6:00 p.m. on a Saturday night and have it finished by 11:00 p.m. the next day.

Like I did with According to Jane.

I’ve never read about a relationship that made me wince in sympathy (I’m trying not to do this with a spoiler, but the scene with Ellie and Andrei in the car on the way back from the wedding? Yeah, if you’ve read it you know what I’m talking about, and if you haven’t, you soon will.) and literally made me want to crawl through the book and hug Ellie because I know what she’s going through.

Like I did with According to Jane.

And I have never been so pleasantly, delightfully surprised by a relationship as I have with Ellie and Sam—from high school English class, to that first awkward and bittersweet post-college meeting, to the last chapter, and everything in between. I couldn’t count on all of my fingers and toes the number of times I raised my eyebrows in surprise or made that little Ooh! sound of surprised delight.

Yes, like I did with According to Jane. 

You don’t have to love Jane Austen to love this book—heck, I think I’ve proven that—nor do you have to worry about anything that’s ever made you hesitant when hearing the term ‘women’s fiction.’ This is a sweet, delightful story, at times an aching reminder of what it’s like to lay your heart on the line, but knowing the risk is worth it. The only thing you’ll have to worry about when picking up a copy of According to Jane is wanting to immediately read it again.

Like I did.

15 Comments

  1. Ann Victor said,

    “According to Jane” sounds like the type of pick-me-up read one needs on a bad day!

  2. Robin said,

    So perfectly put, Pam!! There are very few books that I want to read twice and According to Jane is one them. (That I want to read twice – not sure I said that right.) Dang, I wish I was as eloquent as you. 🙂

  3. Pamela Cayne said,

    Ann–absolutely! A bad day, a good day, a rainy day, a sunny day–pretty much all days! 😉

    Robin–stop, you’re gonna make me blush! Let’s go back to complimenting the amazing Marilyn and see if we can turn her pink, shall we? 🙂

  4. Katie Reus said,

    I can’t believe I haven’t heard about this book! Sounds right up my alley 🙂 This is so on my tbb list now!

  5. Marilyn Brant said,

    Pam, my dear, you did NOT succeed in making me blush (it’s somehow against the nature of my olive complexion–thank GOD!), but you did make me cry, which is far, far worse. Sniff. Like I need help looking *more* of a mess today than I do already…

    But, in case this is not blatantly obvious to anyone reading, you are such a treasured friend, and there’s no way I can express how much I appreciate you.

    Ann, Robin and Katie~thanks so much to all of you for being celebrating with me today, too!!

  6. Pamela Cayne said,

    Katie–you won’t be sorry! It’s perfect for a beach read. 🙂

    Marilyn–lucky you! With my fish belly pale complexion, I blush at anything! 😉

  7. jenifer said,

    I seriously want to read this book! So why does the Borders website say that it releases Thursday instead of today? Do books even release on Thursdays? I’m tempted to go look for it on the way home despite their website. Actually, it’s kind of on the way, so yep, headed to Borders after work. 🙂

  8. Marilyn Brant said,

    Jenifer, the on-shelf date is today, the ‘official’ date is Oct.1st since the book is technically an October release from Kensington. I have no idea why they do this, though, because the dual dates have done nothing but make me crazy for a year. Then again, I *may* have had a touch of crazy before… 😉

  9. Pamela Cayne said,

    Jenifer-let us know if you find it! A little birdie told me Borders may have a Austen display near the front of the store and what book would be perfect for that, hmm? 🙂

    Marilyn–you’re published now, honey. You’re no longer crazy, you’re creative. 😉

  10. Melissa Blue said,

    Your enthusiasm is contagious. I so want to read this book–unlike P & P, which I would rather choose to watch paint drying–grammar insists I’m supposed to have something after the em-dash…

    Anyway, can’t wait to see what you have up tomorrow. Loved the interview.

  11. Pamela Cayne said,

    Melissa–thanks! Marilyn’s giving out a bunch of copies on her blog tour–check out her blog for where she’s appearing! 🙂

  12. Marilyn Brant said,

    LOL, Pam!! Repeating to self in fast, high-pitched mutterings, “I’m not crazy, NOT crazy, just creative…Pam said so…” 🙂

    Melissa–I have family members who feel *exactly* the way you do about P&P! I can *hope* you won’t feel that way about Jane but, if you DID think the experience was rather like watching student art projects being run through a laminator, I wouldn’t hold it against you. Not forever. *grin*

  13. Susan L said,

    Marilyn I love all the compliments both your readers & reviewers have posted. I have been compiling a list of books for my baby (16) for Christmas to help her in her quest to become a “lady”.

  14. Marilyn Brant said,

    Thanks, Susan! Your daughter is so fortunate to have you helping her become a lady. I wish you both well!! 🙂

  15. Pamela Cayne said,

    Susan–what a lovely Christmas present! And thanks for visiting during Marilyn’s special week! 🙂

Leave a Reply

