Feel Good Five on Friday

October 9, 2009 at 9:10 am (Five on Friday, Virtual Gems)

 

Hello! So wow–how was that Marilyn Brant Week? Pretty amazing, I know. It was such a party that I’ve spent the last week recovering from it, that’s how amazing it was. I think it’ll go down in the books as legen….wait for it…dary.

So, in honor of Marilyn’s awesome book (According to Jane, available at Amazon and major bookstores everywhere) and Friday and everything else that’s good, it’s going to be a Feel Good Five on Friday around here, so kick back, get ready to smile, and enjoy.

Feel Good News: That same According to Jane is #2 on Amazon’s Contemporary Romance list. If that doesn’t get you smiling today, nothing will! Congratulations, Marilyn!!!

Feel Good Read II: “The Bear Went Over the Mountain” by William Kotzwinkle. You may know him as the author of the Walter the Farting Dog books, or even as the writer who novelized the movie E.T., but thanks solely to Montana, I’ve discovered this absolute gem of a book. Here’s a brief description as posted on Amazon: In Kotzwinkle’s merry send-up, the author of the hit novel “Desire and Destiny” is a bear, a real bear, who after finding the manuscript under a spruce tree and attaching his nom de plume, Hal Jam, becomes rich and famous overnight. Obtuse editors, star-hound agents, and a right-wing televangelist and Presidential candidate all warm to Hal’s warm, bearish honesty without bothering to read his book–or to notice that he’s an animal, for that matter.  I started this last night and almost didn’t put it down. It’s simply delightful, and possibly more so to those of us trying to write our own hit novels. Sadly, it’s out of print, but you’ll be doing yourself a huge favor if you find it online or at a local used bookstore.

Feel Good TV Show: Really, was it any wonder I was going to pick “Glee” for this? If you haven’t watched it yet, please get over to Fox.com or Hulu.com and watch it. Watch an episode, watch one of their awesome videos, watch anything with Jane Lynch. If it doesn’t get you laughing or singing, check your pulse.

Feel Good News Story: You’ve probably already heard about this–it was everywhere this week (including my post on Facebook), but I find it simply too delightful not to post again. Two drunken idiots in Wales were picking on people on the street when they decided to pick on some cross-dressers. Only they weren’t cross-dressers–they were cage fighters on a night out in “fancy dress.” They started to pick on these supposed trannies, and one of the fighters came up behind the idiots and dropped them with one punch each. It’s just karma in its rawest, most sparkly form, and it’s beautiful. Read the story and see the clip here.

Feel Good Movie Clip: I was introduced to Baz Luhrmann (writer of Romeo + Juliet, Moulin Rouge, and Austrailia) many, many years ago when I saw Ballroom Dancing. Well, the talented Mr. Luhrmann was on Dancing with the Stars a few weeks ago as a guest judge, leading the amazing Barbara Ferrer to write about it on her blog. She also posted the end scene from Ballroom Dancing, and I’m posting it here as my final Feel Good of the day. You don’t need to know anything about it–just watch it, and if you don’t get choked up at the 4:00 minute mark (followed by more around 5:40) with all of the pulsing, optomistic, triumph over anything feel goodness, then I just don’t know.  

Have a great, feel good weekend, everybody.

6 Comments

  1. jenifer said,

    Just requested your Feel Good Read II from the library. It sounds ridiculously wonderful. 🙂

    And I hadn’t heard anything about the Feel Good News Story, so thank you very much!

  2. Marilyn Brant said,

    Pam, thanks for including me in your “feel good” post…you made me feel great. 🙂

    I think that Bear story you mentioned sounds fabulous and will devote some of the upcoming week to finding it!! Thanks for the rec.

    And I had no idea you were a Strictly Ballroom fan–I *loved* that film, and this scene is the best!! And now I”m going to watch it again. Just because!

    Hope you and Montana have a fabulous weekend.
    xo

  3. Pamela Cayne said,

    Jenifer–glad I could pass along some feel goodedness. Let me know how you enjoy the book! 🙂

    Marilyn–Yeah, I’m a sucker for any singing or dancing film, bonus points if it’s Australian. And so far, the weekend is fabulous, so thanks! 😀

  4. Kim said,

    I am so totally with you on Glee. It takes me back to my high school show choir days, not that we were anywhere near that good. Rachel totally reminds me of this girl who is now a Facebook friend of mine. She is now a high school teacher herself, and she frequently comments in her status about the show and how she can totally relate to the TEACHER. I keep want to say, “But Keri, what about Rachel? Because that was totally what you were like!”

    Did I use the word “totally” enough in my comment. No? Okay … Totally, totally, totally, totally!

    Great post, as usual! Muah!

  5. Robin said,

    Thanks for the feel good five *today!* I’m smiling and thinking I may have to try and catch Glee on TV tonight.

  6. Pamela Cayne said,

    Kim–I wasn’t in show choir, but every type of band, so essentially kissing cousins. Er, sorry–I mean totally kissing cousins! 😉

    Robin–oh, you should watch it. It’s such a fun, lovely, singtastic show! Or at least catch it on hulu.com when you get a free minute (hah!) 😀

Leave a Reply

