Yup, it's official. I'm crazy.

October 20, 2009 at 9:34 am (Random Thoughts, Virtual Gems, Writing)

 

So I’m sitting and thinking yesterday, and for the love of mergatron, I cannot how remember how I stumbled on this path, but I did.

I had an idea for a story.

Now, this isn’t new to me. I get these quite frequently and duly write them down on little scraps of paper, slip them in my “Ideas” file, and let those little suckers germinate until they sprout up and grow. But this idea I had yesterday started rolling downhill like a boulder pushed from Mount St. Helens and it gathered momentum, tumbling down until it crashed at the bottom into an explosion of rocks and gravel and crazy wild-idea shrapnel.

I quickly wrote down the jist of it, just so I could tell Montana about this fun idea I had, and those few paragraphs just flowed. Like lava. (Guess I’m going with the volcano metaphor.) I called Montana and read it to him, and as soon as I finished and heard it out loud for the first time, I got chills.

So, cutting out the parts about how brilliant I am and making this long story short, I’m skipping to the end of Montana telling me to start writing this story NOW and me getting the first 1000 words written last night.

Now, I’m not telling you this to milk you for applause or polite appreciation of the enormity of my Corpus Callosum, but to tell you I’m temporarily abandoning you. I want to give this book a try, and my goal is to have it done by Christmas, so in a NaNoWriMo like run, I’m going to be focused on this fun, fun book for the next 2 months. I’ll still come by and post updates and things, but they might not be quite what I’ve had before, nor will I be blog-hopping as much. I will be posting on Facebook and Twitter so please come say hi, but for now I’ll simply say…

never_give_up_never_surrender[1]

8 Comments

  1. coffeegirl88 said,

    Yay for the new idea!!!!

    But I got a question, was it ever in doubt that you are crazy? I mean come on, we writer’s, crazy is a given.

  2. Marilyn Brant said,

    Your kind of “crazy” is an awesome gift, Pamela dear! Congrats on this new and wondrous idea…and may the rest of the book flow like lava for you, too!!! 🙂

  3. Karen said,

    NaNo!?! Are you signing up for NaNo????

  4. Montana (curtbooks) said,

    This one’s going to be special…

  5. Pamala Knight said,

    Congrats on the big story! Let it flow and know that we’ll be skulking around waiting for you after you’ve transferred the brilliance from your brain and onto paper. Good luck!

  6. Caryn Caldwell said,

    Oh, I LOVE when that happens! Congratulations on hitting on such a fabulous idea, and best of luck with it.

    By the way, I know exactly where that photo was taken. It’s a really cool place.

    Happy writing!

  7. Robin said,

    What great news! Happy, happy writing!

  8. L.A. MItchell said,

    Those chill-bumps are like a geiger-counter that you’re on the right path. Go with it, girl and we’ll see you on the other side. And if you can forgive me for ignoring you for the past two weeks, I can.

    All the best…write on!!

Leave a Reply

