Five on Friday: The Nutsy Fun Edition

October 30, 2009 at 8:15 am (Five on Friday, Virtual Gems)

1. I entered the Golden Heart yesterday. (Woot!) Right now, that means I submitted my entry form along with the fee. I have yet to send the submissions to the mothership (a.k.a. RWA National offices in Texas), but since I just queried BROKEN this fall, I’m confident that it’s ready to go.

2. People are still finding my blog by searching ‘WTF’– I mean they’re doing this a lot. Guess my theory of random words (Michael Jackson, Phillies, Halloween costumes for cheap) doesn’t really work as well as abbreviated swears.

3. Montana and I are attending a wedding tomorrow (yes, that’s Halloween) where the bride and groom asked people to dress up. I mean they printed “Costumes are encouraged” on the invitationย  between “at 5:00 in the evening” and “Reception to follow.” I think that is a bold bride. Of course, my first idea was to break out my wedding dress and my costume would be a bride, but remembering how stressed out I was before my wedding, I’m going to take mercy on this bride and just dress nicely. And, of course, I have the boots. (There is a bit of a western theme…)

4. NaNoWriMo starts Sunday. I’m building this into my writing plans, but more for support than word count. Writing challenges make me twitchy, but I love the camaraderie.

5. And, since this is the Nutsy Fun edition, I’m going to end by saying have a Happy and Safe Halloween! Enjoy these amazing (and sometimes twisted) jack-0-lanterns as my treat to you!

ย 

pumpkin_calvin

And, just so you know it’s still me…

12 Comments

  1. Karen said,

    I LOVE the Calvin pumpkin! Next year, for our Halloween party, this display is my goal!

    And ditto on the NaNo this year. Sometimes, I just have to slow down and think. This year, I refuse to let the pressure keep me writing if a scene doesn’t seem right. But the community is awesome! *drink*

  2. Maisey said,

    Wow, congrats on entering the Golden Heart. That’s a pretty big deal! I hope all goes well for you in the comp.

    Love the sadistic evil pumpkin. That’s my kinda punkin.

    Maisey

  3. Caryn Caldwell said,

    Good luck with the Golden Heart! Broken is terrific, and I’m sure it will do very well. As for pumpkins, I LOVE the creativity and carving skill some people have. It’s astounding. Did you know they made an entire book filled with cool pumpkins like that?

  4. Pamela Cayne said,

    Karen–yeah, there were a lot of photos of cannibalistic pumpkins. I don’t know why there are so many, but I adore them! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Maisey! I knew there was a reason we were both dungeon dwellers–we both like things dark and twisty! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Caryn–thanks for the support! And there’s just something about artistically playing with your food that I love. ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. Montana (curtbooks) said,

    I’m glad you’re not wearing your bridal dress, I don’t think I can still fit into my caterer costume.

  6. Pamela Cayne said,

    Montana–you do make a smokin’ caterer. What woman could resist a man in uniform carrying a tray of mini-quiches? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. Marilyn Brant said,

    YAYYY on the GH entry!!! And WTF happened in that evil snowman/pumpkin’s yard? (Just trying to help you out with the profanity thing. ๐Ÿ™‚ ) Looking forward to hearing more about the wedding–it sounds like a really fun idea!
    p.s. Those jack-o-lanterns were unbelievably cool. Ours…did not look like them.

  8. Katie Reus said,

    Those pumpkins are awesome! Hope you had fun at the wedding and I hope you’ll give us an update on how it went. A Halloween wedding is so cool! ๐Ÿ™‚ p.s. Congrats on entering the Golden Heart ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Robin said,

    Yay on entering the Golden Heart! My fingers are crossed for you! I hope you guys had a good time at the wedding – was anyone’s costume really fun?

  10. L.A. Mitchell said,

    I sent mine off to the mothership yesterday ๐Ÿ™‚ Wanna final with me so we can dress fabulous and finally meet? I wish you all the best luck in the world, girl.

  11. Sandra Ferguson said,

    Some people are so talented. Great pics. Since you haven’t been back from Halloween, here’s hoping you survive the wedding and that you’re simply writing like mad.

    I’ll drink to your page count — no, really, no need to thank me. It will be my pleasure. None for you, now. You’re writing, remember?

  12. Pamela Cayne said,

    Marilyn, Katie, Robin, L.A., and Sandra–mwah! You are all fabulous and I’m sorry it’s taken me so long to respond. Thanks for the well wishes on the GH and your general wonderfulness in continuing to visit even when I’m a bit silent. ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

