Goodreading in the USA

November 9, 2009 at 10:52 am (Events, Random Thoughts, Virtual Gems)

 

So in between some of my writing sprints recently (10,454 words to date), I finally signed up for a Goodreads account. I weighed the differences between Goodreads and Shelfari, asked some trusted friends, and came up with a winner. I’m still a little unsure of adding yet another networking/social e-site to my list, but I said that about Twitter, and now I’m having a ball tweeting, so I know better than to never say meh. However, it wouldn’t be me if I accepted the rules as stated, so let me tell you how I’m using Goodreads:

  • If it goes on my account, it gets 5 stars. I was a little squeamish about giving average or poor ratings to the books I’d read (or not finished), but as I thought about it, this person wrote a book and got it published. That alone gives it a 5 stars in my eyes.
  • I’m taking this slow. I had the choice of either going through my library and listing every freaking book in there, or doing this on a book by book basis from this point on. I mean, a little over a week ago when I was fighting this awful cold, I re-read Fearless Fourteen and Finger Lickin’ Fifteen in the Stephanie Plum series (by Janet Evanovich, but you knew that), so I added them to my virtual bookshelf. So then I had the choice of entering all of the Stephanie Plum series, or doing it as I re-read them. Ditto Laurell K. Hamilton. Ditto Jim Butcher. Ditto the rest of my favorite authors. So, books don’t get entered until I’ve read 0r re-read them as of the last week in October or so. (Unless I’m bored and start entering books like crazy. Like I said, I don’t do rules well, even my own.)
  • I don’t have this account linked to anything yet (another reason I chose Goodreads–it links to your Facebook account), but will soon. As mentioned above, I’m taking this slow. And since nobody has busted down my virtual door screaming to be linked to my Goodreads account, I figure I have a little leeway. Once I get it up and going, you wonderful people will be the second to know. (Let’s face it–if it’s a one-button push to add to my Facebook page, I’ll do that first. In addition to not doing rules, I’m also lazy.)

Great Hera! I just discovered Goodreads is cool enough to have comic books/graphic novels. Why didn’t somebody tell me that weeks ago?

Now I can really get my geek read on!

11 Comments

  1. Robin said,

    Happy reading, Pam! And YAY on the word count!! Woohoo! I recently signed up on Goodreads too, but haven’t given much time to figuring it out yet. Once you get rolling, will you please pull me along with you? 🙂

  2. Lainey Bancroft said,

    Yay on the word count, Pamela! Go you.

    I’m on Goodreads but have no rhyme or reason (or rules 😉 to the way I list. I know I have piles and piles of good reads I haven’t mentioned yet, though.

    (and, um, the GR account links to FB? Sigh, must get my geek on and figure these things out…or maybe I’ll hitch hike along behind Robin when you pull her along) 🙂

  3. Caryn Caldwell said,

    Yay! Glad to see that you’re on Goodreads. I love my Goodreads. I just sent both you and Robin friendship requests so we can compare books.

    Also, mega congrats on the impressive word count! You’ve been a busy woman!

  4. Marilyn Brant said,

    I’m so totally impressed with your word count, Pam!! OMG–I’ve written, maybe, half that this month–so way to go! I’m also on Goodreads, so I’ll find you and force you to be my friend. 🙂 I’m a dunce when it comes to all this “linking” stuff, though–and I have no idea how to link FB with GR. Apparently, you can link Twitter to FB, but I haven’t succeeded in doing that either…
    Have a wonderful and productive week!!

  5. L.A. Mitchell said,

    Word count dance! You’re doing great, Pam. You need a Tweet-moratorium so you can double that, right? 😉

  6. Pamela Cayne said,

    Robin–we’ll learn toghter, okay? 🙂

    Lainey–I’m glad you’ll be joining us. We’ll form a group called the noob bookers. 😉

    Caryn–thanks for the friending. It was nice seeing that on my page. 🙂

  7. Pamela Cayne said,

    Marilyn–yeah, but published trumps big word count every time! And feel free to join the noob bookers! 😀

    L.A.–I think if I doubled that my head would explode. This is the most I’ve ever written without crashing! (Keeping fingers crossed!) 🙂

  8. Heidi Betts said,

    Oooh, I’m on Goodreads. Friend me! (And if you used to watch SNL, picture Cheri Oteri’s little cheerleader hop when she tells her friend to “Call me!” :D)

    I tend to add all the books I’m reading, have read, & want to read, but only rate the ones I LUUURVED with 5 stars. Even if others might have been really good & even Keepers, I’m just not getting into rating them all or justifying why I’m rating something 4 stars instead of 5, even tho the authors is a friend of mine. It’s just my policy, & I’m sticking to it. 😉 Same goes for Shelfari.

  9. Pamela Cayne said,

    Heidi–I’m heading over to friend you now. (But does that make me Will Ferrell?!?) 😉

  10. Sandra Ferguson said,

    I miss comic books. They were such a part of my life. Paper dolls, too. I’ll bet it’s impossible to even find paper dolls anymore. Simple . . . yep, works for me.

  11. Pamela Cayne said,

    Sandra–I’ve seen paper dolls at one of our indy bookstores. Next time I’m there, I’ll check the publisher and let you know. (I like looking at them because they have such pretty clothes. *sigh*)

Leave a Reply

