I haz a song

November 16, 2009 at 8:51 am (Virtual Gems, Writing)

I have several songs, actually–the luck of music being such a large part of my life and DNA. These songs mean something to me and resonate in such a way they could bring me to tears. But this particular song I wanted to share with you at this time. I discovered about 2 weeks ago on the (wonderful!) Glee soundtrack and have since worn out my iPod listening to it. It’s called Defying Gravity, and here is the Glee version:

I love the lyrics, I love the Rachel and Kurt duet, I love the music and the harmonies–I just fell head-over-heels in love with this song. How could I, as a writer, not fell something that basically said “I’m not following your rules, I’m making my own.” Sheer bliss.

And after the first few times I’d listened to it, I found out it was originally from the musical Wicked. So, one visit to YouTube later and I found this:

Yes, I love it. Not quite as much as the Glee version, but boy-oh-boy it’s up there. Plus, it’s got Kristin Chenoweth in it, and I’m becoming more and more of a fangirl of hers. In the spirit of fairness (certainly not indecisiveness!), I decided to share them both. I hope you enjoy them and they get your week off to a kick-ass start.

Like the song says, Everyone deserves the chance to fly.

14 Comments

  1. coffeegirl88 said,

    I LOVE this song, I’m not sure which I like better the Wicked version or Ida Menzel’s pop version. This is just such a wonderful motivation song and it’s no wonder it’s in the top 25 most played on my iPod.

    Oh! and if you want to get chills listening to this song, then search YouTube for the “Serenity” version of this. Even Joss Whedon was impressed.

  2. jenifer said,

    Another major fan of this song here. And since it seems you haven’t seen Wicked, may I highly recommend it? I’ve seen it, I think, three times. It’s gotten better each time. And has a fabulous soundtrack. 🙂

  3. Melina said,

    This post made my day! I’m a huge fan of Glee, and last week’s episode was the first time I’d ever heard Defying Gravity.

    And now I want to see Wicked! 🙂

  4. Marilyn Brant said,

    Wonderful song, Pam, and a great set of lyrics, too… Thanks for posting this. I saw “Wicked” a couple of years ago in Chicago, and hearing this again reminded me of just how much I’d love this one.
    🙂

  5. Pamela Cayne said,

    Coffee–glad to find another fan. And I’ll have to look for the Serenity version–thanks for the hint!

    Jenifer–I wasn’t able to get into the book, so was reluctant about the show. Now, I find myself very intrigued, especially with your recommendation!

  6. Pamela Cayne said,

    Melina–glad I made you smile! Did you love Kurt’s/Chris’ singing as much as I did? 🙂

    Marilyn–another Wicked fan! And I’m glad I was able to bring back good memories. It’s such a wonderful song.

  7. jenifer said,

    I thought the book was okay, but the musical is pretty different. It follows some of the basic storyline but leaves out a LOT of the darker plot points. What trouble there is is countered by bits of humor, making the whole thing really enjoyable.

  8. Robin said,

    Thanks for sharing these, Pam! I enjoyed both and will be thinking about the lyrics all day!

  9. Melina said,

    OMG of course I loved it! Can’t wait for tomorrow’s episode!

  10. Pamela Cayne said,

    Jenifer–well poopie. I just missed it here (but the good news is I’m going to see Phantom of the Opera Thursday night.) Broadway is Broadway, right? 😉

    Robin–glad you liked them. If you can think about them without belting out the tune, let me know how you managed! 😀

    Melina–hooray! More fellow Gleeks! (So are we Gliffers?) 🙂

  11. jenifer said,

    If you can’t see Wicked, Phantom is definitely a wonderful substitute. Love that one as well! 🙂

  12. Montana (curtbooks) said,

    Twenty four hour countdown to Phantoms-yo. P.S. I love your songs.

  13. Pamela Cayne said,

    Jenifer-yeah, I’m a sucker for the musicals.

    Montana–aw, thanks. You’ve heard me singing them enough. 😉

  14. L.A. MItchell said,

    Hey Pam!!

    While I only watched Glee’s pilot episode, I can understand how it could quickly become a DVR fave.

    Hugs 🙂

Leave a Reply

