2010: The Year of the Yawp

January 5, 2010 at 8:35 am (Virtual Gems)

Take a deep breath. Smell that? That, my friends, is a new year. Many, many things are scheduled for these new and lovely months and I’d like to celebrate just a few of them. Let’s review, shall we?

  • The Winter Olympics in Vancouver
  • Awards shows (the Golden Globes, the Oscars)
  • The release of Apple’s delicious and mysterious iPad
  • RWA’s 30th anniversary, including the national convention in Nashville

And, let us not forget the most basic, the most beguiling of a new year—a new beginning. New Year is second to me under the ‘Fresh Start’ category (the first, being of course, Labor Day/Back to School) so it is a time to look ahead with clear fresh eyes and see how far that horizon goes.

This year? 2010? The horizon is endless, my friends. I am feeling the potential of this year like Armstrong and Aldrin about to walk on the moon. I am looking ahead and seeing events that are going to inspire me, people who are going to encourage me, stories that are going to delight me, and opportunities that are going to amaze me.

In the words of Walt Whitman, “I sound my barbaric yawp over the roofs of the world.”

Take a deep breath, friends. It’s time to yawp.

9 Comments

  1. Montana (curtbooks) said,

    This is YOUR year to walk on the moon!

  2. Karen said,

    We are in countdown here to Apple’s announcement on the 27th.

  3. Robin said,

    Yawp! Wishing you the very best in 2010, Pam!! (And I agree with Montana.)

  4. Pamela Cayne said,

    Montana–thanks. I won’t be walking alone, though. 🙂

    Karen–I’m getting excited with some of the current press. Squee! 😀

    Robin–Who’s the repeated contest finalist? Who’s getting her manuscript requested from editors? Who’s going to totally kick it this year, too? 😉

  5. Marilyn Brant said,

    Welcome to 2010, Pamela!!! Love that “scent of a new year” and all the optimism swirling along with it! Cannot wait to hear about all the wonderous and exciting things that are bound to happen for you, Montana and this awesome gang of bloggers. 🙂

  6. Jennifer said,

    I’ll throw my yawp into the chorus for a fabulous 2010! Wishing you the best of all the inspiration and success!

  7. Pamela Cayne said,

    Marilyn–and let’s not forget about the highly anticipated FRIDAYS AT NINE coming in October, either. That’s certainly something to look forward to! 😀

    Jennifer–hooray, more yawpers! And thanks for the well-wishes. May they come back to you tenfold. 🙂

  8. Melissa Blue said,

    I also love the idea of having a fresh start. Yet the thing I’m starting to appreciate all the lessons I learned the year before and putting them to good use.

  9. L.A. Mitchell said,

    Hoping many wonderful things come your way this year, Pam 🙂 AND that we finally meet {{{hugs}}}

Leave a Reply

