MySpace or WhySpace?

January 13, 2010 at 10:54 am (Random Thoughts)

 

So, I’ve been struggling with MySpace for a while, and since no answers have hit my brain, thought I’d turn to you wonderful people for some insight.

In a nutshell, MySpace–Dead or Alive? (You spin me right round baby, right round, like a record baby…sorry. 80’s flashback.)

I find months go by that I’m not on (being sucked into Twitter and Facebook instead), but when I do log on, I see people have checked out my page (or the blog, at least.) I also see a lot of friends still on there, so either it works for them or they just enjoy being on there.

So here’s where I need your help–please vote on the poll (great for you lurkers!) or post a comment below on your thoughts and opinions on MySpace. I’m just curious to hear what other people think about this once mighty site. 

13 Comments

  1. Karen said,

    Never cared for it. It just seemed too weird…

  2. coffeegirl88 said,

    Okay I voted circling the drain only because it the best match. I think MySpace will stay around but it suffers at least with me from a lack of interaction. I like the interaction, direct interaction, I get from Twitter (when I remember to post there) and Facebook.

    I only log into my account, maybe once a month, just to keep up the appearance but I’m not at the point of letting it go. So I guess in some respects I’m just cyber-squatting there keeping control of the page with my name so I can keep my name there. Make sense?

  3. Marilyn Brant said,

    I don’t have a MySpace page, but it seems that fewer and fewer people are using it now. I’ve heard even Facebook isn’t able to keep as many active users with Twitter out there. Trying to manage those few available hours for social networking is hard–there’s not enough minutes in the day for everything, and I know I’m tempted to cut back on any site that seems to be just a time drain. I, of course, will visit you online wherever you are, but I’ll start first with your blog. 🙂

  4. Pamela Cayne said,

    Karen–yeah, I just don’t think it was ever that good of a fit. (For those of us over 17, that is.)

    Coffee–you bring up a good point about interaction. I think that really hits the nail on the head. And you’re ahead of me logging in once a month!

    Marilyn–Yup. Time drain. With Twitter and Facebook and friend blogs and writing blogs and forums and everything else, it has to have a pretty strong presence to make the list, and I just don’t think it does. (And thanks for always visiting! mwah!)

  5. jenifer said,

    I’ve heard from a number of people that MySpace is great for musicians, because it gives them easy ways to get their music out there. I don’t know anyone else who uses it regularly. I tried eons ago, but I just didn’t get it. Then I tried facebook and it made sense right away, so I never looked at MySpace again.

  6. _Mac_ said,

    Dead. (thx for the flashback, Grrr.)

  7. L.A. Mitchell said,

    I think Marilyn is right. In the future, Twitter will become what blogging is now. It will have changed our social networking landscape enough that it won’t go away. The others will probably fall by the wayside.

    Of course, if I was any good at predicting things I would have been a pick 6 millionaire by now 😉

  8. Pamela Cayne said,

    Jenifer–You bring up a good point, in that I have found a few good bands via MySpace, but that’s it. I don’t think I’ve ever really found anybody else worth finding there. 😉

    Mac–I got you to comment on my blog!!! (And that just means I’m going to be singing 80s songs *forever* now!) 😀

    L.A.–I do have to chuckle as you are an awesome blogger, but your Twittering skills? Eh. I do like the 140 character limit, but I love some of Facebook’s features, too. Overall, with those two and my blog, I’m happy. (And who needs to predict things when you can time travel, right?) 😉

  9. _Mac_ said,

    Anotherone bites the dust, anothereone bites the dust. And anotherone’s gone, anotherone’s gone, anotherone bites the dust. (hey)

  10. Lainey Bancroft said,

    Like coffeegirl88, I’m just sort of taking up space on MySpace. When I think of it, I cross post my blogs there. I do get a fair amount of readers, seldom any comments tho.

    For the most part, any interaction I get on MySpace is, ahem, propositions from young men in far off countries. 😮

    With the time crunch, I like the instant gratification of lots of updates on a single page on facebook. (pleasedon’tmakemetwitter, pleasedon’tmakemetwitter)

  11. Pamela Cayne said,

    Mac–You’re going to make me sing the rubber tree ant song again, aren’t you?

    Lainey–I’m with you. I see people checking out my blog over there, but no comments. If a blog is read in the forest with no comments, does it reach anybody? (har.) And it’s okay–you don’t have to Twitter. Your Facebook is enough for me. 🙂

  12. Robin said,

    I can’t really comment because I don’t have a MySpace page and have never even checked it out. I’ve sort of gone kicking and screaming into this Internet world – mostly because I just can’t keep up. (And okay, I’m not the most savvy at all this computer stuff – for example I’ve got a darn farm on Facebook and lots of people have sent me stuff, but I don’t know what to do with it!) Oh well, one day this late bloomer will catch up. 🙂

    Sorry – did I go a little off topic? – it does seem like MySpace isn’t what is used to be and probably falls far behind Facebook and Twitter. Does that help? 😉

  13. Pamela Cayne said,

    Robin–Aren’t Chick Magnet and Killer Lefty your computer gurus? I thought kids came out of the womb with a mouse in one hand and a flash drive in the other nowdays! And yes, you visiting and posting *always* helps! 🙂

Leave a Reply

