Tuesday Ten: Awesome writing things

February 9, 2010 at 9:37 am (Tuesday Ten)

 

The idea for this post grew out of one discovery this weekend, so 10 truly awesome writing things may be a stretch (especially on only one cup of tea), but for you, my wonderful and amazing blog readers, I am going to give it one heck of a rah-rah try! So let’s get started!

1. Are you like me and have been looking for music to write to, but tunes without words? Try Vitamin String Quartet. I’ve had their String Quartet Tribute to Pixies for years, but didn’t know this was the same group until I was looking up another song this weekend. Check out their YouTube channel. I am just quivering with all of this new music!

2. Need something to jar you loose, goose your muse? Try StumbleUpon–it’s not a deep dark time-suck, it’s a tasty buffet for the creative neighborhoods of your brain! (And don’t blame me if you get pulled under–blame L.A. Mitchell, because she’s the one who infected me!)

3. Speaking of L.A., visit a group blog she’s associated with, the Ruby-Slippered Sisterhood.  This is an amazing group of writers who have one thing in common–they were all finalists in the 2009 Golden Heart competition. They run a blog that I think could benefit anybody who writes–fabulous lessons, Q&As, tips and tricks–you name it, it’s there.

4. Twitter. No, I’m serious here. Get thee over to Twitter and follow or bookmark authors, agents, editors, organizations, groups and more. I have learned more about the publishing world in those 140 little characters than I have in days of blog-surfing. The recent kerfluffle with Amazon and MacMillan? All I needed to know I could find through my Twitter feeds. Start with Publishers Weekly and Writers Digest

5. Check out this great post from legend Teresa Medeiros. I’m especially fond of #5.

6. You know of my love for Blake Snyder and his Save the Cat method of screenwriting. Even though Blake is gone, his site lives on, and somebody over there recently did a beat sheet for Inglourious Basterds. As much as I love Blake, I love Quentin Tarantino, so this was amazing to me. (There’s also beat sheets for Avatar, Precious, and The Hurt Locker, and it looks like more to come–check them out!)

I’m starting to feel like this now:

Okay, onward and upward!

7. Speaking of awesome writing sites/blogs, get thee over to J.A. Konrath’s site. Not only is his blog amazing, but his whole site is. Do yourself a favor and spend some time there exploring what he’s offering. It is a-maze-ing!

8. One cool site I picked up from J.A.’s blog was Genrefinity. Now, I have to admit I don’t visit the site that much, but I do subscribe to their podcasts. They discuss primarily sci-fi, fantasy and horror so where I’m not looking to them to provide me with the newest and greatest in historical romance, I do love listening to their reviews on tv shows and movies.

9. Go to google and search for whatever town/city you prefer along with ‘book festival’ and then go to it! (Usually they’re free.) I adore book festivals and they are excellent chances to meet authors–anywhere from NYT bestsellers to debut authors excited to talk to a potential reader. Go listen to the presentations, get your books signed. I have discovered more great reads this way and every author has been so nice!

10. And how could I not have a little funny for #10?

8 Comments

  1. Marilyn Brant said,

    Okay, I laughed out loud at that Calvin and Hobbes cartoon — ha!!! Thanks for that, Pam, and for all the great links. Looking forward to hearing from you later this week. 🙂

  2. Anne said,

    Thanks, Pam, for the Beat Sheet shout out! We are uploading another today!

    We love providing them – and we love hearing how others view them – or see their own!

  3. Pamela Cayne said,

    Marilyn–it’s hard to beat any Calvin and Hobbes cartoon, much less a writing one! And I’m looking forward to emailing you later this week! 😀

    Anne–OMG fan girl squee moment! Somebody from Save the Cat is commenting on my blog? (You should check out Marilyn above–she’s a beat sheet whiz!) So glad you stopped by!!! 🙂

  4. L.A. Mitchell said,

    This one came up on my Google Alerts ! 🙂 Gotta love those. Thanks so much for the shout-out, Pam. The Ruby Sisters *are* pretty special. Can’t wait to check out the rest of your list.

  5. Montana (curtbooks) said,

    Awesome lists, Pam. The Calvin and Hobbes cartoon reminded me of how much I missed that strip. Maybe we gets the giant two volume set? We’ve got plenty of room, no one will even notice it. Good luck today on your news, you’re going to do great!

  6. Pamela Cayne said,

    L.A.–how could I not shout you out (twice)? You’re twice the fabulous! 🙂

    Montana–yeah, I think we need to get it to go with our Bloom County collection. The finest art and literature in a few handy volumes! 😉

  7. Robin said,

    You do the best “ten” lists, Pam! Thanks for all the great links! Love that cartoon! And uh, huge, gigantic hugs!!!!

  8. Sandra Ferguson said,

    Totally over the top post. Excellent info and I can’t wait to check out the links. As to Vitamin String . . . my kids (teenagers) tuned me in and now I can get enough, but I didn’t know about the YouTube site. I’ll see you there.

Leave a Reply

