Five on Friday: The GH Thankful Edition

March 26, 2010 at 8:45 pm (Five on Friday, Virtual Gems)

 

So yesterday was the announcement of RWA’s Rita and Golden Heart (GH) finalists. Many wonderful books were nominated, but yours truly wasn’t one of them. Now, where I was a bit…distraught over this last year (but pluckily rebounded), this year I found myself reflecting on more of the pony and less on the pony poo. Allow me to give you my five reasons why it was a blessing in disguise that I didn’t get a GH nom.

1.  The first thing that worried me was I understand they want a photo of you in pretty short order. Not only will this be used in the monthly RWR (trade magazine), but it will be projected at the awards ceremony in a size only slightly smaller than a billboard. Sorry, people–wasn’t going to happen. Do you think this kind of beautiful just gets up and slaps itself on my face every morning? No! It takes a team of beauticians, hairstylists, colorists, dermatologists and a Buddhist monk chanting in the corner to make me presentable. Saying “Just take a picture–you look lovely!” is like saying “Just launch the Space Shuttle–it’ll be fine!” So that’s one worry I got to leave by the roadside!

2.  The dress. Oh, dear Lord in Heaven, the dress. For those of you unfamiliar with the RWA Nationals awards ceremony, picture 2000 women getting to play dress-up once a year. Yup, it’s like a prom on crack. So if I had been a finalist I would have had to find the dress (floor length, of course) on the chance I won and had to say thank-you in front of those 2000 women. Considering I’m short-waisted and have the skin tone I like to describe as “fish-belly pale”, finding that dress would have required a  platinum Visa, several four-leaf clovers, the stylist who did Sandra Bullock at the Oscars and a Buddhist monk chanting in the corner. Now I can just stick with either a little black dress or something easier and much more fun.

3.  The shoes. Yes, the shoes deserve their own special mention here. Considering the most formal shoes I own are black, navy, or my rock star boots, I would have to either buy new shoes or wear a dress worthy of a rodeo queen. (Yes, this is Nashville, but I don’t know that  even I could take it that far.) And when you wear a 10.5, there aren’t pretty shoes to be had, much less in delicious colors like garnet, peacock, or opal. Not even the Buddhist monk could have helped with this one. No shoes necessary this time, my friend. Me and my boots will be just fine.

4.  The appointments at Nationals. As I understand it, there are extra events for the finalists–meet and greets, rehearsal for the ceremony, probably an audience with Nora or something, and lots of other things that probably aren’t quite so made up. But c’mon–all of those extra appointments mean less bar time, and with an Irish pub at the Gaylord Opryland, I know where I’d rather be! Besides, all you’d do at these appointments is make more friends, more writer friends, and who needs that?

5.  The luggage. Let me just say that at the past few National conventions I’ve pushed the boundary of the 50lb weight requirements, and that was just with my biggest event being my editor/agent appointments. If I had social events, group appointments and, lest we forget, The Dress, I would need at least several steamer trunks to carry my ensemble, the accessories, my varying beauty and hair necessities, and last but not least, the Buddhist monk in the corner.

In all seriousness did I want to be a Golden Heart finalist? Hell, yes. But did I need it? No, I sure didn’t. I’m having a fabulous year and a GH nom might have been a little bit of gluttony. Besides, a friend got some fabulous news she’s been waiting on yesterday, and I like to think the universe took any mojo I had going into the GH and gave it to her. And I prefer it that way.

Now, who’s joining me at the bar?

9 Comments

  1. coffeegirl88 said,

    I’ll gladly join you at the bar any day!

    Just wish I was going to Nationals this year. Maybe next.

  2. Montana (curtbooks) said,

    Thank goodness I won’t have to haul those trunks! I’m glad you shared your mojo. Yours is a different path. The monk told me.

  3. Marilyn Brant said,

    *raising hand and jumping up and down wildly*
    Me! Me! I’ll join you at the bar!!
    And LOL about your list. 🙂 Your commentary, esp. on the photo and the dress, made me giggle in recognition. But, ohhhhhhh–the shoes. It would take A LOT for me to want to go through the torture of stage-worthy shoes. Never again. If I have a reason to get up on an RWA stage at any point in the future, I’m telling you right now, I’m wearing Keds!
    xoxo

  4. Katie Reus said,

    I won’t be at Nationals but I’ll join you at A bar, lol 😉 You just signed w/ a fabulous agency so obviously you’re on the right path anyway!

  5. Robin said,

    I can’t wait to join you at the bar the Nashville! Love this list! You always put things in the best perspective and make me smile. You’ve got some pretty groovy optimism and I *know* it’s going to pay off in spades very soon!!

  6. L.A. Mitchell said,

    ohh, ohh, ohh. First round is on me. I wasn’t on the short list either. Guess we’ll have to meet in 2011, hon 😦

  7. Pamela Cayne said,

    Coffee–that’s okay. There’s always a bar! 🙂

    Montana–thanks, but there’s still going to be *lots* of luggage! 😉

    Marilyn–I know. I find myself walking outside in my Ugg slippers because they’re so comfy! 🙂

  8. Pamela Cayne said,

    Katie–aw, thanks! Maybe next year? 🙂

    Robin–you betcha! We’ll be celebrating all over the Gaylord Opryland! 😀

    L.A.–you are not only penciled in for 2011, you’re there in ink, baby! Ink! And the first round will be on me. 🙂

  9. Contests, Paths, and My Deep Dark Brain « Pamela Cayne said,

    […] 2, 2010 at 6:00 pm (Events, Random Thoughts) So I’ve told you about how I entered the Golden Heart this year (and didn’t final), but I had to share with […]

Leave a Reply

