An Open Letter to the Weather Gods of Nashville

May 4, 2010 at 9:47 pm (Random Thoughts)

 

May 4th, 2010

Dear Weather Gods of Nashville,

On behalf of my sisters (and brothers) of RWA, specifically those planning to attend this summer’s National Conference currently scheduled for the Gaylord Opryland, I have an enormous favor to ask.

Knock it off.

I, like so many others, flipped back and forth from Twitter to Yahoo pictures to our emails, watching the devastation you created and receiving notices from RWA, the Gaylord Opryland, and writing friends who all had the same question we do:

WTF?!?

Was this necessary? Yes, rain and non-draught conditions are a good thing, but when rivers start to overflow their banks and flood business, sewage treatment plants, historic buildings, and an wonderful musical and gritty way of life, that’s too much. (Yes, there can be too much of a good thing.) I’ve seen images of cars, trucks, and even buildings being washed away, videos of the beautiful atrium of the Gaylord Opryland covered in muck and deisel-covered water, and people being led out of the floodwaters with only the clothes on their backs. You made the BBC this morning, for heaven’s sake, isn’t that enough?

This may sound selfish, but I was really really really looking forward to having our conference in Nashville. I mean, c’mon–it’s Nashville, baby! Home of steel guitars, big hair, and cowboy boots that would make a drag queen weep. Our hotel had a flatboat in the middle of it, a flatboat you could ride in! If that’s not seven layers of awesomeness, I don’t know what is. I know (or at least am pretty darn certain) that the conference will go on, and that I’ll still get to meet my agent face-to-face for the first time as well as reconnect with writing friends from all around the globe, but there will be a little part of me that will mourn not being in Music City USA for this spectacular event. So here’s what I want from you:

Clean it up.

C’mon, tough guys, I know you can. After all, you created this mess, so you can damn well fix it. Zeus and Poseidon, Caillech and Lei Kun, hell–get Storm from the X-Men in here but just get all of your supernatural (or mutant) asses down here and get the water diverted off somewhere safe, blow some wind through to dry things out, and bring out the sun. Is that so much to ask?

Do that, and I will even stand in line to get each of you a signed Nora as a thank-you present. Or J.R. Ward, but only one per diety. After all, I gotta get my signed books, too.

Sincerely,

Pamela

P.S. And since we’ve got you down here, could you do something about the oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico, too? ktnxby.

13 Comments

  1. Sarah M. Anderson said,

    I second the motion!

  2. Karen said,

    Aye!

  3. Melina said,

    Perfectly put! And all this happened just as I realized I might be able to go after all.

    I agree. It’s Weather’s fault. Weather should clean it up.

    Gah!

  4. Robin said,

    Great letter, Pam! It’s a bummer, and I feel so awful for the people there, but wherever we end up, it’s all the wonderful romance writers that make the conference special. See you soon!

  5. Marilyn Brant said,

    Thanks for making me smile today, Pam. I was looking forward to the conference being in Nashville, too, and I’m really hoping the Weather Gods heed your request to knock it off… 🙂

  6. Pamela Cayne said,

    Sarah–so noted! 🙂

    Karen–you’re on record, too! 🙂

    Melina–yep, we’ll get weather working right away, won’t we? 😉

  7. Pamela Cayne said,

    Robin–you got it! I’m looking forward to the new venue, wherever it is! 🙂

    Marilyn–yeah, they don’t want to make me stop this blog and come over there! 😉

  8. heathersnowbooks said,

    I so totally agree! And thanks for the laugh. So glad I found your blog 🙂

  9. Caryn said,

    Go, Pam! I hope it works. I know a lot of people will be devastated if this hurts the convention too much.

  10. Caryn said,

    P.S. I love what you’ve done with your website design, but the link to your blog still goes to your old one, not this one. Thought you’d want to know. 🙂

  11. Pamela Cayne said,

    Heather–glad you enjoyed a laugh. With the flooding, I was either going to have to start cursing or start laughing, so chose humor. 🙂

    Caryn–thanks! And thanks for both the thumbs up for the website design and odd link. I’m still getting some of those dang kings worked out! 🙂

  12. Katie Reus said,

    Lol. Love the letter. Looks like Nationals is moved anyway, but thanks for the laugh 🙂 Are you going to make it to Orlando?

  13. Pamela Cayne said,

    Katie–yeah, I hate it when a good rant gets ignored! And heck yeah, I’m going to Orlando! Believe it or not, I’ve never been to Florida before, and for Nationals, I think I’d go anywhere! 😀

Leave a Reply

