RWA: The random edition

August 3, 2010 at 12:34 pm (Events, Random Thoughts)

 

Hello, lovely friends! I’m back from the awesomeness that is the RWA National Conference and I think it’s safe to say my brainpower is somewhere around 50%. Hooray!! Given what it has been for the past 48 hours, 50 is like a freaking treasure trove. Seriously.

And, I think it’s becoming quiet apparent that I suck at blogging from Nationals. I looked forward to tweeting and facebooking  at least, but the internet at the Dolphin was pretty bad, so after a while I just checked the urgent things, as every time I tried to post something it took yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeears. (And don’t even get me started about how slow it was with pictures. Needless to say there was almost a Wolverine-like rampage at the happiest place on earth.) So I’m just going to do some random posts about Nationals and we’ll see how that goes, k?

So, giving credit to the delightful C.J. Redwine and her numerical posts of fancy, I give you my RWA post, the numbered edition.

1. Wow, was DisneyWorld overwhelming. (And I’m just talking about driving to the hotel the first night.)

2. I do think they put something in the water, because by Friday night my plan to eschew any of the parks went up in a blaze of “Let’s go to Hollywood Studios!!!”

3. The humidity wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be.

4. There were practically no bugs. I think Disney bought them out.

5. I do so love the atmosphere of Nationals. Walk into the literacy signing and tell me you don’t get a rush.

6. I dare you.

7. Though I didn’t get to either the Sweet Shoppe or the Fountain at the Dolphin, Seashore Sweets on the Boardwalk had the most tasty toffee bars. *drool*

8. Nora Roberts? ZOMG, that woman is a broad in the best sense of the word and I am more than a little in love with her now.

9. The authors repped by Irene Goodman Agency are eighteen kinds of nice, cool, awesome, supportive and funny.

10. Did I mention cool? Then I’m saying it again.

11. The agents are too.

12. The buffet at the Garden Grove restaurant at the Swan includes a dessert section that would destroy even the most high-tensile pair of Spanx in the world.

13. But having Goofy and Pluto come over and kiss my hand in between gorgings, er, courses was truly delightful.

14. I am in such girl-love with my agent. *ittybittysquee*

15. The publisher-sponsored booksignings were, aside from the fact they were in rooms too small for them, delicious.

16. Best thing I did? Brought my own self-sealing USPS flat-rate boxes.

17. Second best thing I did? Brought my own labels and $1 stamps, so I could just drop those boxes off without having to stand in Any. Line. Whatsoever.

18. So, Hollywood Studios? Yeah, it was Disney spectacular.

19. Having breakfast with the Wiffers and Cherries? Yeah, it was Disney spectacular, too.

20. The Golden Heart and RITA dinner and ceremony? Let’s just say there was some extra magic at Disney Saturday night.

Yes, I will be blogging more with explanations, pictures, links and everything else. I just wanted to give a little off-kilter recap while my brain was still recovering. Stay tuned for more RWA posts.

9 Comments

  1. coffeegirl88 said,

    I do believe I warned you about the water at Disney. It’s all kinds of infectious in the mostly Disney-rific kinda way.

  2. Caryn said,

    That sounds WONDERFUL! am glad you had such a good time. Was this your best conference yet?

  3. Pamela Cayne said,

    Coffee–yes, yes you did! Much fun was had, so it’s hard to be anything but Disney-happy about the whole thing! 🙂

    Caryn–I’d probably have to say yes, but each one has such jewels that stand out in my mind (especially meeting a Very Special Person at the San Francisco one) that they’re all awesome! 🙂

  4. Lainey Bancroft said,

    Welcome home! Saw pics of you on Robin’s post. You all looked fantastic and so very happy!

    Can’t wait to hear more about RWA Disney-style. 🙂

  5. Marilyn Brant said,

    SO glad I got to see you (and Montana and Robin and Melina) during the conference! One of these days, though, we need to get together when there’s NO conference so we can talk and talk and not be interrupted by workshops–LOL. 🙂 Your #4 cracks me up, btw…

  6. Pamela Cayne said,

    Lainey–it was a great conference and I think everybody smiles all the time! (Except for the angry girl crying at one of the Disney booths at Hollywood Studios!)

    Marilyn–back ‘atcha! And belive you me, we always have Chicago in our sights as a place to visit! 😀

  7. Robin said,

    This is a great numbered edition, Pam. I’m so happy to hear you had such a wonderful time! I wish I’d gotten to spend more time with you, but I’m glad we got to have lunch together!

  8. Pamela Cayne said,

    Me too, Robin! Next year for sure, okay? 🙂

  9. Melina said,

    Couldn’t have said it better myself! And breakfast was incredible (although, as a New Yorker, I’ve got to say that bagel was a complete joke – luckily, awesome company more than made up for it).

    In total agreement on the rush, the atmosphere, and all the magic! 🙂 This was my 3rd conference, and was by far the most meaningful!

Leave a Reply

