I’m in book heaven!

September 23, 2010 at 8:33 am (Events)

 

If any of you have wondered what that high-pitched noise you’ve been hearing for the past few days is, allow me to answer–it is me.

You see, the closer we get to next Tuesday (September 28th), the more excited I get. The more excited I get, the more I start vibrating like a top at its highest speed, accompanied by that buzzing/humming noise it makes. By Sunday night, I’m probably going to wear a hole in the floor from my excitement.

Why am I so excited you ask? Because next Tuesday is the Perfect Storm of book releases, and life cannot get much better than this lineup:

Marilyn Brant’s Friday Mornings at Nine, follow up to her delicious debut, According to Jane. (I was stunningly lucky enough to get an arc of this book, and let me tell you–as much as I loved ATJ, I think she outdid herself for FMAN. It is like dark chocolate with almonds and dried cherries.)

Heidi Betts’s The Bite Before Christmas, and if you’re like me and wondering what the reigning queen of sexy, sassy writing can do to a vampire, then we’ll both find out Tuesday. I have the feeling she’ll blow the other paranormal writers out of the coffin with this one.

Jeannie Lin’s Butterfly Swords, winner of the 2009 Golden Heart for Historical Romance. I got a teaser copy (first chapter) of this at Nationals this year, and zowie–is this an exciting, passionate story! When Jeannie talks about honor, romance, and adventure, she’s not kidding!

So, I’m going to edit my fingers to nubs between now and Tuesday morning at 12:01 a.m. (or whenever the nearest bookstore to me opens it’s doors–I can’t wait for an Amazon order to come via regular shipping. I could lose hours, people–hours of lucious reading!!!) and then dive in. I’ll probably ask Montana to just hook me up to an I.V. so I don’t even have to waste time eating, because two minutes spent on a bowl of cereal means two minutes more before reaching The End of all of these yummy books.

My books, a cuppa tea, and a comfy chair? Tuesday is the new happy, my friends.

8 Comments

  1. Marilyn Brant said,

    Pamela, your supportiveness and kindness makes every time I visit here ‘the new happy’…thank you so much. xoxox

    Looking forward to reading Heidi’s latest and Jeannie’s debut — both look wonderful!! And I wish you much success with your edits, my friend. 🙂

  2. Katie Reus said,

    I’m soooo looking forward to Butterfly Swords 🙂 Can’t believe it’s almost out!

  3. Pamela Cayne said,

    Marilyn–In the words of the immortal Frank Burns, “It’s nice to be nice to the nice!” And thanks for the editing juju–I’m gonna need it! 🙂

    Katie–I know! And if I weren’t such a Ludite, I’d have her TAMING OF MEI LIN novella downloaded, but that’ll have to come later. It’s all good!

  4. Robin said,

    Is that chair beside you taken? If not, I’d love to join you. 🙂

    Sending kick-butt revision vibes your way…I hope you have a productive weekend.

  5. Melina said,

    Wow. Okay, see, this is proof that the day job must go. How else will I have time for all this reading?

    You, my friend, have most excellent taste in books! I’ve been looking forward to some of these myself (hi Marilyn!). Can I bring a folding chair and sit with you and Robin? I’ll bring tea, I promise. And cookies.

  6. Pamela Cayne said,

    Robin–c’mon by! And thanks for the vibes. Many more are streaming right back ‘atcha! 🙂

    Melina–There are more than enough comfy reading chairs for all (and I’d say that even if you hadn’t volunteered to bring tea and cookies!) 😀

  7. Heidi Betts said,

    I’m a little late to the party, but thank you so much for bragging us up, Pam. You are, as always, the sweetest. And it’s so fun to have a new book out along with a few good friends & fellow writers who are also celebrating a new release. One of those “the more, the merrier” things. Plus, I get to walk out of the bookstore with fun stuff for myself when I stop in to sign stock; there is nothing bad about that. 😀

  8. Caryn said,

    Yes! Aren’t Tuesdays the best? I love to turn on my Kindle and find that a book I pre-ordered days ago has shown up.

Leave a Reply

