This Monkey Typed Shakespeare

May 13, 2011 at 12:10 pm (Events, Virtual Gems)

 

Hi! Yes, I’m still alive (which you knew because you check me out on Twitter or Facebook, right? Right? *wink wink*)  So anyhoozles, I promise to get something like an update post here soon (maybe with some awesome pictures of pancakes), but I had to tell you what happened to me this week first.

So I’m at work on Monday, dressed very nicely in a patterned white, button-down shirt, navy slacks and navy heels. Tres office chic, no? A little before lunch, I’m craving a little something fizzy and caffeine-y, so decide to go to the small store across the street and get my infusion of diet Dr. Pepper. Rather than take my big bag o’purse, I grab a couple of bills and start to stick them in my pocket. But as the bills don’t get tucked away anywhere, I’m realizing my slacks are sans pockets, tiny decorative ones or otherwise. Specifically, I think, “Hey. These pants don’t have pockets.”

The thought cracks me up so much–really, I’m my own best audience–that I instantly decide to tweet that very thought. See? 

So I get my frosty beverage, eat lunch, work, yanno–daily things. A little later I notice that I was getting some rather odd responses to my tweet. By men. By men I don’t know and who do not follow me. Responses like:

  • Seriously? Without pockets, what’s the use of clothes at all?
  • Better than the other way around.
  • What, you mean pockets without pants? That’s what I have.
  • Check your shirt. Is it red?
  • “Hey, these pants don’t have pockets.” ~Commander Wil Ryker

And with those last two comments,  I think I’m starting to understand. Somehow I’ve stumbled into a Star Trek: The Next Generation reference. I tried to google it and came up with something kinda close, but am still having a general WTF moment. I pass it off until the next day, when I think to hit the button that shows retweets. Needless to say I was gobsmacked when I saw my innocent little post had been retweeted by the one and only Jane Espenson.

Yes, I had a moment. Several, in fact. However, rather than own up to my savaant-like tweet, I simply sat back, enjoyed my brief brush with Jane, and reflected on what I had learned.

  1. Post what you want to, not what you think is going to gain you retweets and followers. As soon as you stop trying so hard is when you hit it out of the park.
  2. It’s true. Sit a monkey in front of a typewriter long enough and he’s going to spit out Shakespeare.
6 Comments

  1. coffeegirl88 said,

    Congrats on the retweet!

    It’s always a bit of a shock when you get either a retweet or an @reply from someone you don’t think is watching. Been there, done that, damned proud of myself for it.

    And really, there needs to be a law or something about all pants needing pockets.

    • Pamela Cayne said,

      Thanks, Coffee–I know exactly what you mean (both with the retweets and the pants!) 🙂

      And Caryn, I have sooo learned my lesson. I was just so happy to find a nice pair of navy pants I didn’t look any further. I think it’s all a conspiracy by the purse industry… 😉

  2. Caryn said,

    Great reminder! I know I would have replied if I had seen it, but we’ve been on the road and internet service has been spotty. I think we can all relate to that. Why DO they ever make pants (and skirts and shorts) without pockets, anyway? If I ever discover it when I’m trying on new clothes, I always put the clothes back and opt for something else, no matter the price or how nice the style looks. That’s if I discover the absence in time, which I usually don’t…

  3. Marilyn Brant said,

    LOL, Pam!! I would totally NOT have gotten that it was a Star Trek reference… But Jane E. is cool. Almost as cool as you ;).

  4. L.A. MItchell said,

    Pam, I’m so sorry I don’t have time to Tweet and don’t do Facebook. That means this is my only lifeline to you!! My luck, I’d tweet about my pants and get the pervs out in droves.

  5. Robin said,

    That’s cool! Even though I’m not on Twitter, it sounds like you’re a pretty awesome Tweeter. Which makes sense, since you’re a pretty awesome person. (Is Tweeter even a word?) Anyway, I’m sure that’s not the last time you’ll be retweeted! Keep us posted!

Leave a Reply

