Fuck You, Facebook (or, What I Did on My Summer Vacation)

September 22, 2011 at 10:51 am (Random Thoughts)

I wrote a book.

Hmm, let me rephrase—I wrote another book. This summer, in fact. Just finished it yesterday. Like a burrowing animal in the middle of the summer heat, I tucked into my cool dark cave and wrote 96.5K words in 10 weeks. (Actually I wrote more, but for this book, it was 96.5, or 96,556 if you really want to be precise.)

I’m chuffed. Stoked. Thrilled. Book #7 is finished—not edited at all, but finished. (Must I remind you of La Nora’s immortal words? “I can edit crap, but I can’t edit a blank page.”) I love this story, I love these characters and—this will show you how much I love the freaking thing—I can’t wait to edit it. I can’t wait to smooth and polish and sand away the grit to leave the diamond (or garnet, in this case) shining and luminous in its dark beauty.

There are more posts to come about this book, about others, about how the universe really challenged me this summer and I not only survived, I thrived (Hello? 96.5 words in 10 weeks? That, my friends, is thriving.) and so many other things. But not now. Right now I’m getting back into this blogging flow (and you can thank Facebook and its Lindsay Lohan-like schizo attitude for that) and making the ride one of mellow enjoyment rather than stress.

Comment if you want, don’t if you don’t feel like it, and please don’t be offended if I miss a comment or two. In this new happy and fuzzy place, my brain sometimes goes in other directions and it can be a few days before I remember my old friend, WordPress. (And as I type this as a draft in Word, I wonder how much WordPress has changed in the past 4 months. I may end up with the mother of all snuggies before I managed to get this posted…)

So, to you my friends, both silver and gold, happy fall. (Hmm, I guess that’s official sometime in the wee hours tonight. How appropriate.) Here’s to a kick-ass end of 2011.    

14 Comments

  1. coffeegirl88 said,

    Way to go on the word count girl!!

    I think you have something there in regard to FB and this latest let’s change everything to make it “better” has been the push I need to adjust my thinking that way. I spent too much time playing and not enough time, well, writing.

    I look forward to hearing all about this book and well, all your books.

    • Pamela Cayne said,

      Thanks, Coffee!! Yup, this most recent FB change is the big, ink-stained hand of the All Powerful Writing God (not Joss Whedon, though close!) and it’s a hint to all of us….ah, I can’t preach like this. Odds are I’ll take the time I’ve spent on FB and go over to LOLCatz or something. But you, however, can push the Younger Miss Bennets to a new level, right? 😉

  2. Karen said,

    Is editing the mess I typed before the mess of Spy’s education. That revise and resubmit pile of words will eventually find it’s way out the door…

    • Pamela Cayne said,

      Damn straight it will, and it will find its way directly to an AWESOME agent and an equally fabulous EDITOR and we can party like we’re published!!! (Okay, it’ll be a very limited budget, but the party will be there.) 🙂

  3. montana (curtbooks) said,

    You rock. Your writing has inspired my writing. I can’t wait to see what the coming months bring!

  4. Marilyn Brant said,

    Pam, WAY TO GO on finishing another book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m so impressed (and a little envious!) and, most of all, really, really proud of you!! What a thrilling feeling to have accomplished so much in just 10 weeks. Congrats, my friend ;).

  5. jenifer said,

    You. Are. Awesome! (drink – old habits die hard, plus, why not?)

    I owe you an email (soon, I promise!) and will definitely have to check in with twitter more if there will be no Pam on FB, but I’m glad I always know when you post here by my RSS feed. And yay for more blogging!

    • Pamela Cayne said,

      Aw, you’re gonna make me blush! (And yes, the awesome (drink) habit will be a very hard one to break…) Email when you can and I’ll still be around FB, just not as often. 🙂

  6. Caryn Caldwell said,

    Yay! That’s wonderful, Pam. Another book down. Although I’ll miss you if you abandon Facebook, it sounds like you’re putting your offline time to good use. Oh, and it’s fun to see you blogging again.

    • Pamela Cayne said,

      Thanks, Caryn! It’s been nice, and I plan to return to viewing others as well (*guilty look*). And with FB, the changes are driving me batty, but I’m hearing more and more troubling things about privacy… Yeesh. Remember the good old days of typewriters and hand-written notes? 🙂

  7. Robin said,

    Wow, Pam! Congrats on finishing your book! That’s awesome. *pom pom swish* Happy revising! (And it’s nice to see you back here.)

    • Pamela Cayne said,

      A pom pom swish! Okay, now it’s official–I can celebrate! 🙂

Leave a Reply

