Is it…Can it be…Yes! It’s Five on Friday!!!

September 30, 2011 at 10:32 am (Five on Friday)

This day (and a Friday, no less) seems to be sliding into a pit of murk and dank that would rival the digestive tract of a rancor after Jabba the Hut threw the Empire’s whole rugby team in the pit for losing the Galactic Cup.

 

(I know–I couldn’t find an accurate still from the movie so went with this cuter version, thus negating the pit of murk and dank. Deal.)

So (aside from cute monsters holding big bones…), what else, thought I, would redeem this icky Friday? That’s right–an old classic–Five on Friday!!!! *breathy, rock star cheer* So let’s see if we can turn this Death Star around, shall we?

1) Loving the new television season. Old favorites like Castle, Big Bang Theory, and How I Met Your Mother are always welcome, but we’re enjoying the beginnings of New Girl and Suburgatory (hey–anything with Alan Tudyk in it mist be given a chance. Plus, there is some sharp YA wit remeniscent of Easy A or Mean Girls in here.) Also loving the web series Husbands, by one of my gods, Jane Espenson. Check it out!

2) So I blogged last week about the book I finished, right? Well, I started doing some light editing on it once past the one week mark and find myself delightfully entranced by it. It’s a good sign and I am chuffed.

3) The summer movies are now coming out on DVD–Thor, Bridesmaids, Captain America, Transformers III, X-Men and I’m sure there’s more, but this is already a bounty worthy of much squeeing.

4) Candy Corn. The bags of treats in every grocery store, the flavored lip balms from Avon, the white-chocolate candy-corn-colored yummies from M&Ms–it’s all good, my babies.

5) Cupcakes. Specifically red velvet ones that make your tongue dance the macarena and a little wookie-like sound of happiness trill from between your lips. Like this one:

May the Friday be with you.

5 Comments

  1. montana (curtbooks) said,

    I remember that cupcake with great fondness…

  2. Karen said,

    Light editing. Somehow I seem incapable. Ink ends up covering everything. Even the backs of the pages. I’m glad, though, for the distance of one year on this MS. It’s making it much easier to edit as it truly needs.

    • Pamela Cayne said,

      Karen–I hear ya. I think I do a lot of editing on computer now so the massive amounts of purple ink doesn’t make me want to slit my wrists. Glad you’re back to writing/editing (and the other stuff has calmed down) and it’s fresh and clear. Good luck!!!

  3. Marilyn Brant said,

    It’s after midnight and that cupcake looks like the perfect snack…MUNCH!! *grin* Still so thrilled for you finishing your draft… LOVE the dedication you put into writing it this summer. It’s inspiring me! xox

Leave a Reply

