No Particular Reason

October 5, 2011 at 10:56 am (Random Thoughts)

Last night I was thinking about one of my favorite movies, REAL GENIUS, and whatever is or is not going on with the man now, I have to admit to a real swoon-fest for Val Kilmer. Not necessarily a He’s so dreamy! kind of swoonage, but more the variety of Holy snot, that man is one incredible actor!

Take, for instance, REAL GENIUS. Could anybody have played Chris Knight with the same crazed funhouse verve combined with the intensity and pain that his genius brings?

And who could forget one of his most recent roles (and one of his strongest), Gay Perry in KISS KISS BANG BANG. (Also a stellar performance by a pre-Iron Man RDJ.) I have to admit it’s been a while since I’ve watched that movie, but I remember being amazed at how my Val has grown as an actor.

But my favorite, my all time flap my hands and sigh in sublime delight role of Val’s has absolutely postively got to be Doc Holliday in TOMBSTONE. A fallen hero with a moral code as dark and unwavering as he is, that is a role for the ages, my friend.

Say when.

8 Comments

  1. KathyF said,

    My friend kept her horse at a farm in Santa Fe. Val lived next door, down the river. She was riding her horse along the river (keep in mind a river in New Mexico is about the size of a proper ditch). She looked in his back yard and there he was, naked. She said hi, he said hi back, they exchanged pleasantries, and she rode on, cool as a cucumber.

    The next day, he came over to the farm to speak to the owner, who happened to be a builder of adobe walls. He wanted a wall put in around his property.

    So I guess Val was a little shy.

    • Pamela Cayne said,

      Kathy–your friend is *much* more cool than I could ever be. (Aside from the fact I blush like I’ve been exposed to the sun from 10 inches away…) Great story–thanks for sharing!!! 🙂

  2. montana (curtbooks) said,

    Why Val, I don’t believe you’re wearing a bustle.

  3. montana (curtbooks) said,

    How Lewd!

  4. Caryn Caldwell said,

    I love Kiss, Kiss, Bang, Bang! So funny! Hubby and I still quote from it. I have to admit, though, any time I think of Val Kilmer I think of Top Secret. It was so dumb, but it had a few funny lines.

    • Pamela Cayne said,

      Top Secret has its own merits and should not be left aside–I still crack myself up when I think “I know a little German…” 😉

  5. Robin said,

    One of my all-time favorite movies is The Saint. Have you seen it? Val was so good in it! It’s one of those movies I can watch over and over again.

    • Pamela Cayne said,

      Yes, Robin! I was one of the few who loved The Saint, but it’s been sooooo long since I’ve watched it. Wasn’t Elisabeth Shue in it, or am I thinking of something else?

Leave a Reply

