For Every Yin, There is a Yang

October 13, 2011 at 2:35 pm (Events, Random Thoughts, Writing)

For a second, I thought about calling this post Stop Jerking My Yang but then decided not to. (And now I’m thinking about Don’t Go Breaking My Yang but that just seems to be getting silly, and if there is one thing I Will. Not. Have. here at my blog, is silly.)

Right-o then. Moving on.

So, to get this post aligned more in the direction I had originally intended, (I chalk the above up to low blood sugar…), I give you a postulate of mine:

When something/body treats you like shit, there will be something/body soon after who will balance that with good.

Backstory, you ask for? Why, I’d be delighted!

This was discovered many moons ago when I worked as an assistant manager for OfficeMax. One normal day I was behind the customer service counter when a man (I will not use the term ‘gentleman’ for obvious reasons) came in asking about a pen refill. We didn’t carry that pen, ergo we didn’t have refills for it either, hadn’t since I had been there. This man did not believe me and became more and more belligerent, until finally he yelled at me and threw the pen at me, skipping it across the counter with no small degree of force.

*asshole* Oh, excuse me. Had a sneeze there.

Well, later that day, I was covering for a cashier on break and rang out two nuns, penguin suits and all. Transaction completed, they blessed me.

You heard me right. They blessed me. With hand gestures and everything. Ignoring the fact I’m not Catholic and am not really religious, it was kinda cool. Like the universe had seen the man (*asshole* Whoo, allergies are really kicking up this year!) come in and be a tool, and decided to send in a crack squad of Really Nice. And ever since then, I’ve noticed that when some awful thing has happened, an equal good has soon after. Thus my postulate.

Why am I bringing this up today, you ask? Well, I’ve discovered a corollary:

When the universe sends you crap/distractions/stuff to keep you from your writing, the Girls in the Basement will balance that with The Shiny.

This past week or so (let’s call this a 7-day’er, not just a ‘since Monday’ length of time) the job has been pretty abysmal. Now, it’s set to radically improve in just a little over twenty-four hours, but for now, I’m riding the Shit Train. Yesterday, as I was driving home, I put my iPod on my Trance mix so I could relax and arrive home without the vestiges of Work Ick all over me. Lo, in the middle of Barber’s Adagio for Strings, I get a delightful idea that is building on a past delightful idea for an upcoming story of mine. Awesome, right? Yes, but the Girls were not finished!

I lay down to get a little rest after having spent the day restraining myself from throwing an elbow at the back of somebody’s head like a MMA fighter with a snootful of angry and, bless those Girls, as I was thinking of how my heroine looked, they sent me a line that made me jump up and grab a pen! (Because we all know what happens when we don’t, right? Right?)

Spectacular line committed to paper, I lay back down, this time with the iPod and the rest of the soundtrack in progress queued up and I now have the first quarter of my book, the two turning points after that, and a rough idea for an ending. If you asked me to, I could sit down and write this sucker, it’s that alive, vibrant, and sketched out.

And it’s gonna make BROKEN look like a basket full of kittens on the back of a unicorn while tiny fairies in pastel dresses dance on glittery rainbows overhead. I am in love.

Bring it, universe. I’ve got your yang right here.

19 Comments

  1. coffeegirl88 said,

    Yay that the girls are sending you shiny happy ideas. Glad someone’s girls are behaving.

    • Pamela Cayne said,

      I knew you’d appreciate the Girls and The Shiny. When mine settle down, I’ll send them over to talk to the Younger Miss Bennets, k? 🙂

      • coffeegirl88 said,

        I just need the Younger Miss Bennets to calm down a little, just a little, about the ooh new shiny. I love the idea, but cannot do anything about it for months.

      • Pamela Cayne said,

        That’s the tough part of the shiny sometimes, burying it deep so it can get even more shiny. My sympathies!

  2. Neeks said,

    I love your sense of humor, it’s nonstop. It’s cool when the ideas are rolling in and the writing is rolling out! 🙂

    • Pamela Cayne said,

      Aw, Neeks, you’re just going to get me trying to make you laugh now! And yes, I could use some good rolling–hope you’ve got some, too! 🙂

  3. Karen said,

    Whoo Hoo!

    • Pamela Cayne said,

      Thanks, Karen–how are your girls treating you now? Looking forward to hearing about some awesome (drink) word counts!! 🙂

  4. Gina Badalaty said,

    Best bleepin’ post I’ve read in a while! Awesome! I like the blessing part too, lol

    • Pamela Cayne said,

      Gina’s here!!! Now it’s a Wiffer party! And ladies and gentlemen, let me tell you, if there’s anybody who is deserving of *massive* blessings, it’s Gina. Thanks for stopping by! 😀

  5. Gabi Stevens said,

    Great, great story. Love it when the Universe conspires with you.

    • Pamela Cayne said,

      Universe love is the best, isn’t it? You know, I bet my magic wand had something to do with this…yup, yup it did! 😉

  6. Marilyn Brant said,

    Congrats, Ms. Cayne! I love hearing about how your day was righted by some well-deserved goodness. Raising a glass of bubbly to shiny ideas and sending some virtual chocolate, too! 😉

  7. montana (curtbooks) said,

    Let slip the dogs of war… err, girls in the basement. I can’t wait for the new book to start! And I’m loving your turn to the darkside, there’s nothing better than a unicorn with a bazooka.

    • Pamela Cayne said,

      Oh, Montana, with such encouragement I’ll be able to take over the world. With my bazooka-toting unicorn. Sic ’em, Sprinkles!!!

  8. Lily C said,

    That’s all well and good, but when do I get to read the rest of Broken? It’s now causing me physical pain to not know what happens next!

    • Pamela Cayne said,

      Oh, Lily, you just made my YEAR!!! When (not if, when) BROKEN gets pubbed, I will be sure all within shouting, tweeting, blogging and general internet distance will know. Mwah! 🙂

  9. Caryn said,

    That’s great! Can’t wait to see what you do with this new story. As for the jerk at the office store, there seem to be certain people who are perfectly nice to anyone they deem “worthy”, but are awful to waitstaff and anyone working behind a counter. I noticed it when I worked in a bookstore. Most people were very nice, but every once in a while someone would treat me like a brainless idiot simply because I was “the girl behind the counter”. Grrr. I wish service industry jobs on all people like that, so they can understand what it’s really like. And crappy tips.

Leave a Reply

