Friday Linky

February 3, 2012 at 9:11 am (Virtual Gems, Writing)

First, though, a proper greeting. Hello. How are you? I’m doing well, thanks. Better than well, in fact. I don’t know if it’s the pharmaceuticals rushing through my body or a delightful, thoughtful, and painful evening yesterday (yes, all three, though not necessarily at once), but I am feeling op-ta-freaking-mistic! I had more layers to an upcoming book start to pile on, a very unexpected conversation about bullet wounds leading to my thriller rearing its bloody head (in more ways than one…), and overall I am just Happy Pam the Writer today. Do the Happy Dance with me, won’t you?

So, moving on to the linky-linkies! (Sorry. No graceful way to transition. Deal.)

  • Marjorie Liu talks about Writer’s Block. I found this by a retweet and thought it was fascinating! There seems to be some minor kerfuffles about this dreaded disease (I have Writer’s Block vs. You don’t hear about plumbers getting Plumber’s Block) and thought Marjorie had an instesting take on it. Makes me wonder if Writer’s Block shouldn’t be renamed Square Peg in Round Hole Syndrome or It’s Not Shiny. Lots to be pondered here.
  • And speaking of It’s Not Shiny, check out Chuck Wendig’s 25 Things You Should Know About Story Structure. (Yeah, #1 relates *directly* to that whole Writer’s Block thing…) and in my humble opinion, this post really gets you in a great place for plotting, characterization, themes, and yeah–structure. (Chuck is also the genius who brought you 25 Things Writers Should Stop Doing (Right Fucking Now). I strongly suggest you bookmark this man’s blog or follow him on Twitter. Streams of wisdom fall from his mouth like coffee after a visit to the dentist.
  • Jason Arnopp’s Your Script is Not a Lottery Ticket is a fabulous article. Replace “script” with “manuscript” and “judges” with “agents/editors” and, wow, you’ve got it. (It reminds me of a Steven Axelrod seminar from Nationals a few years ago.) I think if you can get in the mindset of writing the best, most awesome, most polished, most from-your-bleeding-guts-0f-emotion story you can, it doesn’t matter what your competition is or who’s on the other end, you will strike a chord.

So, go forth and be awesome in your writing. Embrace it, tickle it, whisper sweet words to it. Throw it to the ground and make it your bitch if that’s what your writing demands, but just don’t do it half-heartedly.

Woo–got a little carried away from the power of those links! Now, if y’all will excuse me, I’ve got a manuscript that needs a touch of lovin’…

See you next week.

6 Comments

  1. Marjie Walters said,

    Hey Pam, I didn’t know you had a blog otherwise I would have read it before. This is totally cool. Glad you’re feeling better. Marj

    • Pamela Cayne said,

      Thanks, Marj! My past blogging has been hit-or-miss, so I’m really trying to keep up on it now. 🙂

  2. montana (curtbooks) said,

    You’re fantastic. Reading the links now.

  3. Caryn Caldwell said,

    So glad to hear that your writing is going well! That’s such a great feeling, isn’t it? Hope it’s gotten even better since then. And thanks for the links. I just added them to my reading list, which I’ll catch up on…one of these days…

    • Pamela Cayne said,

      Thanks, Caryn! If your reading list is anything like mine, good luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

