30 Days of Write: Day 1 (Chutzpah, dragons, and Spock)

May 1, 2012 at 8:02 am (30 Days of Write)

 

Bunny, bunny. There, got the first order of business out of the way and the month started off on a good note. *pshew*

Now, to business, a.k.a. The Ground Rules.

For a while now, I’ve thought about doing a month of blogging. Now, mind you, this isn’t necessarily deep, long, scintillating blogging, full of witticisms, layers of chutzpah (did I get that right, Melina and Karen?), and, at times, an ennui worthy of Brummell himself, this is guerilla blogging.

So for 30 days I’m going to toss out topics, thoughts, photos, events and whatever else strikes my fancy. My goal here is quantity, not quality. (Yeesh, what a horrible thing to admit for a writer!) Heck, if nothing else, it gets the gears oiled, right?

So let’s start with something basic–what I’m currently reading. I’ve got two books going now–one on my Kindle and one in paperback. (Actually, I’ve got a couple of research books going that I’m really loving, but I’ll save those for another post. Gotta pace myself, you know.)

Book #1 is The Memoirs of a Prague Executioner. You can check out the link for a thumbnail about the book and its author, but yeah, it’s pretty much what it sounds like. And somehow, I’ve found it oddly fascinating. It doesn’t read like a Friday the 13th movie–actually very little of much other than somebody was beheaded or hung, but the cultural aspects are, as much as I hate to use this word again, fascinating.

Is it just me, or am I starting to sound a little like Spock here?

The second book is Dragon Keeper by Robin Hobb.  This is Fantasy with a capital OMG-when-she-said-Here-Be-Dragons-she-wasn’t-kidding. It’s my first pure/hard core/high fantasy book probably since I read The Hobbit in eighth grade, as much as I was a total dragon girl way back then. I’ve had trouble with some of the more traditional Sci Fi/Fantasy stories because it’s hard for me to ground myself in a world where I have little to ground myself with, but, I heard Robin speak in March and got to speak to her at the RT Convention in April (more posts there, too) and she was so full of awesomesauce, I had to try her books. So far, I’m only about 2 chapters in and I’m liking it. I’ll keep you updated as the month progresses.

Okay, that’s good enough for now. I’ve got the month off to a solid start and for the day after a Monday, not too shabby.

P.S. Yeah, I know May has 31 days. You either get a bonus day or I get a day off. With apologies to Steve Niles, the 30 Days of Write title was too good not to use.

8 Comments

  1. Marjie Walters said,

    Will be waiting to read each day! Woot!

  2. kimberlyfoley said,

    Hmmm … This sounds like a good idea. Maybe I’ll join you. My blog has been lonely and neglected for too long.

    • Pamela Cayne said,

      Yeah, Kim–I was starting to think ‘blog’ was Latin for ‘place of many cobwebs’ so I say dive in. (And you know me–make your own rules–every day, every other, Fridays, whatever works best for you!) 🙂

  3. montana (curtbooks) said,

    Mashing Robin Hobb, Spock, and Steve Niles in one blog? It’s a monster of awesome!

    • Pamela Cayne said,

      As a very dear friend once said, a gravy boat full of awesomesauce. 😀

  4. Caryn Caldwell said,

    Sounds like a fun project! I haven’t read either of those books. Will have to check them out.

    • Pamela Cayne said,

      Caryn–I’m liking the Robin Hobb more and more. Dragons–rawr! 🙂

Leave a Reply

