30 Days of Write: Day 2 (The Irish, fried bubble gum, and The Rock)

May 2, 2012 at 9:54 am (30 Days of Write)

So here we are at Day 2. I’m kinda liking this self-imposed task I have for myself. If it goes anything like when I’m working ona story, once I hit a stride, this will be more on the effortless side, like coasting down a hill once you’ve ridden your bike up the other side. We shall see.

And speaking of writing, I have been delighted to re-discover a story I had been working on a few years ago. Man, I had hit my stride with that one–about 30K in 6 weeks. Then work exploded like something from a 80s action movie and it dropped dead. I guess there was a last death rattle or two that added a few thousand words, but I remember those being really hard. And then something else came up (that was delightfully good) so it got put away.

A few days ago something popped into my head that made me think of this story–another one of my dark Victorians but with an Irish cast. As I was in The Place In Between Stories and letting the Girls replenish their creative well, I re-read through what I had written over two years ago.

Dang, it was pretty good! And yes, I’m surprised at that. I thought it’d be like going back to any past book and cringing over how far you’ve come since then, but either I haven’t grown or I was ahead of myself then. (Delusion–it’s what’s for dinner.) Regardless of the details, I found myself excited to pick up this story again. So I have. Sure, the writing chops are a little rusty, and picking up a story half-written is like wiggling into a pair of Spanx, but it feels good to be writing again. In fact, it feels so good that I’ve set a few soft goals for myself just to get myself back into fighting shape. (And no, I’m not going to share. Then I’d have to be *gasp* accountable for them!) But, I do promise to keep you updated.

And, for something fun this morning, I give you something near and dear to my heart–fair food. (I like mine fried, but as I’ve always said, you could fry dirt and I’d probably eat it.) I’m curious about #10 (pizza cones), #11 (fried Coke), would love to try #18–fried avocados, but I think my foodgasm would happen with #21–fried Snickers bars. *insert Homer drool sounds*  Some of them do sound pretty nasty to me, but I think the top of the list would be #17–fried bubble gum. I don’t know if it’s the sound of it, the look of it (Pepto pink! Blue silly string frosting! Chicklet sprinkles!) or just the overall wrongness of it. (Yes, even more than #24–fried butter.)

And,  to wrap up Day 2, let’s all say happy birthday to The Rock (aka Dwayne Johnson.) If you’re not following him on Twitter, you’re missing a pretty awesome cheerleader.

See you tomorrow.

4 Comments

  1. Caryn Caldwell said,

    Thanks for mentioning that as you get into a book your writing amps up. I’ve noticed the same thing, as have a few of my friends, but now that I’m getting back into an old book it’s good to have the reminder. It feels like I’ll never be on a roll with it, but experience says otherwise.

    Good luck with your book! Glad you’re having so much fun with it so far!

    • Pamela Cayne said,

      Caryn–you will be rolling (if you’re not already!) How could such an *amazing* writer not kick it? 🙂

  2. montana (curtbooks) said,

    Next project, Woot!!

Leave a Reply

