30 Days of Write: Day 21

May 21, 2012 at 3:22 pm (30 Days of Write)

 

Okay, so I might have stumbled a bit in my goal for the month, but, yanno, a man’s reach should exceed his grasp, yadda yadda yadda. And to give credit where credit is due, Caryn Caldwell gets full and mighty props for calling me out. Guilt from myself I can live with, guilt from others, not so much. Given that I have plans this weekend, I’m not sure how I’m going to attack the last weekend of the month, but I’ll do my best.

And suddenly I can hear Yoda saying, “Do or do not. There is no try.”

*sigh* Hoisted by my own Star Wars petard again. (Startard? Wartard? StarWarTard?) Such is the case when you drink deep of the SciFi geekdom. (True story–at a work meeting last week, I had a question for the speaker, and he referenced “These are not the droids you’re looking for,” which tickled me mightily, but I had to chastise the group because more people didn’t laugh.)

And speaking of SciFi geekdom, Montana and I finally saw the Avengers last weekend. Speaking of deep, dreamy sighs and goodness on so many levels that it threatens to collapse upon me in a pile of awesome rubble and spectacular debris….

Joss. What can I say? He was the topic for Day 14, and if I wasn’t so concerned about spoilers, he’d be the topic for Days 21-856, but I refuse to speak anything of Avengers until at least a month, lest a fraction of my post break free and whack somebody in the unspoiled eye. But I will say this–if anybody…anybody…doubts what a storyteller this man is, you either haven’t seen the movie or are TSTL.

TSTL= Too Stupid To Live

See you tomorrow…

 

8 Comments

  1. coffeegirl88 said,

    Seriously now, I think you’ve officially proven you are way too cool for your workplace. I mean, they didn’t get the Star Wars reference, they didn’t get the music reference from the other week. Nope, they are not worthy of your coolness.

  2. Sofia Harper (@sofiaharp) said,

    Oh, Avengers. I think I just sort of melted into a glob of OMGTHISISAWESOME goo while watching the movie. You know, ’cause there are parts of an action film where you roll your eyes. It totally feels like *insert for this particular audience’s sake* No. Joss is a master at what he does. To think I didn’t know until a week before the release he had anything to do with the film. I wasn’t going to go watch it. *gasp* I know.

    And, Natasha. Oh. Oh. Oh. I think that’s why I loved this movie. The female character didn’t take a back seat. She didn’t cry or whine, “Save me.” And that’s Joss all the way. I say he needs to write every action film from here on after. lol

    • Pamela Cayne said,

      Yes, that movie was more than 100% awesome, wasn’t it? And I didn’t want to like Natasha (Scarlett Johansson) because I feel like she broke Ryan Reynolds’ heart, but two seconds into her scene and *I* was in love with her!!!

  3. jeniferm said,

    I don’t question the greatness that is Joss, though that isn’t why I’m posting.

    I often hear Yoda say that in my head, and sometimes just have to say, “Fuck you, Yoda, try is what I have to offer right now.”

    • Pamela Cayne said,

      Jenifer? OMG, I love you. I adore you, I admire you, I have such a wicked “Fuck Yoda” crush on you right now that I feel I need a t-shirt to wear with that quote on it. 🙂

  4. Caryn Caldwell said,

    Ha ha! It worked! Hey, at least you know you were missed.

    And HOW could people not get the droids reference?!?

    • Pamela Cayne said,

      Yes, the guilt came with a healthy dose of hugs, which is what made it work. (You moms have that down pat, don’t you?) I don’t even want to go into the missing of the droid references. (I expect Sunshine to know that by her 8th birthday, k?)

Leave a Reply

