International Writing Day!!!

March 18, 2013 at 7:54 am (Writing)

I don’t know about any of you this winter (almost spring), but I’ve been having trouble finding my writing groove. Editing, small sections here and there, some good plotting, but nothing like the grooves I’ve been in before. And where do grooves start?

Ah, there’s the rub.

Grooves start with words on the page, marching forward with more words, and yes, you guessed it, MORE WORDS!!! You keep that up and you’ve got yourself a pattern, a habit, a groove. But you’ve got to start getting words on the page and keep going. No. Matter. What. Keep going.

So here’s what I’m declaring. Today is International Writing Day. Write. Get some words on the page. Could be one sentence, could be a paragraph, could be however much you want it to be–a haiku if you’d like. But this is the start. This is the day I make my groove work for me, not the other way around.

Yawp.

4 Comments

  1. coffeegirl88 said,

    sounds like a plan to me. And speaking of plans, how about a little Wiffer writing challenge to get the groove going and keep it going? Haven’t had a chance to post to the group yet, but Kim and I’ve been talking about it this morning.

    Oh and to your question yes, I’ve had a lot of trouble this winter doing, well, anything or much of anything. It’s been too damned cold to do anything but curl up, knit, and watch Netflix.

    • Pamela Cayne said,

      Hmm…Wiffer challenge. Interesting. Can always count on the Wiffers to get a groove going, can’t you? 🙂

  2. Montana (curtbooks) said,

    Keep slugging, Sweetie. You’re inspiring me!

    • Pamela Cayne said,

      Slugging is right, but slugging is forward progress, and I’ll take that any day! Thanks! 😉

Leave a Reply

