And we’re walking…we’re walking…

March 26, 2013 at 12:54 pm (Random Thoughts)

 

So, we made it through International Writing Week. How’d everybody do? I got sick Thursday afternoon and it took me out for the weekend, which sucked. My boss was gone, so I was on easy time and on a writing kick to boot? Boy, the Writing Gods don’t make it easy on you, do they?

This week I’m doing some intense editing while continuing with my page-a-day book, so International Writing Week is turning into International Writing Fortnight. (Sensing a theme here, aren’t ya?) I’m also in the middle or re-arranging my writing space and that already seems to be helping. And, Writing Gods help me, my muses (aka The Girls) are in the mood for 80s music. WTF? They’ve been pretty consistent lately with alternative acoustic music and Mumford and Sons and Alan Doyle and now all of a sudden they’re pulling on my sleeve and dancing from foot to foot every time OMD comes on. Fine. Have it your way. If You Leave is now on a playlist. Happy?

Sheesh.

Today was also the day RITA and Golden Heart announcements were made and if you submitted and did not get the call, I say fuck ’em. Writing is subjective and just because one or two volunteers in RWA don’t like it doesn’t mean a thing. Keep writing. Keep swinging. Keep pushing yourself. I stopped submitting two or three years ago (based on the objection of cruel and unusual punishment) but still have Melina Kantor’s Way To Go card up on my inspiration board. Means more to me than if I would have won the Golden Heart.

Okay, off to let the Girls play again. Whatever they’re doing down there in the basement, it’s working for them, so I’m sending tea, peanut butter M&Ms, and enough colored pens and sticky-notes to stock a Staples. Hope yours are doing their dance for you.

Yawp.

9 Comments

  1. coffeegirl88 said,

    80s music makes everything better. Always. I mean Bon Jovi is 80s music after all. 😉

    I fell a little off the writing wagon this past week, too many home distractions and well there’s that damned snow that instead of going away keeps growing. But I’ll plug in tonight now that I have a fresh copy of my manuscript (with each scene printed on a different colour of paper) and will pull it together for our Wiff of Spring challenge.

  2. Pamela Cayne said,

    I’m surprised you haven’t gone postal with all of the snow! A few days to get ready and the Wiffer challenge? Sounds like you’re set! 🙂

  3. Montana (curtbooks) said,

    “Fuck, fuck, fuck da Golden Hearts!” Sung to the tune of Jay and Silent Bob.

  4. marilynbrant said,

    I must agree with coffeegirl that ’80s music makes everything better ;). And just the sheer mention of Bon Jovi makes me smile!!

    Ohhh, Pam, I’m so glad you are getting so much writing done! Proud of you and hoping a little of your productiveness wears off on me!! (I am, however, getting some spring cleaning done…which should have been finished in the autumn or the winter…but better late than never, right?!)

    XOXOX

    • Pamela Cayne said,

      I know–you and I could write BOOKS with Bon Jovi as the soundtrack, couldn’t we? Hmm…maybe we could start a new craze! 😉

  5. Karen said,

    I made a huge overhaul in my writing space back in December. Just the time of the year here in CT to be painting with the windows open. But it couldn’t wait. Now I’m not looking for (as many) excuses to exit the writing space. Especially now that the spiders and their progeny have been removed.

  6. Karen said,

    I made a huge overhaul in my writing space back in December. Just the time of the year here in CT to be painting with the windows open. But it couldn’t wait. Now I’m not looking for (as many) excuses to exit the writing space. Especially now that the spiders and their progeny have been removed.

  7. hippiekim said,

    Psst … I left something for you on my blog.

Leave a Reply

