Countdown: Where are my freaking elves?

February 16, 2015 at 10:28 am (Countdown, FAFW)

So, three weeks until the official release of THE FIGHTER AND THE FALLEN WOMAN. I’m so excited, but I haven’t been able to throw the months-long party I’d hoped to. There’s a lot of Real Life intruding in the happy, glittery, rainbow world of my debut book release, but I am dealing…

Ahem. Where was I?

Oh, that’s right–debut and Real Life and stuff. Well, speaking of Real Life, I’m going to let you all in on a secret of the publishing industry, one that I’ve wondered about as long as I’ve been trying to be published. Ready?

Lean in close, now…

(looks to the left) (looks to the right)

Okay, I’m going to tell you The Secret

There are no elves. Yeah, those kinds of elves, the kinds that made a gazillion shoes overnight and the kinds that made every toy in Santa’s bag–magical, hard-working, making-miracles-happen elves. They don’t come with the contract, the aren’t willed down to you by authors not needing them anymore, and they sure as hell aren’t for sale on eBay.

I’m bummed about the lack of elves, too, because I sure could have used their help in blogging, creating some kick-ass promo material, and building a robust social media platform. (And that’s just the start–hey, if I have a magical elf, you can bet I’m going to shoot the moon. For starters, I would always have my favorite tea at the perfect temperature, an unending supply! Ah, the possibilities…)

So, I will struggle through the normal 24/7 constraints us elf-less must endure. The blogs may not be as many as I’d like, the promo material may be smaller, and my social media platform may end up at Honorable Mention instead of Grand Champion, but I am going to take some time to enjoy these next three weeks. I can forgo a video trailer and the tweeting of it if it means a few minutes to enjoy this wonderful stretch ahead.

And for that? I can make my own tea.

6 Comments

  1. Montana said,

    So far your elves have been more the accidentally-breaking-stuff, Will Ferrell type. πŸ™‚

    • Pamela Cayne said,

      As long as they bring the four food groups (candy, candy canes, candy corn, and syrup), I’m fine! πŸ˜‰

  2. Caryn Caldwell said,

    Wow! I can’t believe you only have three weeks to go! That is crazy — and SO exciting! I bet you’re going to have a great release and, hey, anything you do is still something more than you had before, right?

    • Pamela Cayne said,

      So, true, Caryn! I am delighted with it all and learning all I can for the next time (knocks wood). Looking forward to celebrating the same with you! πŸ˜€

  3. Marilyn Brant said,

    So flippin’ excited for you, Pam!! THREE WEEKS!!!
    And if you ever find those elves, please send a few up to Chicago for me… πŸ˜‰

    • Pamela Cayne said,

      Marilyn–I’m surprised you don’t already have elves. How else do you manage all that you do? πŸ™‚

      And thanks on the squee–wish I could hear it in person. XOXO!

Leave a Reply

