Some End-of-the-Year Love for THE FIGHTER AND THE FALLEN WOMAN

January 3, 2016 at 11:48 am (Events, FAFW)

Hello and Happy 2016! We rung in the new year with black-eyes peas and collard greens (with cheesy grits, of course) and watched Sherlock on PBS. Not necessarily the craziest thing in the world, but some food-inspired luck and the Cumberotter is hard to beat. I hope you and yours had a wonderful holiday season.

December brought me wonderful news for my dark historical romance, THE FIGHTER AND THE FALLEN WOMAN, the first coming from About.com where it was ranked one of The 10 Must Read Romance Novels of 2015. I discovered at that point when people talk about their jaws dropping, it is, in fact, a thing that happens.

Allow me to post a screenshot here (and pardon the squishy graphic, but that’s how it appeared):

About.com screenshot

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The next wonderful news I received was when Wendy the Super Librarian (who gave me this phenomenal review back in March that I still go back to in moments of doubt and it bolsters me) who listed FAFW as one of the 12 Best Not-Your-Usual Historicals of 2015. Since I had a battle even getting my romance some consideration, having it ranked on this list with the likes of Jeannie Lin and Michelle Winningham was worthy of a pretty epic boogie dance party in our living room.

HeroesAndHeartbreakers-BestNot-Your-Usual-Romancesof2015

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then, more great news. Heather Waters, site manager for Heroes and Heartbreakers, listed Lady and King as one of her Top 8 ‘Ships (that’s slang for ‘relationships’ with the kids nowadays) of 2015. That honor is huge and meant so much to me, but another couple in her list was Max and Furiosa, from this summer’s blockbuster movie, MAD MAX: FURY ROAD. I cannot even begin to describe what that meant. I loved that movie, really fell in love with the characters and their journey and their flaws and weaknesses and how they overcome them, so to have my Lady and King on a list with them? I’m still in shock. Here’s a snap of that piece of awesome:

HeroesAndHeartbreakers-Top30Romanceof2015Top8Shipsof2015

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you knew the struggle it was to see FAFW published, the years of knowing I was fighting such an uphill battle for the kind of story I wanted to tell, but I had to tell it like I had to breathe, you would know what amazing honors each and every one of these listings are. Not from contests I entered, or even reviews I solicited, they came from people who picked up the book and read it but, more importantly, they got it. I knew there would be readers who wanted stories like Lady’s and King’s and I thank whatever force it was in the ‘verse that got my book in front of them. If you’re one of them, I thank you too.

So, thank you 2015, for seeing THE FIGHTER AND THE FALLEN WOMAN published and getting it out to some great people. I’m working on my next dark Victorian romance and hope to have some great news during the year to make 2016 a worthy successor.

Happy New Year everybody.

4 Comments

  1. Montana said,

    So very proud of you! I have a feeling your 2016 is going to be epic!

  2. Marilyn Brant said,

    This is SUCH well-deserved news, Pam!!
    Congratulations!!! 🙂

    • Pamela Cayne said,

      Thank you, Marilyn! I think a cupcake or two is on order, don’t you? 🙂

Leave a Reply

